We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Japanese Steakhouse. Go Hungry, and Leave Stuffed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yamato Japanese Steakhouse

Yamato Japanese Steakhouse
526 NW 60th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607
3523324466
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 468 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Japanese
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Japanese Steakhouse. Go Hungry, and Leave Stuffed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

I eat here approximately 2 times a month for lunch and/or dinner. The best value is the tepanyaki selections, where a chef cooks in front of the guests. I typically order the chicken, which comes with a salad, soup, vegetables, rice and noodles. Just a word of caution...the tepanyaki style of cooking is very popular at this restaurant, so make sure to get there early and give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the entertainment while the chef prepares your meal. Also, if you dont want to be thirsty after dinner, make sure to ask the chef to bypass the extra sauces sauce on your meal, as they tend to be heavy handed on salt/soy/sweet sauces when cooking the meats and vegetables.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Food is plentiful and delicious! Steak and shrimp melt in your mouth. And the Chefs are wonderful showmen as well. Fun experience. Great if you're looking to celebrate a memorable event or occasion.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wow...Was That A Good Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Found Yamoto Japanese Steakhouse on Trip Advisor this morning before leaving for a fun day in Gainesville with some of my girlfriends. Base on the recommendations of other "Foodies" who blog on this website I thought we would give it a chance. We were NOT DISAPPOINTED ! Lunch was great and so was the company of the other diners at our table. The chef put on a great show and only to be outdone by the great food he created on that grill. Not only was it delicious but very inexpensive. My chicken lunch that included soup, salad, rice and vegies was only $8.45 inclucing tax.
We all left there saying that We Will BE Back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, acceptable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I love love Yamatos. I have been to many sushi places and Japanesse restaurants because I love their food. I must say that Yamatos has the best Crab Salad ever and they serve the best fried rice also. I could go to have only the crab salad and the fried rice. The sushi is also great and the show is entertaining as well. I recommend this restaurant. I have visited Yamatos many many times and It is always a pleasure to eat there plus I think they have reasonable prices for the sushi bar. The Yamatos in Ocala is way better than the one in Gainesville, but they voth offer good food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

I love thiplace and its always a staple for me and my family on birthday celebrations!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Yamato Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamato Japanese Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.