We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, best way to cool off!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichetucknee Springs State Park

Ichetucknee Springs State Park
12087 SW Us Highway 27, Fort White, FL 32038
(386) 497-4690
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great time, best way to cool off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The springs are Gods gift to FL, the absolute best way to cool off! Ichetucknee springs is an outstanding tubing destination for a relaxing float in the sparkling clear water. On our visit on Aug 31, we expected large crowds, but there weren't that many people. We arrived about 12:30p and put off at the north entrance, and tubed all the way down to the south entrance, about 3.5 hrs trip due to the large amount of rains recently.
Our kids have a ball swimming and exploring while tubing, be sure to bring good pairs of goggles (and spares!)
When you're done tubing, you can swim in the spring pools at the north entrance, chilly but the best thing on a hot july/august day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    37
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

There's no better way to spend a day in the summer of Florida. The scenery is beautiful. Round trip of tubing takes somewhere around 1-2 hours. Bring plenty of sunscreen, relax & enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tubing down Ichetucknee Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is awesome! I really just wish we could have spent more time here.

There are several things you can do at this State Park, but unfortunately the only thing we did was the tubing at the Itchetucknee River. Tubing at the river was no let down though. The water in this river is so clear and the scenery is beautiful. I think one of the main reasons it stays this clean and beautiful is because they don't allow coolers or drinks to be brought while tubing.
When tubing in the river, you are given two options. You can either go to the north entrance and tube for around 4 or 5 hours or if you choose to go to the south entrance you will be taken to the short side, which lasts just over 1 hour. We did the short one.
The way it works- There are several tube stores near the park. When you arrive, you pick out the tubes you want and put them by your car. The attendant will come and tie them to your car for you. You don't need a truck, they can fit all of the tubes on top of your car. :) Once you arrive at the park, you will need to pay $5 per person. A shuttle will take you and your tubes to the river. The end of the river will be the same place where you parked. Isn't that great? There are designated spots where you can leave the tubes that you rented. The tube renters will come get them. So all you have to worry about is getting there and having a good old time. :)
It's too bad we couldn't stay longer :(

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This an excellent outdoor activity. It is also very cheap. I would only recommend coming early on weekends as the park gets closed due to overcrowding.
The water is crystal clear and you can see fish swim and jump out of the water.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pallm Coast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Another great way to have a fun day with family or friends at a great cost of only $5.00 each!
Due to higher water levels river is flowing slower so we took the South Entrance and still had about a 3 hour float. Enjoy while the weather is HOT!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichetucknee Springs State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ichetucknee Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichetucknee Springs State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.