We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
League City, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

At our recent stay at Wyndham garden Fort Walton beach Florida we experienced the very best people and accommodations we have ever had.The manager Wes St Vil went the extra mile for us. His patience and professionalism and smile seemed to be contagious. The people on the desk seemed to pick up his vibes. Rebecca booked our rooms and to say she was great would be an understatement. When we called the desk for anything it was minutes when they responded. The room service was unbelievable. We spoke to people using their first name. Shannon in maid service was friendly and very accommodating. On the beach, the great people continued when we met David in charge of umbrellas. He was hard working and showed a sincere interest in his job. Lastly the rooms were beautiful and again the cleanest we have ever had. On our next trip we will stay much longer. If there is a rating better than excellent this hotel would set the standard We would like these people to be told of this email. We would like a response from someone that this was done. Thanks, The Baroni's

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGardenFwb, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are happy we were able to meet/exceed your expectations and sincerely appreciate your kind comments on our staff members. Come back and see us in the future,

Sincerely,

Pedro C
Director of Sales & Marketing
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    166
    107
    65
    44
See reviews for
231
153
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel was average. My family stayed here for a week over the July 4th holiday. We had a gulf king suite. Let's start with what I didn't like.
• Air conditioning unit in the room was very loud.
• Vent in the bathroom was very loud and the water pressure was less than that of lawn sprinklers.
• Closet in our suite was very small.
• No complimentary breakfast for the price, over 300 a night.
• When we arrived, my husband had to take the stairs to the 5th floor to send the elevator down after we were waiting for 15 mins. The elevator continued to work poorly the entire week we were there.
• Wifi kept going out, calls kept dropping and the 2 computers in the business center are in desperate need of updating. It would take 5 mins or more for one page to load.
• The gym is right next to the arcade with nothing but glass between them and is the size of a bathroom.
• Housekeeping was polite as long as you told them you didn’t need anything.
• The staff at the front desk were very pleasant when we were checking in but couldn’t care less when we were checking out. I asked for a late check out at 1pm the night before we left only to get a call at 11:45am in the room to be told that wasn’t the case and I would need to check out in 15 mins.
• Ice is only available on the 1st floor.
• For most of our stay the beach was filled with algae near the shoreline and the entire beach had a very foul odor. When we went across the bridge to Destin, there wasn’t an odor.
• luggage carts didn’t steer well and were difficult to push. You might as well take several trips from the parking area to your room for all the trouble in the narrow walkways/hallways.
• public restrooms only on lobby floor so with the four of using one bathroom we had to go from the 7th floor to the 1st floor.
• Pull out couch mattress was flimsy.

Now to the things I enjoyed.
• Good amenities for a family.
• Free beach chair and umbrella rentals.
• Unlimited free movie rentals with new movies.
• DVD player in the room.
• Great views. The pictures on their website are very accurate.
• Free activities for the kids – face painting, bike riding, life vests, karaoke, movie night with popcorn.
• The arcade only takes tokens but the games are only .25.
• The staff for the kid’s activities were awesome.
• King size bed and bedding were comfortable.
• Kitchen is small but stocked with plates, bowls, saucers, coffee cups, pots and pans, big bowl for stirring/mixing, colander, utensils including spatulas, spoons and can opener.
• The stove is small but has a light, vent, broiler pan, cookie sheet and baking pan.
• The microwave is small but efficient.
• 2 pools – one with a slide and the other with a hot tub.

Overall I would suggest renting a condo or staying in Destin.

