We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stopped to check availability!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Click for Special Offer
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So glad we stopped to check availability!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

After stopping at 2:00 in the morning, we were greeted with friendly service in the
wee hours of the morning! What a pleasant surprise first to find out that there
was a room available and then to open the rom door to a very nicely appointed room
was such a relief! Our stay was great and although it was a short visit, I will always
check there first during my frequent trips to Gainesville!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    77
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
118
68
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This Sleep Inn is a great place to stay when you are in Gainesville whether for business or pleasure. The staff goes to great lengths to ensure that you have the best possible experience. The rooms are clean and quiet, and the complimentary breakfast has both hot and cold items to choose from. Have stayed here several times and already have reservation for May 2012.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor next to housekeeping which eliminated noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at this location. Found hotel to be a great surprise , considering some of the other Choice Hotel Brands out there. Hotel is all non-smoking ! Yeah ! Wish they were all like that. My only personal complaint is the pillows. Choice properties still use the foam/poly pillows, which I hate. Not much else to say about it except we would stay here again the next time through and maybe bring my own pillow next time :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was above and beyond all expectations we had! When we booked the hotel we thought it was a cheaper but lower quality place. The rates were amazing but it was like staying in a high end hotel. The service was amazing, the room was up to date and clean and the location was perfect. The staff couldn't do enough to help you and were very polite and courteous. It was close to I-75, all restaurants and shopping. If you were going to the UF campus for anything it was also very easy to get there. The pool was a nice bonus as well. This was one of the best places I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I can honestly say that this is the best hotel I ever stayed in. The staff was very courteous and offered to help me with anything I needed. My daughter was being moved by the Army and they cancelled my first day. The Manager was so kind and told me to come on in, and have breakfast and relax for the remainder of the day. My room was so nice and clean, and the breakfast buffet was so good. I worked out in the gym and swam in the pool. What a pleasure it was to stay at this Hotel and I would recommend this to any single person or family. The staff made me feel just like I was home and a part of their family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My daughter and I were very warmly greeted on arriving by Rae Ann. It was made clear to us at check in that the staff and management would do everything to ensure we were comfortable and satisfied with our stay.

They did not disappoint. The facility and rooms are extrememly clean, comfotable, and well kept. The location is great. The staff were exceptionally friendly with the biggest smiles and warmest greetings. The free breakfast is small but adequate and enjoyable with a young gentleman taking great care of all the guests.

With a daughter starting at University of Florida, we expect to be in Gainesville frequently. I already have my next two visits booked at this hotel. This has been our most comfortable stay at a great value in Gainesville.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This Sleep Inn is awesome. The staff makes you feel right at home and the facility is great. And the breakfast choices go over and beyond most others.

Room Tip: Our handicap room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.