We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beachfront Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 Miracle Strip Pkwy E, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Beachfront Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The beachfront rooms that have a balcony are well worth the extra money the view is amazing! Each balcony has 2 chairs and a table. The rooms were nice and spacious, they even included a mini fridge (equipped with a freezer) a micowave, coffee pot and sink. The hotel staff was great and very helpful. We enjoyed talking to every person we met. The breakfast buffett had lots of options and room service came fast even in the rain. The pools are nothing to talk about. Very average not fancy at all. The beach in front of the hotel is very nice and they have 2 chairs and an umbrella to rent for $30 per day. The hotel is located close to the Boardwalk and you can actually walk since there is a sidewalk connecting the two. The boardwalk has restaurants, few shops, and Howl at the Moon.

Room Tip: If you don't get an ocean front room ask for a pool view that way you at least have something to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    207
    86
    36
    31
See reviews for
181
164
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We did an impromptu vacation as well (Aug 11-13) so we didn't have the pick of the litter as far as rooms were concerned. That being said the front desk was very friendly when we checked in late at night. Parking lot was packed, but not too badly.
The Good:
- Beachfront location. We had two kinds in tow, so this was key. It's right next to the Gulfatarium (which is great for young kids BTW - just steps from the hotel), so that stretch of beach is empty. We never had a problem getting chairs or space on the beach, but to your left and right (in the distance) you cold tell that the mega-condo / pier beaches were packed.
- Bar. The bar was pretty fun and had tasty, typical bar food. It was way up high on stilts, so you could enjoy a drink while you watched the surf. It was never packed. They also had a beach waitress that would come check on you. Plus you could charge it to your room.
-Gulfatarium. Great if you have young kids - Google it and reserve one of the encounters for a special treat. It's definitely dated, but the young kids don't mind, and it's a great break from the beach for a few hours. Keep your expectations low and you'll be happy.
-Close the the Pier & board walk. We walked to dinner at the boardwalk and back. Very pleasant. Never checked out the pier.
-We never dined at the restaurants or used the pools, so no opinion there.

The Bad:
- The room was dated at best. View of the parking lot and no tub, just a shower that couldn't keep the water contained at all. Unfortunately it was really the worst Starwood room I've ever stayed in, but like I said, it was last minute and I used points, so I'm sure they did what they could to accommodate us. Plus every other hotel I've stayed in, we have always been lucky enough to get upgraded, so I have high expectations. Overall it was just a pain to try and change and dry off in such a tiny bathroom with no shower. I'd recommend the beachfront rooms (suites?), as those are much more roomy and obviously have great views. Plus a balcony is key when going to the beach, as everything we had that got wet was a PITA to dry. (the garden view rooms apparently do have balconies however).
-Expensive chairs. $30 a day? I was under the impression that the going rate was $20...

Overall it was a great trip and an adequate hotel. I knew going into it that we weren't going to be spending much time in the room, so I wasn't picky on what we got. If you plan better than I did, you will be pleased.

Room Tip: Don't settle for a 'parking lot view' unless you have to. The garden view rooms have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I would not even give this place one star if I didn't have to. But, since Yelp makes me, that star is for the maintenance guy & the housekeeping lady, who both had more customer service skills than any of the front desk staff or management.

This place was a nightmare.

Day 1: Hubby had been telling me all day that he was having trouble breathing & baby girl's nose was pouring... He said he smelled mold. I told him he was overreacting, it was common on the coast to have moisture in the room & the climate change was probably getting him and Baby C.

Um. No.

Day 2: Hubby gets up and goes to church. Leaves us behind because baby girl was really sick at this point. Before leaving, he'd called the front desk to complain about mold he found in the wall behind toilet, they sent housekeeping to bleach the tub. Fail.

We left after the housekeeping lady, who spoke broken English, helped me find an urgent care clinic for the baby. I noticed in the few hours that we were gone, that baby girl had gotten somewhat better...

*Alarm bells* maybe hubby is right about the mold... shut the front door. So, i asked him to request they move us (for the 3rd time) and they did, but not without attitude or insisting on sending maintenance to look at the new room first because we were obviously lying about problems in the first 2 rooms.