Room Tip: Get a suite or a room on the 6th or 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I booked a king suite-ocean view for two nights at the end of June. Wyndham hotel web site stated that check in was 4pm. We arrived by 3pm to check in and were told that they had a room with two doubles with an ocean view, or a king with no ocean view. She offered a 20% discount per night for our inconvenience. I pulled out my confirmation #, talked to the Manager on duty, asked what they were going to do... And the very nice front desk staff said they were sorry. I asked what I should do in the future and was told to call the hotel directly to confirm! Really??? Wow. We took the Two doubles with the view and told them to let us know when our desired room would be available on the next day. While sitting on the beach the next day, we chatted with a man who comes to this hotel once a month. He told us that this hotel overbooks by 14 rooms each night! I guess we were lucky to even get a room. As they told us they would, we did get a phone call the next morning stating that our original room type would be ready later that day. We ended up moving rooms, and it was work moving our belongings between buildings, waiting on slow elevators, and in the humidity- but we didi it. I would suggest calling to confirm to make certain that you get what you have reserved.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My single friend and I were pretty disappointed with our accommodation. The website did not portray it accurately. Negatives- room on 2nd floor with balcony next to very busy pool area and the busy walkway over the sand dune to the beach. So no privacy and no peace until late in the night. No view of the beach. We were both experiencing feet problems and we're not made aware of the other beach access without stairs. The bedroom (we had a room with a kitchen, no sharp knives and were told they could not furnish any, though the staff did offer to cut up the vegetables for us) was very warm and the phone was not working properly. I called the front desk several times from my phone. Positives- staff was great, always polite, particularly the maintenance folks. The room was roomy and aesthetically pleasing. Would be good for a small family trying to save money on food and they also offer free DVDs. I would not stay there again. Too noisy.

Room Tip: Above 2nd floor on rooms with kitchens and kitchen does not have everything you will need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham, it has a lot of good perks like coming with free rental of beach chairs and umbrella.. bike rentals etc... however the rooms were a bit outdated, not what I would of come to expect from a Wyndham. The property itself is in a great location and well taken care of. We really loved that the hotel was quiet not surrounded by tons of restaurants (yet a short drive to lots of places to eat and shop). I guess our only problem was the rooms... It would be a good place for a family getaway but it's over priced in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGardenFwb, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay. It is very important to us as it helps us improve our product and services. We appreciate your acknowledgement on our perks. We are confident this great value can seldom be found elsewhere on our island. We are getting ready to begin additional renovations on our property to further enhance the guest experience. We invite you to return in the near future to see how we are doing. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Pedro Juan
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here 5 nights, first night we stayed in the 2 double beds room, but we asked for an upgrade as the room was kind of small for our family of 5, and they upgraded us to a suit witch was awesome!! 2 flat screen tv's full equipped kitchen, spacious, and best of all awesome view! They really care about you enjoying your stay, every day they have different activities for the kids, free umbrellas and movie rentals.
Every one working there always helped you with a smile and the guy at tikis bar was so nice and attentive, over all I will for sure go back next year and I will stay there again. Great hotel great service, LOVE IT!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamGardenFwb, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely appreciate your kind comments. Our staff constantly strives to exceed our guests expectations and it brings us great joy to be able to do so. We look forward to your return stay here at the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach.

Warm Regards,

Pedro Juan
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch River, West Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Well, I don't really know really where to start. Stayed in building D(2queens,kitchen, ocean front.) First time that I have taken the time to write a review. Very disappointing stay, if you plan on wanting to sleep during your vacation, DO NOT stay here. You could literally feel every spring in every bed, walls are paper thin. NOTHING and I mean NOTHING works in this hotel. Safe was broken, they tried fixing it three times and got it working enough so that we could lock or valuables in it sometimes(it would lock sometimes). Bedroom TV was all static, something was wrong with the cable that ran into the floor. We were told that they couldn't fix it and we just had to "deal with it" by stepping on the carpet in the closet a certain way. We have a 6yr old so it was important to have the TV at night.

Also rented at this hotel because they have washer and dryer you can use, well....it didn't work either, you had to go to a different building to use this service. Ice machine gave you half water/half ice. The light in the hallway that you walk into didn't work, we asked for all of these things to be fixed but none of them were ever fixed.

Last day! Checking out and go up to get my last bag out of the room and wouldn't you know it! The DOOR CARD READER WAS BROKEN! So here I am waiting on some one to come fix the door. They come up and do this and that and cant get it open. Luckily my wife left the balcony door unlocked so they decide to clime off the balcony onto the other balcony and get into the condo that way. I get my bags and run out of this place.

My wife goes to the front desk to check out after we get our bags, we ask them to make things right with us because of all of the problems that we incurred with the room. They basically told here to go fly a kite, then handed here a Trip Advisor business card and asked here to go online and write a review, but "leave out the bad stuff". Really?
They asked my wife to lie on Trip Advisor to make them look good.

All of this is really unfortunate, because we had a blast at the beach and will be back to that area. We will however not be back to this hotel/condo.

Well here is your review Wyndham Garden- Fort Walton Beach, Fl. Hope it is "good" enough for you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.