We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Boston, Mass.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. What a good find this was! We had a great check-in experience. The reception staff was very helpful and extremely friendly! During our stay, they were always there with a smile and assisted wherever they could. Even when we were just slowly passing by the reception desk, every time there was a 'another great day in paradise' greeting.
We booked a water view room and checked into our room on the 6th floor - with balcony. The room was good size, very clean, nice and comfy beds, and a clean bathroom. Everything what we were hoping for. Yes, the décor is 50th/60th time but my wife and I all of a sudden felt much younger!! Including the decoration in the main lobby follows this decorative style. Very nice! A couple of other reviews mention that an update would be in order (carpets etc.) They are right now in the process of renovating - including new carpets etc.
The wifi in the room was a bit weak but worked well. The included breakfast was good with a change of items every day.
Overall, the hotel is in a very nice location, right on the miles long white sand beach. There is a heated pool and cabana bar adjacent to the hotel's Swizzel Stick Lounge. My wife and I had a couple of great evenings there. Don, the bartender, is a real pro, very friendly and personable. In no time one gets into conversation with other people at the bar. What a great entertaining place - with an entertainer - every night from 8 to xx.
We were reluctant to leave but the responsibilities were calling. If and when we get back into the area, we will definitely stay there again. We will also recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Definitely a Gulf view with the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your in-depth, warm, wonderful review. We are so thrilled that you had a great time. Your heartfelt comments regarding our team is so appreciated. It was our PLEASURE to have served you! We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    178
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
209
188
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, IN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Best Western at Ft. Walton Beach, Florida. Our room was upgraded to a gulf side, 6th floor affording us a vista of the water, beach and sun. We visited a neighborhood restaurant on the recommendation of our check in staff and found good food in a cozy atmosphere. We had lunch in Valparaiso, Florida so we could experience another Valparaiso.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank You for your review on our recent stay with us. We are thrilled you had such a great experience during your visit. Our local restaurants are quite good and loved the fact you went to Val'P! We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The facility suffers from typical effects of salt air and a more casual way of life but the location and the staff just couldn't have been better. The price was very affordable, too. Room was comfortable; no issues and the view was spectacular. Staff directed us to various local seafood restaurants (Stewby's, A.J.'s and Anglers). Air museum is close by with about 20 airplanes outside - a fun trip, too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the nice comments regarding our team. We are just thrilled you got to enjoy some of our great local restaurants. The museum is always a great bet for a nice day trip. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband & I travel about 40-50 days every winter & have stayed in many different properties. We don't mind older properties if they are kept updated but we found Best Western Walton Beach in dire need of an update, right from the lobby to the rooms. We had a gulf view room which had an amazing view and was very clean. However someone had tried to freshen it up by painting the bathroom door white, which would be OK if it was kept clean. The back side of the door was black (gross). The frame of the mirror in the room was also painted but not very well, looked very unprofessional. The breakfast was mediocre and the seating area small & uncomfortable. Would probably find another place to stay if was in the area. Not sure how it's rated #2 in Fort Walton

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank You for your review. We appreciate all your feedback. We are right now in the midst of upgrading several of our interior hotel features. Please come back and visit us again, it would our pleasure to serve you, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was traveling though the area and called for a last minute reservation. I spoke with a very nice front desk attendant that apologized for not having a beachfront room available, this was understandable as I was calling after 8pm the night I wanted to check in. She held a room on a courtesy hold for me. Upon arrival I was greeted by the very nice lady that made my reservation and her co worker. I was very impressed by how welcoming and friendly they both were. This staff really has the "customer service aspect figured out "!. I had occasion to speak with the General Manager and it was evident that great customer service starts at the top at this hotel. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. I felt like the parking lot was very secure and safe. I was pleasantly surprised by the wonderful rate. This hotel has a GREAT location right on the beach.

Room Tip: Even if a beachfront room isn't available don't discount this hotel. The rooms that don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank You for the gracious and lovely remarks on your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed meeting you and look forward to your next visit with us. We will have a special spot on the beach waiting just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We had a great experience. The hotel is a little older, but it's staff understands that customer service goes a long way to making any hotel stay great. They were so helpful and pointed out nearby restaurants and attractions and went as far as to surprise my husband and I with a bottle of champagne for Valentine's weekend. Great staff and you couldn't find a better place to catch an Emerald Coast sunrise or sunset. Thanks BW staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank You for the lovely review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind remarks regarding our team and your overall stay. It was our pleasure to help you have the very best of Valentine's! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spent two very nice days at the Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel. The hotel has a great location right on the beach. A heated swimming pool is also available. We had an ocean front room overlooking the pool and beach. The beach area here is suburb with very soft white sand. Although the water was cold, it is February, but the surf was mild making for great beach walking.

The room was fairly small but well decorated with a spectacular ocean view. The lobby area was colorfully decorated and staff was very pleasant. All in all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you. We appreciate the lovely remarks. Please do some visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Address: 380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Best Western Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;