We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“make sure to get a renovated room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“make sure to get a renovated room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I got a non renovated room in building C: the air conditioner was so noisy i had to shut it down; the windows then fogged so heavily that in a couple of hours water was running on the window itself.
Even with ac on there was a definite smell of dampness in the room, i had to keep the door open during the afternoon to get some air circulation as the window was locked shut with bolts.
Staff was hovever friendly and helpful, even if i did not complain for thr room at the time as it was a short stay.
By the way if the hotel is not full why did i get a lower standard room?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear our Guest;


We would like to thank you for having chosen to stay with us. We also like to apologize for not totally delivering the service you came to expect at the property. Your comments are well considered. We are taking measures immediately to address all the issues, which you shared with us. Our ultimate goal is to deliver superior product and service. In this process, your feedback is a great tool that can help us accomplish our objective. For, we thank you again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again. If we have avaailibity, we will be glad to offer a free upgrade. You can also ask to speak to the GM.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    212
    133
    77
    52
See reviews for
284
202
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Paid a discounted rate and received the worst room in the entire hotel. Called a couple days ahead and informed them I was a single female traveling and would be a late night arrival, requested not to be on the ground floor. What did I receive; ground floor exterior corridor next to the pool with the ladies batrrom & ice machine outside my door & pool entrance out the back door. Very insecure, lots of noise all night long in a room in desperate need of maintenance. The room had a damp musty smell, the carpet was damp, the bathroom was old, lots of rust. The next morning I had a bug in the shower. I was not acknowledged as a priority club member and when I asked about the ground floor room I was told that was all that was available. That couldn't be possible on a Wed night with an empty parking lot but I was cold & tired after a 7 hour drive, but so much for a good night sleep. Will not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect good service if paying a discounted rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear our Priority club member Guest;

We thank you for taking time to give us some feedback on your stay . On the other hand, we would like to apologize for the inconveneience, which you have subject to. Safety and security of our guests are our top priority. We usually check-in our female guests on higher floors unless it is the last room. As we are doing some renovations, we have put a few rooms out of order during your stay. Your comments are very valuable to us. It serves us as an opprtunity to re-emphasize these issues with all our team members.

We hope you will give us another chance to restore the confiendence, which you put in us by visiting us again. We promise to make your experience better. Please call and ask to speak to the GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had an opportunity to make a return visit to this property in January and found things "Oh, So much better". The major renovations to the lobby and restaurant are now complete. The desk clerk called us in route to inform us that she was offering a Platinum Member up-grade. She checked us in to a very nice 6th floor "full gulf view" suite. It had a separate bedroom, sitting room, large balcony and very nice kitchen. Clean and Quiet. The weather was very cooperative and we had a very nice week-end stay. Thank You Holiday Inn. We'll see you in the fall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Our Platinum Guest;

We thank you for your loyalty to our brand. Secondly, we appreciate the fact that you took time away from your agenda to provide us and other guests your feedback about the great experiencestay you had at our hotel. Every word of your survey is valuable to us. Your comments serve us as a tool to motivate our staff toward conitinually delivering execellent service to our guests.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Traveled to FWB for buisness and recieved a great rate for this Hotel. Arrived late and did not have a problem with check in. Room was a suite, so I had pleanty of room, even bought the kids down for the weekend. Hotel is on the beach- amazing view of the gulf water. Nice pool too. Lobby was nice and updated. Staff is incredibly friendly. Really did everything right to make me feel welcome. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest;

We would like to thank you for taking time to share with other guests the memorable experiences, which you had at our hotel. Your feedback is very invaluable to us. It allows us to measure the efficiency of our continued improvement. We are excited to know that you noticed our renovations around the property. Also, we gratly appreciate your business.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good location, great staff and good value. The hotel is showing it’s age and needs a facelift. I had a nice room over looking the gulf. The room was tired. I would stay here again as the staff and other facilities were very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear our Value Guest;

Thank you for taking time to fill out the survey for us. We appreciate your comments ; and they are invaluable to us for the continued improvement of the property. Our renovations have not been done yet. We are taking your feedback into great considerations. Also, we greatly appreciate your insight concerning our superior guest service delivery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is on the beach- amazing view of the gulf water. Nice pool too.

Lobby was nice and updated.

Staff is incredibly friendly. Really did everything right to make us feel welcome.

Rooms could use an update, mine had a hole in the dated carpet that was about the size of a soda pop can.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Our Vaalued Guest;

We would like to thank you for thebusiness, and for the time you took out of your nomal routine to fill out the survey. Your feedback is very invaluable to us. We appreciate your great stay experience with others. As you mentioned, we finished with the lobby renovation. Right now, the remodel of the rooms including the carpet is almost done . Our ultimate goal is to inseparably deliver superior product and service to all our guests. For, your commnents serve us as a great tool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The room was clean and the view perfect! The balcony was a little narrow for spending extended time outside but it was workable. We were a bit dismayed at check in when the clerk chose to answer an extended phone call without even acknowledging us, but once she switched her focus to us the service was good. HUGE kudos to the staff of the bar and restaurant. Our service at both was amazing. They are a fun group and it was a delight to sit in the bar for an hour to pass the time and enjoy some well made Iibations. Breakfast was very relaxing as well. The pool was under construction beneath our window, but nothing too loud. The elevators could definitely use an upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear our Valued Guest;

We would like to thank you for taking time to tell us and other guests about your stay experience. We are excited to know that you had such a great time at our property. Your feedback is very unvaluable to us. We will utilize as a training tool for the continued improvement of our guest service.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.