We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Customer Service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is the second stay here for me & my family. Both times the staff went well above & beyond to make sure we were completely satisfied with our stay! Rooms are CLEAN, the views are AWESOME & the staff is truly AMAZING!! You can't help but feel like part of the Wyndham family when you are here!!! Definitely a FAVORITE!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    298
    186
    94
    62
See reviews for
431
270
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spain
Level Contributor
221 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We visited on Memorial day weekend and were unprepared for how busy it was everywhere. We did find our room dated, in fact it was a carbon copy of the Holiday Inn express we had stayed in the previous night! We complained about the noise from the AC unit and were told they were full so unable to move us so used earplugs, but we had expected better from a Windham. Staff were very apologetic and beach staff were wonderful finding us chairs and umbrella in a very busy environment.

Room Tip: See if they have any remodeled ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our overall experience with this hotel was just OK. The staff was friendly and the beach is very nice. Also, the little tiki bar by the pool had great food and very friendly staff. But that's where the positives end. The hotel overall feels old like it was in need of an update about 20 ears ago but hasn't ever been updated. Housekeeping never cleaned our rooms - only replaced the towels. They never made the beds, vacuumed the sand up or wiped down the counters. We also had an issue with the front desk and hotel security not being on the same page. We asked the front desk if we could bring the bean bag toss game down to the beach, and they said we could. No one offered to help - the boards were very heavy and you have to walk up a big staircase to get to the beach. As soon as we got down there, the hotel security told us we had to bring it back up - again with no offer to help. When I went to tell the front desk, the guy just looked at me and said "Oh, that's weird." No apology or offer to rectify or talk to security. So overall, this hotel is just OK, and probably too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

At our recent stay at Wyndham garden Fort Walton beach Florida we experienced the very best people and accommodations we have ever had.The manager Wes St Vil went the extra mile for us. His patience and professionalism and smile seemed to be contagious. The people on the desk seemed to pick up his vibes. Rebecca booked our rooms and to say she was great would be an understatement. When we called the desk for anything it was minutes when they responded. The room service was unbelievable. We spoke to people using their first name. Shannon in maid service was friendly and very accommodating. On the beach, the great people continued when we met David in charge of umbrellas. He was hard working and showed a sincere interest in his job. Lastly the rooms were beautiful and again the cleanest we have ever had. On our next trip we will stay much longer. If there is a rating better than excellent this hotel would set the standard We would like these people to be told of this email. We would like a response from someone that this was done. Thanks, The Baroni's

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGardenFwb, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are happy we were able to meet/exceed your expectations and sincerely appreciate your kind comments on our staff members. Come back and see us in the future,

Sincerely,

Pedro C
Director of Sales & Marketing
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel was average. My family stayed here for a week over the July 4th holiday. We had a gulf king suite. Let's start with what I didn't like.
• Air conditioning unit in the room was very loud.
• Vent in the bathroom was very loud and the water pressure was less than that of lawn sprinklers.
• Closet in our suite was very small.
• No complimentary breakfast for the price, over 300 a night.
• When we arrived, my husband had to take the stairs to the 5th floor to send the elevator down after we were waiting for 15 mins. The elevator continued to work poorly the entire week we were there.
• Wifi kept going out, calls kept dropping and the 2 computers in the business center are in desperate need of updating. It would take 5 mins or more for one page to load.
• The gym is right next to the arcade with nothing but glass between them and is the size of a bathroom.
• Housekeeping was polite as long as you told them you didn’t need anything.
• The staff at the front desk were very pleasant when we were checking in but couldn’t care less when we were checking out. I asked for a late check out at 1pm the night before we left only to get a call at 11:45am in the room to be told that wasn’t the case and I would need to check out in 15 mins.
• Ice is only available on the 1st floor.
• For most of our stay the beach was filled with algae near the shoreline and the entire beach had a very foul odor. When we went across the bridge to Destin, there wasn’t an odor.
• luggage carts didn’t steer well and were difficult to push. You might as well take several trips from the parking area to your room for all the trouble in the narrow walkways/hallways.
• public restrooms only on lobby floor so with the four of using one bathroom we had to go from the 7th floor to the 1st floor.
• Pull out couch mattress was flimsy.

Now to the things I enjoyed.
• Good amenities for a family.
• Free beach chair and umbrella rentals.
• Unlimited free movie rentals with new movies.
• DVD player in the room.
• Great views. The pictures on their website are very accurate.
• Free activities for the kids – face painting, bike riding, life vests, karaoke, movie night with popcorn.
• The arcade only takes tokens but the games are only .25.
• The staff for the kid’s activities were awesome.
• King size bed and bedding were comfortable.
• Kitchen is small but stocked with plates, bowls, saucers, coffee cups, pots and pans, big bowl for stirring/mixing, colander, utensils including spatulas, spoons and can opener.
• The stove is small but has a light, vent, broiler pan, cookie sheet and baking pan.
• The microwave is small but efficient.
• 2 pools – one with a slide and the other with a hot tub.

Overall I would suggest renting a condo or staying in Destin.

Room Tip: Get a suite or a room on the 6th or 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I booked a king suite-ocean view for two nights at the end of June. Wyndham hotel web site stated that check in was 4pm. We arrived by 3pm to check in and were told that they had a room with two doubles with an ocean view, or a king with no ocean view. She offered a 20% discount per night for our inconvenience. I pulled out my confirmation #, talked to the Manager on duty, asked what they were going to do... And the very nice front desk staff said they were sorry. I asked what I should do in the future and was told to call the hotel directly to confirm! Really??? Wow. We took the Two doubles with the view and told them to let us know when our desired room would be available on the next day. While sitting on the beach the next day, we chatted with a man who comes to this hotel once a month. He told us that this hotel overbooks by 14 rooms each night! I guess we were lucky to even get a room. As they told us they would, we did get a phone call the next morning stating that our original room type would be ready later that day. We ended up moving rooms, and it was work moving our belongings between buildings, waiting on slow elevators, and in the humidity- but we didi it. I would suggest calling to confirm to make certain that you get what you have reserved.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My single friend and I were pretty disappointed with our accommodation. The website did not portray it accurately. Negatives- room on 2nd floor with balcony next to very busy pool area and the busy walkway over the sand dune to the beach. So no privacy and no peace until late in the night. No view of the beach. We were both experiencing feet problems and we're not made aware of the other beach access without stairs. The bedroom (we had a room with a kitchen, no sharp knives and were told they could not furnish any, though the staff did offer to cut up the vegetables for us) was very warm and the phone was not working properly. I called the front desk several times from my phone. Positives- staff was great, always polite, particularly the maintenance folks. The room was roomy and aesthetically pleasing. Would be good for a small family trying to save money on food and they also offer free DVDs. I would not stay there again. Too noisy.

Room Tip: Above 2nd floor on rooms with kitchens and kitchen does not have everything you will need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.