We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, wonderful staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I got married at this hotel in September. I was very impressed. The rooms were very clean and well kept. I stayed with my bridal party in one of the penthouse suites the night before our wedding. We were blown away. Everything was so well maintained. The suite was spacious and comfortable slept nine people. There are two pools to enjoy. Everyone (staff and guests) was so friendly. We even saw dolphins swimming in the evening. We cannot wait to go back for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront rooms. Rooms in building "A" may be slightly quieter since weddings an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopolitanfl, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear valued guest;

We thank you for having chosen our hotel as the location to host your wedding ceremony and celebrations. We also appreciate the fact that you took some time away from your daily agenda to virally share your everlasting experiences with others. Our ultimate goal is to deliver superior service day-in and day-out while continuing to improve our products. Your feedback has shown us that we are on the right track. We cannot wait to see you again. Have a great spring!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    145
    91
    59
    43
See reviews for
195
141
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Never again will I stay at any Hliday Inn, I have lost all faith in them since this trip. The room was gross, the room was smelly, the room was hot, the room was not inviting at all. I felt dirty walking around this room. When we first arrived at the hotel, the lobby and parking lot was nice. After waiting for what seemed to be 15 minutes for the elevator, it finally opened but was then full with the cleaning cart and garbage, so we waiting for another 10 minutes to the elevator with 2 kids and a cart full of luggage. When we opened the door to our ocean front suite, I was immediatly dissapointed in the room. You had to walk down a short, cold, dark hallway to get to the main part of the "suite". The bathroom is so small that only 1 person can fit in it at one time, it was a tight squeeze with 1 adult and a 3 year old. This would probably explain why they have a toilet in there that appears to have come from an elementary school (small and close to the floor). And good luck trying to shut the door when using the restroom. The next dissapointment was the kitchen. It was so icky that I would not allow any of us to use the plate provided, use the pans in the room to cook, or even walk on the floor without shoes on. It all just seemed so disgusting to me. Also, the 1 tiny counter inbetween the fridge and the stove, was fall apart and the counter top was not secured at all. And on to the "living room". The couch faces a wall with the TV at the end of the couch. Very dumb set up so i ended up rearanging the furnature to make it more workable for my family. Lastly with the room, it was about 78 degrees in the room when we arrived so I turned the fan on. After the fan was on for a bit, the floor in the bedroom was soaking wet! icky, icky, icky...never again!!
One of the pools was not filled with water, that being the biggest pool with the slide. This was dissapointing since I had called 4 days before our trip and was told both pools were heated and in working order.
The staff was very nice and helpfull, the beach was amazing, the trip was very nice. We wanted to cancell our room and go to another hotel, but in the end, we figured we would only be spending about 8 hrs a day in the room and that was just to sleep. We did no cooking in the room, so the "suite" was useless.
This was our first vacation with our kids in 7 years, so its not like we go on vacation a lot and dont have super high expectations, but thought this hotel would be nice, it was not. Please go elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear our valued guest;

We appreciate that you took time to share your stay experiences with us. Your survey is an important tool to our continued improvement. On the other hand, we would like express our apology to your family and you for not meeting your expectations.
Had we known about your issues before your departure, we would have done our best to recover our failure. One of our pools had a leak. It has been repaired as of 3/20/2012. Additionally, all your concerns have been addressed. Actually, we are in the middle of our renovations. We had to stop due to the spring break rush. As soon as it is over, we will continue our project by tackling the building in which you stayed. 31% of our hotel rooms are suites. By the end of April, these rooms should be updated. We also want to thank you for the great comments that you wrote about the lobby, the exterior and our staff service. We are moving forward to updating all the areas of the hotel by mid-April.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I loved my visit here. I may be partial since I got married on the beach right outside the hotel. I honestly had NO issues. If I needed something, I got it. We did not use the wedding coordinator at the hotel as we hired an outside source, however, she was great! She offered to help if it was needed and was so welcoming. The beach staff was great too. They get you umbrellas and chairs and check to make sure you're content. :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopolitanfl, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to post your everlasting exepriences on Tripadvisor. You are not being partial, it is about your personal experience. I would like to tell since you left, we have improved our property including adding new features, such as HDTV and HBO. In case you are wondering, we still offer the complimentary unlimited movie rentals. We hope to see you again this upcoming summer. Again, we really appreciate that you made it a priority in your agenda to share that wonderful experience with others.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I was offended after trying to change a channel on the lobby TV that they are a partner with CNN, only show CNN in their lobby by corporate decision and default the room TVs to CNN.

I will not support a place that so openly supports an agenda, whatever it is, to the exclusion of others. I can't believe how small-minded and skewed this business that serves the public is.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Valued Guest;

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience, which you had been subject to.It appeared. that there was a confusing message given to you. To clarify, due to past complaints which we received, unless a guest, or (guests) changes the channels while watching the TV in the lobby, we keep a neutral channel. We are not associated with any TV station. Since CNN has been proven to be nationwide the neutral one among the top TV stations, we choose to use it when no guest switches. Nonetheless, a guest has the liberty to change. We are in business to satisfy all guests without any distinction. Again, please accept our apology.
We hope this isolated incident will not deter you from coming back.. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky USA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is something out of the 1960s. We checked in and checked right out. On the way to the room we got into the elevator that was horrid. It bounced and shaked and felt as if it was going to die on us before we reached our floor. I got out just before the doors closed and found another horrid one around the corner. Not much better. The halls were dark and dank and the ceiling was low low low low. We got to our room and were disappointed and felt like we were back in the 1960s.
We immediately walked out of the room went back to the front desk where they understood completely and allowed us to leave without charging us the for the night.
This hotel needs to be gutted and rebuilt.

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest;

We would like you to be aware that our company has been working on a plan to update our guest rooms including all the suites. We thank you for your feedback as we too understand that we need We hope you will give us another chance after the renovation is done. As of now, It is scheduled to finished by mid-March 2012.
Please come to visit us again to experience a different atmosphere.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

To say I was disappointed in this hotel would be an understatement. First the lobby was dirty the staff was not friendly at all. The room was the pits. The room was dirty the towels did not smell fresh and the bed had springs coming through the cover. I talked with the staff and management again they did not care. I had items that was missing out of my room again manager did not care their comments to me was things get missing sometime sorry. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!!!! YOU WOULD BE BEEN OFF SLEPPING IN YOUR CAR. THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE STAIED IN YEARS. HOLIDAY INN NEEDS TO PULL THEIR NAME OFF OF THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Stay gulf side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest;

We would like you to be aware that our company has been working on a plan to update our guest rooms including all the suites. We thank you for your feedback as we too understand that we need to update some of our rooms. We hope you will give us another chance after the renovation is done. As of now, it is scheduled to finished by mid-March 2012.
Please come to visit us again to experience a different atmosphere.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East TN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

...First and last! On the plus side, the staff was friendly, and the outside of the hotel is nice, but the rooms are ratty! I'd suggest the powers that be spend a little more $ on renovating the rooms, and less On the "Tiki Bar", and goofy looking slide in the swimming pool!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest;

We would like you to be aware that our company has been working on a plan to update our guest rooms including all the suites. We thank you for your feedback as we too understand that we need We hope you will give us another chance after the renovation is done. As of now, It is scheduled to finished by mid-March 2012.
Please come to visit us again to experience a different atmosphere.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.