I get to the new room with baby & ask maintenance guy if it's better. He's all... I'm not sure, you tell me. I look and tell him yes & explain about room 2, take him down to look and as he is inspecting the moldy area, he pushes and a basketball sized portion of the wall caves in and there's mold everywhere. (Please see pics)

Oh. My. Goodness.

We stayed in Room 3 for about 3 hours max & baby girl's eyes were matted shut when she woke up so I demanded we get her out of there.

Went to the Hilton resort in Destin for only about $60 more/night and got a better room, better view and by the time she woke up the next morning, baby girl was already looking better.

Unfortunately, our whole trip was screwed up just because of this hotel and dealing with management is a whole other unprofessional catastrophe. They have yet to even attempt to rectify the situation.

P.S. - Room 1 - (beachside building 5th floor) had water standing outside the door, which was odd because it wasn't raining and none of the other doors had water outside. Walk into the room & the carpet is wet. No idea where the water was coming from, but that's why we were moved to moldy Room 2, which ironically was next door to damp Room 1. It's not rocket science people.

P.P.S. Loved the location and the view... including the "Kevin loves Daved heart drawn in seaweed & covering a large portion of the building's beach view. Props to Kevin and Daved on finishing that project and no worries guys, doesn't appear it will ever get cleaned up.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Although the room was cleaned,the toilet seat need replacing and the fan in the bathroom. The elevator had a very bad odor and waiting to get on the elevator from the parking deck there is a foul odor. Smell like something was dead. Which I think the smell came from the rug on the elevator.


  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, MS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Impromptu, 1-day getaway limited our choices this time of year. The hotel is directly on the beach and the grounds are well kept. Our room with two Queen beds was $260 which seemed high to me. Unfortunately, my choices were limited and the family insisted on being on the beach. The room was clean, but the place is showing it's age. Nothing "wrong" with the hotel but you're paying for the location. The room was very basic. There are multiple places to access the beautiful public beaches in Destin. If I had it to do again, I'd have paid for a sub-$100 room at one of the newer chain hotels and driven a (very) short distance to the beach. Lesson learned. BTW, our room did NOT face the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biloxi, ms
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our recent stay and will use this hotel again. The room was clean and comfortable. The offer free bourke water....a nice plus. The beach was awesome. They have two pools. We used both and preferred the one furthest from the beach, it was less crowded. The staff was courteous and helpful. This was best priced beach front hotel with availability.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed there July 13 - 15--the weekend, and had our daughter with us who is stationed at NAS Pensacola. I was a little concerned in advance because of the negative reviews I read on these pages. Suprise, suprise, it was very suitable for out needs. We were on the 3rd floor beach front. The room was very clean and nicely appointed and we had a phenomenal view. Bright sunshine, blue- green water, and lots of white sand right out the big sliding door window. It is nicely located in its own separate beach space, but within walking distance--a little sidewalk trail-- of a cluster of restaurants in the so called Board Walk - 4 tenths of a mile. The person who cleaned our room was very personable and pleasant. She is a Russian immigrant and just joy to engage. She is very nice and did a fine job with our room. Also, the room had a nice little refrigerator, a sink and a coffee maker and a microwave. There are two swimming pools. The space behind our room with the walkway to the main desk and the resturant is a wonderful garden area with beautiful flowers. It is well kept, clean and pleasant. It is semi-tropical in its appearance. We also had plug-in internet connection and parking underneath the beach front unit. You can walk down or ride the elevator.

Criticisms
Internet - it was a little slow. But were were there for the beach and the reunion with our daughter, so it was only mildly annoying.
Bar-restaurant -- a nice space, nice bar. It is for locals and did not have many customers when we went there after settling in on Friday following our long flight and drive from Columbus, OH. The problem there was lack of hospitality and attention. The young staff person needs some training.
Stairwells in the beachfront unit -- they could be cleaned out periodically, and the handrails need to be painted.
Oh, the workout room - it is ok, treadmills etc, but it could be upgraded. A lot of people use it.

I highly recommend this hotel, especially for families looking for beach access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach

Address: 1325 Miracle Strip Pkwy E, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Destin-Fort Walton Beach is a tropical retreat on the beautiful beaches of the Emerald Coast. Friendly service and a relaxed setting in the Florida panhandle will ensure a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
4 Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Sheraton Fort Walton Beach
Four Points Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Sheraton
Fort Walton Beach Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.