We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce beach front hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Copiague
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NIce beach front hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

On the beach. Free beach chairs and unbrella, Tiki bar. Two pools, Clean beach. Away from destine beach crowds. Military, Police and kid friendly. Clean rooms with great views. Only a few minutes from really good resturants and Destine beach. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: I stayed in section A, which was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are also very appreciative of the time which you took to fill out this survey for us to tell other guests about your great experiences at our property. Your positive comments are valuable to us; and they are well considered toward the continued improvement of our product and service. In fact, our ultimate goal is to deliver superior service daily to guests like you. We are glad you have enjiyed the amenities and features, which the hotel has to offer. We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    185
    115
    67
    44
See reviews for
245
170
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

There are several planned activities for children. My daughters loved the waterslide into the pool. The complimentary beach chairs and umbrella were a plus!! The hotel is not new, but it's well taken care of and the decor is updated!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

We would like to thank you for having chosen our property to spend your vacation. We are pleased to know that your kids enjoyed the activities we have to offer and the pool rockslide. We are family oriented hotel. Our ultimate goal is make it fun for everyone. Additionally, we appreciate the time which you took to share your everlasting experiences with other on the web. Your survey underscores the daily efforts which we are making to improve our service and products. Thanks again!

We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with you the weekend of Aug.10&11. We had a GREAT time everybody was very nice and the beaches were out of this world. We live one and a hours from Saint Augistine beach but we will drive four and a half to stay with Yall next time we go to the beach. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

Thank you for making us aware that your and you husband had a wonderful time at our place. We also appreciate the time you took to share your experiences with other prospective guests in the web. As always, our goal is to deliver superior service that ensures guests like you have a great time here at the Holiday Resort, Fort Walton Beach, FL. We hope to see you again.


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Too expensive for the unexciting and drab hotel. Rooms are like a trailer. Small and ugly. Pools are alright one is heated or atleast warmer than the other, nut neither is wonderful or fun. It all feels cramped and confined Beach is nice. Desk clerk was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Our value guest;

We thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have taken all comments with great considerations. We promise your will be utilized as a valuable tool to improve our products. Your kind words about the front desk are well apprecaited.


Best regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here the last week of July and it was are first time in Fort Walton. We always went to Gulf Shores or Panama City Beach. We loved it. The location was perfect. The beach had no jelly fish. A perfect sand bottom and the Sand Bar was awesome, so I swam hours a day. The nice part was as a guest you get 2 chairs & Umbrella for free beachside. (check out there Beach web cam) We at first were located in C & as empty nesters it was by the main pool & too loud for us.They had no problem moving us to A. Loved it. The Manatee Grill has a Great Burger. Good Drinks. We also had Pizza from Room Service that was Good too. Really no problems. It was exactally as experienced at other Beach Side Holiday Inns. The staff was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

Thank you for having chosen to spend your summer vacation at our property. We appreciate your business. Also, we would like to thank you for taking time to share with other prospective and repeat guests the great experiences you had while you were here. We are delighted to know you enjoyed all the amenities and features we have to offer. Your feedback is very valuable to us. It creates a sense of enthusiasm toward delivering excellent service.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our Family stayed there for four nights between July 21st and July 24th. We had already been on the road for two weeks traveling around the South, so we were ready for rest and relaxation at this point.
After seeing some of our other choices in the area we decided that we had really made the right choice. My husband almost booked the Ramada by the Boardwalk. I'm soooo glad that he didn't, I know that I would've been very unhappy with it.
The Holiday Inn is right on the beach and so convenient to the water and pool. There is a little bar that served great snacks. I'd only ordered one alchol drink which was small in a plastic cup for seven bucks. After that we made a run to Publix and stocked up on snacks, wine and drinks.
For the most part the staff is VERY friendly and welcoming, our only exception was on our last day literally as we were leaving. The girl working the bar/ snack area by the pool overcharged us on snacks then had an attitude about it when I pointed out what the menu listed.
We took full advantage of the free DVD rental daily, free popcorn and our daughter took a morning art class which does have a two dollar surcharge but she enjoyed it. We also ate twice the little restaurant on the property. The she crab soup is good and the gumbo is really good too. They were running a special when we were there for 22.00 you can order two adult entrees and our daughter ate free. At this time they were also running half price happy hour margaritas. So I think we had two full adult meals, four margaritas a dessert and kid meal all for about 35.00. Not bad at all!
Lastly, we had a kid suite room that was nice for our child to have her own space. It had its own television as well. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and the ocean was wonderful. We also did a sunset tour and snorkeling tour that was super fun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

Thank you for giving us the opporunity to host your husband and you at the Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach by choosing us over the Ramada. We are flattered by your choice. Indeed, We are glad that your expectations were exceeded. On the other hand, we apologize for the incident that happened at the tiki bar; and we will take corrective to prevent that from reoccuring. We are working daily to improve our service and product. Your feedback is a greatly invaluable tool to us. We appreciate your business, and time you took to share these words with us and others.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I have been vacationing here for a few years now. There is no other hotel we would rather stay at. It is located right on the beach, and just minutes away from Destin. We stay in a suite that has a kitchen and seperate bedroom as well as a sitting area. The rooms are always very clean and very affordable. The view from your private balcony is absolutely priceless! They offer free chair and umbrella service which is a great perk. They also have a Tiki bar by the pool area where you can purchase a tropical drink on your way to the beach. Its perfect!
The staff is very friendly and always ready to assist you with anything you may need. The sales coordinator, Angie Lee, has helped me plan our trip every year. She always seems to have time to answer any questions I may have. She is wonderful and a huge help.
I would highly reccommend this hotel for your next getaway. You can check out the beach cam at their web site!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best view! The suites have private balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Ms. Susan;

We are very proud that you chose to spend the end of the summer getaway at our hotel. Also, thank you for bing loyal to our property. Repeat guests like you are in better position to assess our improvement. Your feedback depicts our daily continued improvemt of the product and service is on the right course. We appreciate every minute that you took to fill out this superb survey for us. We promise to do whatever it takes to keep on delivering consitently superior service to you and other guests.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.