We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    296
    186
    94
    62
See reviews for
430
267
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's been a long time since I have seen a hotel staff as friendly and outgoing as the staff here. I saw this interaction with with other guests as I moved around the property. Excellent gulf front location with free beach chairs and umbrellas. Two pools to accommodate the guests that are spread around four buildings. So many wi-fi hot spots I couldn't count them all. Only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant but the buffet was outstanding. I visited in mid September but the property was scheduled to change to a Wyndham Garden on October 1. Convenient location for restaurants, attractions, and military visiting Eglin and Hulrburt AFB's. There is a private beach for military nearby and just a short drive to Destin.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the gulf, you have to be on the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We will return! Our room was ocean front and overlooked one of the pools....Fabulous balcony views. We enjoyed the complimentary beach chairs and umbrella and also the free in-room dvds/movies. The pools were clean and relaxing and we did not have time to use the free bicycles or the arcade/game area of the resort. We enjoyed smoothies and lunch at the Tiki Hut Grill and having a microwave and mini fridge in our room was very convenient. We did not eat at the resort restaurant - we chose to explore and eat at various Fort Walton and Destin restaurants.

The resort is old and a bit dated but service and cleanliness made up for what might have been lacking. It is our understanding that the hotel is going to become a Wyndham property in the near future. We look forward to returning for another visit.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best views of the Gulf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and pleasant. The hotel room and two pools were very clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again. Thank you to the gentleman on evening shift - September 21 - September 26. He was very customer friendly and treated us like family.

Room Tip: We liked all the rooms but my wife reserved one with a island view. The hotel staff went out of thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewanee, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is really nice. The rooms are ok but not fancy. They have a fridge and microwave. The best things about this hotel are the very nice pool, Tiki bar outside, and the ocean view rooms with a balcony. I am generally a Hilton girl, but I stayed at the Hampton Inn down the street before, and it is not nearly as nice. The only disappointment was the restaurant inside. The waitress first forgot my salad, then forgot my drink refill I asked for. I am going to chalk it up to her having a bad day. Other than that, it is a great hotel to relax at.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, well worth the extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We got married here on 9/10/11 and just had our first child earlier this year. We thought it would be cool to make her first beach trip special so we came back here. The DM and Angie from sales were wonderful in accommodating us. We even got to stay in the same room we did after our wedding. It was also especially wonderful to see our wedding planner again (who remembered our names!) and introduce her to our daughter. The beach chair guys were very friendly and so was the staff at the Manatee Grill and Crab Island Cafe. We even decided to try to make it a tradition to come back once or twice a year. We had a very relaxing time. Thank you HIFWB!

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view. Also the bigger pool usually has more noise but it wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and was very pleased with everything except the check- in. While the young man was not rude, he seemed very unprofessional and not really caring about being there. We were finally checked in to the room (even earlier than normal) and found the ocean front room quite nice with a great view. The beach chairs and umbrellas were well appreciated by my wife. I enjoyed the outdoor bar and complimentary Wi-Fi. The room was appropriately furnished with all needed amenities and the bed was very comfortable. We would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.