We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days at Ramada Plaza by the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Franklin, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 days at Ramada Plaza by the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The room was clean and the outdoor pool was heated which made that very nice. the Grato was great but cold. Once you get used to water then not so bad. Indoor bar was a plus. Overall very good. One or two suggestions. Get a lower level room there are no elevators. The breakfest bar was not worth the money. The eating room was beautiful but the quality and size of buffet was not very good. If they want to charge 10.95 a plate then at least the food could be worth the money. They only had scrambled eggs on buffet which was powdered or liquid egg and not very tasteful. The hasbrowns were greasy and tasted bad to me and food selection on buffet was limited. The price of the room was pricey but probably average for that area.

Room Tip: Try to get a package deal. Average rooms were around 240.00 a day and they had no elevator to upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the review. Your suggestions for improvement of the breakfast buffet offerings has been shared with the restaurant manager. I'm happy that you enjoyed the pools and bars. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    352
    188
    92
    63
See reviews for
484
203
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has seen some stuff. Yes it's older. Yes it could use some updating. However the beach bar, grotto bar, and BBQ shack provide just what I need for a casual vacation. This hotel has always shown me friendly service and a great time. I would love to see the owners step up the rooms with new things but keep the lovely old Florida charm and beautiful facilities.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for writing a review to share your experience. Our resort is historical to the local area and we appreciate that you see the charm in it. See you for your next visit to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The beach is what it is, great! We had our 30th High School reunion, stayed there. It seems no real upgrades since the parking garage. Its time to upgrade, especially for the room rates, we stayed 5days

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
It was such a pleasure to have you here for your 30th reunion. Thanks for telling us about your visit. We hope to see you for the next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Although the rooms themselves were average at best, the resort overall was wonderful! Great location - just before the bridge that links Fort Walton Beach to Destin! Private beach access so we didn't have to get sand in our vehicle! Great pools - one huge cool pool with swim-up grotto waterfall bar, one large heated pool, huge hottub, small kiddie pool, and a really awesome splash garden for kids! From 5-10pm, you can order homemade pizza from downstairs .....we had it TWICE from Monday night to Friday morning, it was delicious! Would've eaten it every meal! Wish I had pizza that good here at home! Garden buffet breakfast was yummy! Plus super yummy poolside BBQ place, with the BEST burgers! Maid service was great! Rooms were clean, just small and crowded for a family of four! Walking downstairs out of the elevator, you turned left for pools, right for beach! Very close to the water compared to other nearby hotels! Sugar white sand! Very clean walkways, multiple outside showers to wash sand off! Although we would've liked a BIGGER room, we loved the resort! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for the compliments! We are glad you enjoyed our Dine In Chef brick oven pizza so much, as well as the Garden Cafe breakfast and the Bayou Country BBQ outside near the pools. If your travels bring you back to the beach, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We LOVED our stay at the ramada. Our kids really enjoyed the pools and the splash zone. It was really cool how one door of the hotel opened up 2 the beach and the other side door opened up to the pools. We had a pool side hotel room on the 5th floor and loved our balcony. They even had bottom hotel rooms that connected 2 the pool! The beach was wonderful! White sugar sand and emerald green/blue water. We walked the beach 2 the boardwalk and ate dinner there almost every night. We highly recommend the black pearl. We walked on the pier that's walking distance from the hotel and looked down at dolphins swimming. Our room was standard but when your at the beach who's going 2 stay in your room all day?? The hotel was a little out dated but again we were barely in it! My family and I have decided to return to the ramada every year for a summer vacation!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks for your review! Our first floor Pool Deck rooms are truly unique. Give us a call directly if you would like to stay in one of those for your next trip. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Front entrance is great but wait till you see the rooms would be great for 1950!!! Outside entrance to all the rooms nothing nice here at all!!!! The shower backed up with water knee deep called and they sent someone over they worked on it and said it's just a old hotel but still knee deep in water. I had my wife and two girls and they had two hair dryers going at once and all the lights go out they send someone and reset breaker and talked to my young daughter in a bad manner!!! Just beware there is a lot better in this beach area then you will find here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I apologize for the maintenance problems you encountered and hope that you will give us another chance to show you a great visit to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The good:
The pools are great, the separation of kid pool vs mature pool were nice, bars - they've got several, bartenders were generous, beach access, beds are comfy, staff is friendly and helpful, room service was delicious, decent WiFi, surf shop on site, the location to the boardwalk pier is a short walk.

The bad:
You will walk a mile because of the lack of parking, you can hear your neighbor and if they have a screaming baby that wakes up every 2 hours - you'll hear it, the rooms are beyond dated, the bars close very early, no chairs at the beach, no pool/beach towels.

Maybe I am used to "resort" style locations, so I have standard expectations. Would I stay there again... Possibly, but I wouldn't pay top dollar knowing it's not a true resort.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We appreciate you telling us about your experience. Thank you for the compliments and constructive criticism. Feedback like yours helps us see where we can improve our property to give even better service and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin

Address: 1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Ramada Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.