We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    203
    123
    73
    47
See reviews for
261
194
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's been a long time since I have seen a hotel staff as friendly and outgoing as the staff here. I saw this interaction with with other guests as I moved around the property. Excellent gulf front location with free beach chairs and umbrellas. Two pools to accommodate the guests that are spread around four buildings. So many wi-fi hot spots I couldn't count them all. Only ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant but the buffet was outstanding. I visited in mid September but the property was scheduled to change to a Wyndham Garden on October 1. Convenient location for restaurants, attractions, and military visiting Eglin and Hulrburt AFB's. There is a private beach for military nearby and just a short drive to Destin.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the gulf, you have to be on the third floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We will return! Our room was ocean front and overlooked one of the pools....Fabulous balcony views. We enjoyed the complimentary beach chairs and umbrella and also the free in-room dvds/movies. The pools were clean and relaxing and we did not have time to use the free bicycles or the arcade/game area of the resort. We enjoyed smoothies and lunch at the Tiki Hut Grill and having a microwave and mini fridge in our room was very convenient. We did not eat at the resort restaurant - we chose to explore and eat at various Fort Walton and Destin restaurants.

The resort is old and a bit dated but service and cleanliness made up for what might have been lacking. It is our understanding that the hotel is going to become a Wyndham property in the near future. We look forward to returning for another visit.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have the best views of the Gulf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach. The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and pleasant. The hotel room and two pools were very clean. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again. Thank you to the gentleman on evening shift - September 21 - September 26. He was very customer friendly and treated us like family.

Room Tip: We liked all the rooms but my wife reserved one with a island view. The hotel staff went out of thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewanee, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is really nice. The rooms are ok but not fancy. They have a fridge and microwave. The best things about this hotel are the very nice pool, Tiki bar outside, and the ocean view rooms with a balcony. I am generally a Hilton girl, but I stayed at the Hampton Inn down the street before, and it is not nearly as nice. The only disappointment was the restaurant inside. The waitress first forgot my salad, then forgot my drink refill I asked for. I am going to chalk it up to her having a bad day. Other than that, it is a great hotel to relax at.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view, well worth the extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We got married here on 9/10/11 and just had our first child earlier this year. We thought it would be cool to make her first beach trip special so we came back here. The DM and Angie from sales were wonderful in accommodating us. We even got to stay in the same room we did after our wedding. It was also especially wonderful to see our wedding planner again (who remembered our names!) and introduce her to our daughter. The beach chair guys were very friendly and so was the staff at the Manatee Grill and Crab Island Cafe. We even decided to try to make it a tradition to come back once or twice a year. We had a very relaxing time. Thank you HIFWB!

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view. Also the bigger pool usually has more noise but it wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night and was very pleased with everything except the check- in. While the young man was not rude, he seemed very unprofessional and not really caring about being there. We were finally checked in to the room (even earlier than normal) and found the ocean front room quite nice with a great view. The beach chairs and umbrellas were well appreciated by my wife. I enjoyed the outdoor bar and complimentary Wi-Fi. The room was appropriately furnished with all needed amenities and the bed was very comfortable. We would return if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.