We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay for a family...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short Stay for a family...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

WE chose this hotel for two reasons, beach access and it had a room big enough for 8 people
to stay together. Our room was clean but dated, but more like in the process of being updated. The view was absolutely perfect! We had the two bedroom penthouse, two full baths, full kitchen, 1 king, 2 queens and a queen fold out sofa bed. The queen mattresses seem newer, firm.but the king mattress felt like it had a sink hole in the middle so had to sleep on the edges. I did tell the front desk, so hopefully they will get a new mattress. We just needed the room for 1 night. The front desk was very professional, very courteous and very graciously gave us a 1pm check out for the next day. My granddaughter LOVED the pool, the beach was very accessible and the TWO balconies gave our group good access to enjoying the view and the sounds of the ocean. As a travel professional I would recommend this hotel for families on a budget for a great beach access weekend or short stay. There are several fast food dining options near by. Don't expect luxury, but all in all a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Use a travel agent, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    185
    115
    67
    44
See reviews for
245
170
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel! It's more of a resort. The beach view was awesome! We have 2 boys (9 & 5), and they enjoyed the pool, rock slide, Bingo at the pool, the Johnny Jaws character visit, the arcade and the movie by the pool. Housekeeping was great (missed one day, but that's ok). The staff was always nice and asking how we were doing. The tiki bar by the pool had great food and service. Prices are a little high, but we had a great time. The free beach chairs and umbrella helped. The guys that do the beach set up were so nice too! Fun trip! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGardenFwb, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Resort quality at a hotel! We are excited you had so much fun with us. We delight in offering a fun activities program for the entire family and exceptional quality of service in all we do. We will continue to strive to make it even better. Thank you kindly for your feedback and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Pedro C
Director of Sales
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

After staying down the road for several years, we decided to try the Wyndham - excellent choice!!!! Our room had a beautiful view, was clean, had a fridge, microwave and safe. Kids loved the little rock water slide and pools, free Popsicles, and the 25 cent arcade (so did I!). Free coffee and lemonade-tea all day long (yummy and refreshing!). Free DVDs and FREE beach chairs and umbrella - that alone is a $25-30 value! Bingo for beverages was fun , too (also free). Restaurant serves delicious, hot food - fried pickles, Mahi-Mahi - and the beach bar has yummy drinks! Unanimous decision by the whole family that this is where we want to stay from now on!! And housekeeping was great - asked for more towels and they gave us a whole bag of clean ones! Love it here!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGardenFwb, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are excited you've chosen our hotel as your new local favorite. We are constantly striving to exceed our guest expectations and show the world that our customer's do matter to us. We appreciate you pointing out the value of our amenities and services. We hope to see you soon on your return visit to Fort Walton Beach!

Warm Regards,

Pedro C
Director of Sales
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spent a weekend here and had a nice time. We had a great view of the ocean. The hotel has free beach chair and umbrella service which was great. They also have a Redbox-like machine with newer movies that you can take to watch on DVD player in room. Our room was clean..it had a kitchen with a fridge that had rust on it and a cabinet door that was cracked. Other than those two things it looked as if counter tops were new. Walls very thin and room door had to be pulled hard to get it to stay shut so you hear a lot of slamming doors all night. Rest of room was nice. Overall nice but way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin beach
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Book this hotel on Hotels.com for a partial view room...we ended up getting a standard room on the first floor. The room was disgustingly dirty and didn't have any toilet paper in it! Brian from guest services was no help and gave us a " ok and?" Attitude. We were told our room came with breakfast vouchers, yet when we went to redeem them they suddenly no longer existed. I'll never stay there again and suggest you don't either.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGardenFwb, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. It is very important to us as it helps us improve our products and services. We sincerely regret the inconveniences you were subjected to while staying with us.

Here at the Wyndham Garden we are proud to honor our guest's reservations as they come every time with upmost integrity. It is highly unlikely for us to accommodate a guest in a room of lesser quality from what they booked. Nonetheless, please accept our sincerest apologies for your inconvenience.

Secondly, we apologize for any misunderstandings you had with our guest service agent. Your feedback will allow us to continue training our staff in providing the excellent customer service that we consistently uphold in our business culture.

Lastly, I have investigated all of our available rates and breakfast voucher rates were discontinued a while back. Once again, we courteously extend our apologies for your inconveniences. Based on your feedback, we failed to meet your expectations and meet the quality standard we are known for. I invite you to contact me personally if you wish to further discuss this matter and to give us an opportunity to recover from your unfavorable experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Pedro C
Director of Sales & Marketing
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.