We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service! Awesome beach! Very Clean Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service! Awesome beach! Very Clean Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

This was an awesome hotel. The beach was wonderful, the hotel was Very Clean and the staff was great. We even stayed an extra day and the staff were able to make it happen for us. The staff were very helpful and friendly. While the beach location is great, it is kinda far from most of the restraunts in Destin and the rooms were not very large, but the beds were wonderful, the rooms were clean and the view was awesome! Also great perk is you get free use of beach chairs and umbrella on the beach! We would definetly stay here again. The only thing is if they suggest Old Bay Steamer as a good restraunt to go eat at; skip it, read my review on it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. We thank you for taking some of your precious time to describe the experiences, which you had with the staff service, the property, the beach etc. Your feedback is very invaluable to us, to our prospective and repeat guests. We are honored to have been your host while you were in Fort Walton Beach.

We cannot wait to see you again.


Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    150
    92
    60
    43
See reviews for
200
142
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The suite was wonderful. We had full view of the beach and a very short walk down to reach the sand and Gulf. We had peaceful walks along the Gulf every evening. The pools are centrally located and warm. There are activities most nights for kids and families. Internet is slow, as it is most other hotels. Luckily, we didn't need to spend much time on the computer. The lock on the front door needs to be replaced. We needed to "jiggle" the key several times for the lock to recognize it.
We had breakfast in the cafe one morning. Excellent buffet. The rest of the time we ate out in Ft Walton Beach and Panama City Beach.

Room Tip: North side rooms have views of the Gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

First, we would like to thank you for the business. We also want to thank you for taking time away from your daily agenda to share with others the experience, which you had at our property. Furthermore, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying in one of our renovated suites. On the other hand, we would like you to be aware that our IT professional is actually working on repairing the internet access and the door lock issues. Your feedback is a great tool toward the improvement of our products and services..We appreciate every minute of your time. Again, thanks!

We are lookking forward to seeing you again.


Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabaster, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived early, yet the staff allowed us to check in 1.5 hours in advance of the scheduled time. The people at the desk were warm and courteous and gracious, and seemed genuinely concerned with how we perceived our accomodations. We went into the 6th floor suite and were totally amazed at the quality of the room. We entered into a long hallway (what hotel has rooms so big they have 12 foot entrance hallways?), and found a large, spacious suite with separate bedroom, bath, kitchen, dining room and living room. The patio opened on to the gulf, with an incredible view.
It looks like the entire room was brand-new - everything, from the paint, the bathroom sink/fixtures, the appliances, TV's (yes, two big flat-screen HDTVs - one in the bedrooom, one in the living room) - were all new.
The maid service was exceptional, asking us if we needed anything a couple of times per day when they saw us coming into the room (once, they gave us more towels, and another, more shampoo as we left ours at home).
The pools (two of them) were beautiful, and it was also nice being provided two great lounge chairs and an umbrella at the beach by the dedicated hotel beach attendants. Beautiful clean beach, and just like the ad says, clear emerald waters...
The tiki bar next to the pool served great drinks and excellent food.
Nice surprise was the free fresh popcorn available in the lobby.
All around a fantastic experience. We stayed at the HI Resort at Panama City last time but it was booked this trip, so I was a little worried since the PC trip was so excellent, but was amazed to see we got the same level of excellence at both HI resorts.
Well done. I will be coming back, again, and again, with my family.
Only negative: wifi access was poor (but I used my phone and made it a hotspot so it had no effect on us, really.)

Room Tip: Beach side rooms for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Tom B;

We are pleased to know that your family stayed in one of our renovated suites. Your feedback is a great testimony of the work we have done in these rooms over the last three months. Your inspired words are very invaluable to us. We would like to thank you for having taken time away from your daily schedule to write such a review about our updated rooms, our staff service, and all amenities and features, which our property has to offer. On the other hand, we want you to know that we are adding more access points to ease the internet access. During your nextt visit, you will have a better experience with the internet. Above all, we are glad to have exceeded your expecatations. We are also delighted to know that your family and you plan to visit us again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was very impressed and pleased with the great hospitality the staff gave us during our stay last weekend. This was my first trip to FWB. The service was great and we could not have asked for a better location the hotel was in - walking out of your room onto the beach; not only that but I was impressed with the recreations (table tennise, basketball and swimming pool) they had for children to enjoy which I thought was a plus. As I am an early riser I was able to watch the beach staff set up the chairs and table which they did a great job making sure that guest was accomodated early in the morning if they chose to sit out on the beach. I do not say this without much thought, because I stay at the best hotels Ritz Carlton, J.W. Marriott, etc., but sometimes you don't get the personal touch (friendly atmosphere) at those hotels and the staff at Holiday Inn Resort FWB provided us with a very friendly and warm atmosphere. I would definitely recommend them and stay there again. Thank you for great service Holiday Inn Resort FWB staff! Kudos!

Room Tip: Choosing a good room can be challenging if like me you like the very best of things many times the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Ms. Diane!

We would like to thank you not for having chosen to stay with us but also for having taken your precious time away from your normal day to write such an encouraging review about your experiences with us.. Your feeback tells us that our efforts to improve daily our service and product are being noticed. We are delighted to know our staff service, amenities and features exceed your expectations. Also, we were honored to be your host. Thanks again!

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel has a great location right on the white sand beaches of Fort Walton. Not a ton of things to do in the immediate vicinity as far as night life goes. The hotel is surrounded by wall to wall hotels. The wifi is absolutely horrendous. If you can even connect to it, expect to spend a looong time trying to get done whatever it is you need to be done. Even tried connecting to the ethernet hardline internet...didn't work at all. So as long as you don't need to access the internet on your stay in FT. Walton...the Holiday Inn is a decent hotel right on the water.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear our valued guest;
We would like to thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us and other prospective guests. It helps us understand our strengths and weaknesses. It is well considered as an opportunity to improve our weak areas. We want to apologize for the trouble, which you had with the WiFi You are right! Our property is built in blocks. While our WIFI has a great speed, the access may be weak. As of now, we are going to install more access points to make it easier to have internet access. Again, thanks!

We hope to see again, so you can have a better experience with the WiFi.


Best regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Management and Staff made you feel welcomed the moment you walk in the door. There was not a time whenever I was not warmly greeted by a staff member. The hotel is located right on a wonderful and beautiful beach. There were staff everywhere working and they were very friendly. The hotel was clean and kept up well. I truly enjoyed my stay and would return again. I enjoyed having the chair and umbrella provided on the beach as well as the Daily DVD rental that was provided as a service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Mr David;

We really appreciate that you took time to share with others the everlasting experience, which you had with our property. Also, we would like to thank you for your business and your positive feedback. Your comments show how important it is to continue to deliver superior service and product to all of our guests, so they can be satisfied just like you are. We are glad to be your host, and that you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. Thanks again!

We are looking forward to seeing you gain.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a very nice view of the gulf. It was very loud outside all evening even at 9 pm. The rooms were run down and looked like the 1980's. The rooms do not look like their pictures. It was very overpriced for the the room, carpet was nasty and gritty . The halls were very hot and felt just nasty. If I were you and wanting to stay at this hotel I think I would like to look at the room first. I would not have stayed there if I had see it first. We could not cancel because we booked on priceline.
David N.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear David N,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. I'm delighted you enjoyed your room with a view of the gulf. I'm sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your room conditions. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.