We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

For having the name Wyndham, I expected more. It was clean but very average. Nothing about this hotel was stand out. We ended up right by the pool and even though the pool was hardly used, it was very noisy. Very motel like.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    180
    113
    67
    44
See reviews for
242
167
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel was great for a beach getaway. The location is perfect! The rooms are small, but comfortable and clean. The view from the room's balcony of the beach and pool are relaxing. The hotel offers free bicycles and unlimited DVD rentals both old and new titles. One of my husband's favorite perks was the complimentary daily beach chairs and umbrella. The kids loved the pool side movies that were shown at night. The staff was very friendly. The manager gave the kids free tokens for the arcade. The food from the tiki bar was satisfying. The beach water was a bit green from the seaweed, but overall,this was a wonderful hotel. The two small things that could be improved are the air conditioner units that are too loud and the hotel could also use a little TLC and updating. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We found this hotel in the hotel coupons booklet we picked up at the welcome center, so we got a substantial discount. The front desk clerk, Danny, I believe, was very gracious. He gave us a beach front room and sent the kids a bag of treats. Yes, it has a motel feel, but it seemed cool to me -- front door was on the outside of building but "back door" opened to a balcony with a view of one of the pools and to the beach. There are two pools -- one with a little faux-rock slide for the kids, as well as a water basketball goal. Since the beach was red-flagged, and we couldn't visit it, the pool was great! Plus, there's a tiki bar right there, which proved a welcome sight for mom and dad after a long drive! Overall, we really enjoyed it ... But get the coupon, and don't use Expedia or those sites. You can almost ways get rooms cheaper in person or via the coupon books. I know from experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is very well maintained, right on the beach, and has excellent amenities. We stayed in a Queen Suite with our two children ages 6 and 12. It had a nice sized sitting room with a fold out couch, tv, and dining area. The kitchenette included a stove/oven, full size fridge, dishwasher, and microwave. We didn't cook at all while we were there, but it would certainly be easily done. The two beds were in a bedroom separate from the living area, so we were able to put the kids to bed and still stay up and enjoy alone time without disturbing them. The tv in the bedroom included a DVD player and you get free unlimited DVD rentals from a Redbox-type set-up in the lobby. Our stay included free beach chair/umbrella rentals each day of our stay, which I considered a great benefit since we have spent up to $40/day for that at other beaches. The pool was impeccably clean and had a water slide the kids really enjoyed. They also show a kids movie by the pool three days of the week at sunset. My kids preferred playing on the beach all day, but the hotel does offer crafts, face painting, bingo and a few other fun activities for ages 5-12. Our whole family enjoyed the stay, and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our corner queen suite on the 3rd floor had a nice view of both the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We returned to this hotel after 13 years and we were not disappointed, the property was very well maintained the staff were very friendly. The beach front access was nice, the view from our room was great. There was plenty of stuff for the family to do, movie time by the pool was fun. We felt like it was the best hotel for the money and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

This is an older hotel but is wonderfully maintained. Our room was very comfortable with all the conveniences from WIFI to coffee maker to hair dryer to an umbrella and chairs on the beach. From our room we had a great view of the gulf and the beach. They also have room service. All of the staff from the front desk, maids and food service were very nice and prompt with requests. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay this hotel. The property, room, swimming and beach area were all clean. They had activities for the kids and DVD rentals. There was complimentary beach chairs and umbrella. We liked that they had various drinks sat out to enjoy throughout the day. My only real complaint is that the AC flipped on and off constantly, put the thermostats across the room so that it doesn't do that.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.