We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service, decent rooms and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good customer service, decent rooms and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Very pleased with the front desk service provided by Renee B. I asked for a room change because the first one overlooked a pool full of noisy kids. She graciously allowed me to move to another building overlooking a different pool that we hoped would be quieter. Next time I would request the suites that are closer to the Gulf and don't overlook either pool as it was still too noisy for me to fully relax.

The room was decent - a bit outdated but everything was in working order and clean. It was nice to get free DVD rentals from the lobby as you couldn't see the water once the sun had set and I wasn't up for running around town for entertainment.

I had the sunset dinner special in the hotel restaurant one evening and was pleasantly surprised at how good the meal was. Good service, too.

I would stay here again and make sure I got a suite facing the Gulf to avoid the pool side noise. There was also a lot of noise from room to room, floor to floor, etc. but that is one gets on a Sat. night in a crowded resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest!

We would like to thank you not only for having chosen to be our guest but also for taking your precious time to share your stay experience with other present and future guests. We are striving daily to improve our product and services, so we can continue to deliver superior service to you and other guests. In this process, your feedback is very invaluable to us. We really appreciate it. We are also excited to know that you love our Suites which are fully equipped with appliances.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    295
    185
    94
    61
See reviews for
428
265
22
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corbin, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My family and I stayed at this resort for our family vacation in July 2010. We stayed 5 nights. The hotel was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful to me and my family. The hotel was clean and very nice to stay in. I have two children 11 and 9. They have lots of kids activities. My kids loved the pools, especially the rock slide. The beach was BEAUTIFUL! This resort is on the beach so it is really convenient. The powder white sand beaches and emerald green water are a dream! They have the best beach service that we have had at any resort! We loved it and cant wait until our vacation in June! I would recommend this resort to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear our valued Guest;

Our team would like to thank you for taking some of your precious time to write such a great review. Your review is a motivational message that is being used during our staff meeting, so we can continue to work hard to create an everlasting experience which guests like you have come to expect.. This year, we are more committed than ever to making it happen. As you could have seen, we refurnished all our guest tooms. We also changed all our TVs to Flat screen HD. During the spring and summer, we have more outdoor recreation for your family. Please come back to enjoy the summer in our property. In case you need a full kitchen, we guest room suites that are equipped with appliances. See you soon!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I could hear and see the gulf from my room. The king bed was comfortable. The ventilation system worked well and did not wake me up. It was nice to have a refigerator and microwave in my room. The walls were painted pleasant colors. But the rooms were run down. Upon getting to my room, I noticed that the sink drain stopper was broken and called for maintenance. I thought it was fixed, but two days later it was broken again. I didn't bother with maintenance again until the lever on the toilet stopped working. It was obivious to me that the plastic arm was cracked and I explained that when I called maintenance again. The maintenance guy showed up with no parts or tools. I heard the toilet flush and the guy said, there you go, you are all set, call if you have any more trouble. When I had to use the toilet again, I found it to be in the same shape as it was before I called. I had to pull up on the arm to get the toilet to flush. The next morning I went down to the front desk and asked how the maintenance guy could miss something that I could plainly see. They said they would take care of it, and it was better when I got back later that day. They fixed the sink drain stopper and replaced the plastic arm in the toilet. However I had to hold the lever down to get the toilet to flush. Why not go ahead and fix it properly. I dread the possibility of staying at this hotel again next year for the same conference. The location is great and they were the only hotel who could accomodate a group of 70 people for a full week.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, December 17, 2010
Dear Our Valued Guest;

We would like to thank you for taking time to share the experiences you had at our property. We profoundly appreciate your feedback. To follow up with you, we want you know that we are in the process of retraining our maintenance associates on solving guests issues within 10 minutes. Additionally, I found out that a new water pump was intalled in the tank. However, one has to hold its lever for one second before releasing it due our water conservation program. We apologize for the inconvenience. We will ensure other guests are aware of the new system. By the end of the year, all our rooms will be equipped with LCD,TV and new furniture. Come back to see us again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We have planned and dreamed to come back to this resort for 8 years. It was very nice, but certainly had some changes. It is NOT handicap accessible to the beach. They have built up a sea wall that has changed the board walk to be up three levels and than down two levels. The room we requested from our last stay now is behind the sea wall they have built to protect themselves, which we totally understand, but it was a surprise. We sat on our patio the last time and looked at the dolphin fountains by the pool and onto the beach. The dolphin fountains and the beach view are both gone. They were nice enough to give us another room in a different building with a beach view from the balcony. However, this room seemed much older and dated than the room we had before. It was very clean, and we still enjoyed our stay and everyone was polite to us. It was a smaller room and just didn't seem like the rooms of the other Holiday Inns we visited during this trip. You can have a continental breakfast at this Holiday Inn for 8.99 per person. Only hotel of the 7 hotels and motels we visited on this 40th anniversary trip that didn't include breakfast. The ocean sunset was all that we remembered and we enjoyed the dolphins swimming by in the early morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I love this hotel! I have stayed here several times and it just gets better and better. The hotel since I was there last has been 'refreshed' and I was very pleased. We have been able to get the same room every visit thus far and it is something we really look forward to. The employees are great, I can tell this hotel has a great management team. The hotel has two pools, a hot tub, free movie rentals and scheduled activity in certain seasons. If all of this was not enough it in directly on the beautiful white sands of the gulf coast. I just got home yesterday and I can hardly wait until my next visit! You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,Ky.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We rented a suite at the Holiday Inn Resort for a long weekend in September on the recommendation of a friend and for just a few days didn't want to rent a condo. All the rooms had at least a Gulf view with quite a few beachfront. It has two nice pools and the Manatee Grill poolside was nice for a sandwich or drink if poolside or you get hungry while on the beach. Beach service ( 2 chairs & umbrella) is included with your room

The rooms were clean but dated and in dire need of an upgrade. Carpets stained and old looking but appeared clean besides that. The a/c in our room rattled the walls and make sleeping difficult. Maintenance was sent up and while he worked diligently and tried all he could the simple fact was it couldn't be fixed (others had tried by stuffing paper between the unit and the walls). He said a lot of the rooms were inline to be updated and the paneling replaced that was causing the problem. We were in a couple other rooms while we were there and not all rooms had the problem, if they did it wasn't as bad.

Despite the problems though, the amenities, location and friendly staff go along way toward making up for it. One odd thing though. I travel a lot and this is the first hotel to ask me to sign a liability waver when you check in.....relieving the hotel of liability if anything happens to your car or comes missing from your room, but then each room has a safe so unsure whats up with that.

All in all if I had just a few days I'd probably come back to this hotel....longer then that I'd rent a condo but then at Ft. Walton I'm partial to renting a condo over a hotel anyway. I'd recommend this hotel to a friend with a couple of caveats

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We enjoyed our stay this past weekend. Hotel is clean, and comfortable. However, I wish that they went the extra mile of platinum ambassodor status teired guest with a suite upgrade. I asked at the desk, and they said they had a suite available, and that I would have to pay for that upgrade. I did not get much of any upgrade benefit except that of a ocean view.

I would recommend it for standard guest, but not elite guest.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.