We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, not the worst” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Casselberry, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not the best, not the worst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

While there are things I would change, overall the hotel is nice, it's clean, which is a HUGE plus! The view of the ocean is SPECTACULAR from the 6th floor. The jacuzzi tub is also nice. The colors are very 50's to 70's, but that is part of the charm.

Now for things that could be changed.
1- the door to the bathroom is warped & sticks when opening it. It's also water damaged at the bottom & needs replacing.
2- the toilet paper is do far away from the actual toilet that I couldn't reach it, so I had to remove a till & out it on the back of the toilet.
3- the tub, while nice, is very difficult you get in & out of - dangerous because the handrail isn't located in an easy-to-reach place when getting in or out.
4- the heater doesn't heat the entire room, only the section of the room next to it where the chairs are.
5- the chairs are very comfortable but ugly as all get out.
6- replace the pillows - they are flat & uncomfortable to sleep on.
7- You can't comfortably watch TV from the chairs.
8- more plugs are needed for electronic gear.
9- breakfast is OK, but most of it was cold and/or over cooked.
10- the door to the balcony is rotting at the bottom.

Would we come back? Probably. Might not be my first choice, but we are Rewards members, so.......

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your suggestions and will review each and everyone one. We do hope that you will come visit with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    197
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
232
211
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night. I had no issues. Even though this was just a little quiet night for me and the husband, it appeared VERY child friendly. I was allowed to check in early. Check in was pretty quick and Josie was super friendly and informative of all the accommodations the hotel had. There was a guy there with her but I couldn't see his name, he was also informative on places to get some grub, gave us suggestions on eating locations and some gift cards to try them out! SWEET!
Great ocean view room, clean to standard. All rooms enter from the outside. The hotel elevators are symmetrical. One on both wings not a lot of walking needed to get to your rooms. The location was about 25mins from the airport and very easy to get there. As soon as we turned out from the airport we were on 85 and only made two turns more before entering the parking lot. Best Western is around the corner from the boardwalk. Plenty of shopping/eating places in the area. Loved Damien's down to earth attitude when we were talking about things to do in the evening. I would SURELY have no issues staying here again.
The breakfast was good too. Such an extensive spread and it wasn't even crowded. Keep up the good work BW!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank You for such an in-depth review of your stay. We appreciate hearing all the details of your visit with us and certainly thank you for your kind remarks regarding our team! It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

One night layover on the beach. It was a cold day but the motel was nice enough and we would stay there again. Not fancy but nice. Basic breakfast, but it's what I like... cereal and waffles. They had sausage, eggs, and biscuits too. The only negative was the left over syrup on the tables from others. Wish the weather had been nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. We were happy to serve you. Please do come back, the weather was not typical during your visit, it is usually much nicer than that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Excellent accommodations for the money. Also excellent location and could not have had better service. Ease of walking right out on the beach and the heated pool were great. Hotel is older and that shows in places but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind feedback. It was our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next visit with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed over Veterans weekend. The customer service in this hotel is superb. Everyone was super friendly and helpful. We got a free upgrade with my rewards card for ocean view. Honestly, it couldn't be better positioned, right on the beach. The view was phenomenal. The room was very nice and clean. The balcony was such a nice touch. The room has a plenty of counter space in the bathroom, and new looking shower, and a mini fridge.The decor is a 60's style art deco, gives the hotel a fun feel. The continental breakfast was satisfactory. It included a waffle maker, cereal, small yogurts, small bagels, bread, english muffins, small chocolate and other flavored muffins, biscuits, eggs (not fresh, the folded square kind you get on your breakfast sandwiches at fast food places), sausage one morning, bacon the next, and gravy (if you want biscuits and gravy). They also had some apples and oranges, coffee, juice, and water. They do not offer chairs or umbrellas in the off season, and the tiki bar is closed, but the pool was still open and the weather was perfect to sit on the beach or by the pool and read. We didn't make it down to the lounge while we were there but I peeked inside, it was the same retro style. I did not hear any live music the weekend we stayed there so that may be something else they don't offer off season. There is a convenience store down the road, both ways if you need to pick up drinks or supplies. There is also a beach store (alvin's island) with beach goods. It's a short drive to Destin. I would still recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay in the area. The prices are reasonable, the service was over the top, and you get the same ocean view and beautiful beach that every other hotel/resort on that strip has.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank You for the in-depth review of your recent stay with us. it was our pleasure to serve you. We appreciate all the kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a balcony looking out on the Emerald coast of Florida. Great Value for this ideal spot! Many of the chain hotels in this area are higher priced and don't have the ocean view and direct access to the beach. The décor is bright colors with a 70's feel, but it is beachy. The breakfast is comparable to what you would get at Comfort and Hampton Inns,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank You for the review regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and the kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was a one night stop along our cross country motorcycle trip.  Desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Complimentary coffee in a very cool art deco lobby is a plus! The location of this hotel is great. Right on the beach with easy access walkway to the waterline.  It is an older hotel but it is maintained very well. Our room overall was clean and very well appointed. The bed was very comfortable with good linens and pillows. Oceanfront balcony was wonderful. Breakfast was very good with bacon,eggs, biscuits and assorted breads. Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank You for your kind in-depth review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Address: 380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Best Western, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Best Western Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.