We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
4 High St, Collingham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 7LA, England
+44 1636 892341
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Collingham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We came back following a fantastic meal earlier in the year and were not disappointed. Another great meal, we were seated immediately on entry and served with speed and care. The food was superb as ever, we will definitely return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

1st impressions were good; the tables were beautifully laid with fresh daffodils on each table. It then went downhill. Whilst standing at the bar having announced our arrival (we had booked a table), my friend commented to me on the ciabatta menu which was on a board at the side of the bar. The lady who was serving us drinks quickly and very tersely told us that this menu was not available to order in the restaurant. The restaurant is in fact one end of an open plan area. So why? We sat in the restaurant as whilst the lunch menu was quite expensive, this was a treat. However, the food was disappointing. My starter was meagre but just acceptable. My lasagne was greasy and bland. The 'frites' were piping hot but strangely hard in the middle. The side salad was outstanding with lots of different leaves and a very tasty dressing. The service whilst being sufficiently efficient was unfriendly in the extreme. The lady who served us at the bar and also at the table was abrupt and did not smile. We did not feel either welcome or valued customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

booked a meal for saturdaynight food and service yet again was outstanding .choice on menu was great and value for money.good time was had by all

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We called in on our way to play at the Americana music festival in Gainsborough on the afternoon of 14th February. We arrived with 10 minutes to go before the kitchen closed and ordered 2 duck confit and one cod dish. The meal was superb, and coming from foodie Ludlow, that means a lot. Despite being on the cusp of the kitchen closing we weren't made to rush or feel hassled. The person on duty was engaging and hospitable.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We used to rate this as one of our favourite local places. However the last few times we have been it has been a let down. After more than six months we decided to give it another go, and to be honest, u won't waste time or money going back. Before I comment on the food, I object to children behind the bar and helping to serve food. Not sure hot food should be carried by children or having them walk behind the bar a good idea. The food used to be very high standard using local butchers produce. On our visit the food was okay, but not outstanding and the amount of vegetables for two was laughable. Barely enough for one! Sweets also very small and not the high standard they used to be. Perhaps the waitress could have smiled or at least pretended to be friendly might have helped. Not somewhere I plan to go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Barnby in the Willows, Newark-on-Trent
Norton Disney, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.