We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading & rude service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cayo grande Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cayo grande Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Cayo grande Suites Hotel
214 NW Racetrack Road, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Misleading & rude service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights this past weekend. When we arrived, the woman behind the counter wasn't very friendly, and they charged me $50.00, in case something was broken, but later put it back in my acct. There was nothing about that money when I booked the room, and we were short for our trip. The website made this place look great, but it wasn't. We had to stay on the other side of the road, which was being worked on. When you walked into the building the trash was overflowing and the carpets were disgusting. The trash nor carpets were cleaned the entire time we were there. The room was okay, but you had to walk through filth to get to it. This place falls under the false advertisement category, and I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin I, General Manager at Cayo grande Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Kayleylee,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your visit. A mandatory $50 hold is placed on a credit card upon check-in for every reservation at our hotel. The funds are released upon check-out pending no damages/incidental fees were found upon room inspection.

It's feedback like yours that makes us try to correct anything we may have overlooked for future geusts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked this place one week before our stay. They were very friendly and informative when taking our reservation. We arrived 3 hours earlier than check in. The front desk allowed us to check in early. The housekeepers were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was free and hot. I just wish they had a waffle maker and a larger fruit selection. Rooms were clean and spacious. I would stay again in the future. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin I, General Manager at Cayo grande Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Toni,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us! I just wanted to let you know we heard your suggestions on adding additional fresh fruit into our breakfast offerings and will be doing just that starting next week! Fresh cut fruit will be an additional item on our breakfast bar!

Thank you again for staying with us,

Kristin Iversen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on july 5, 2013 and check was very easy, no wait i stayed in the Junior suite with separte bedroom with very comfortable bed, a living room with flat screen tv, and kicthen with mircowave, fridge and sink, bathroom with large jaccuzi. the hotel was nice and breakfast buffett was wonderful. will most likely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the room on the side as the breakfast buffett. some other guest were located a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin I, General Manager at Cayo grande Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Angel,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to sample some of the items from our complimentary breakfast. Please let us know if you will be traveling to the area again.

Kindly,
Kristin Iversen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayo grande Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo grande Suites Hotel

Address: 214 NW Racetrack Road, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayo grande Corporate Lodging will be offering bi-weekly extended stay to monthly and yearly furnished and unfurnished units with utilities included. We offer the perfect blend of hospitality and professional service, coupled with spacious comfy suites at affordable extended stay rates. Located in city central Ft. Walton Beach, Cayo grande is conveniently near Okaloosa Regional Airport, Eglin Air Force Base, Hurlburt Field, many area attractions and is just a ten minute drive to beaches of Florida's Emerald Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cayo grande Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayo Grande Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayo grande Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.