We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Right On the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Place Right On the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My family stayed here for a few days at the end of July. Its a great little place on the beach, not fancy but very cute. I liked the whole retro South Beach decor. Could not have had a better spot on the beach with two beach chairs and an umbrella included with your room it was a great deal. The beach guy (I wish I could remember his name) was so helpful and nice. All of the staff I encountered were very nice and helpful.
The pool and outdoor bar area was a great place to kick back and read or have a drink.
The rooms were immaculate. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. Some of the furniture is not updated, but it was clean and functional so that didn't bother me at all.
Continental breakfast was good, we could always find something good to eat.
The only thing I wish they would change is make the doors to the lobby automatic and get a new gate to the beach .
I definitely would recommend this place and would like to visit again myself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback. We do look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    177
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
209
186
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent 5 nights and could not have asked for a better place to stay.! We had a gulf view room and loved the retro decor. The room was clean and the beds are quite comfy! The staff is very friendly and very customer service oriented. Dan the beach attendant was such a nice guy. We watched as he spent quite a bit of time patiently helping some of the kids learn how to paddle board and surf.
Breakfast had a nice selection of items. Easy beach access and they provide chairs and umbrellas. We really enjoyed the fact that the area is very much old school beach town. This hotel is very family oriented. We are already planning on returning next summer.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a little extra for a gulf view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our team and your overall feedback on your stay. We will be awaiting your visit next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel from July 21 -July 24, 2012. The staff was very friendly and the staff was quickly willing to assist upon request. I booked this hotel with the request of a high floor. That request was made and we had excellent views of the Gulf. Below are a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
-Great beach location
-Friendly staff
-Complimentary beach chairs (2)/umbrella (1)
-Beaches not crowded
-Clean pool

Cons:
-Hotel needs updating
-Rooms not very clean
-Breakfast
-Must leave immediate area for good dining

The reviews on TA overall show very good; however, I rate this hotel average. If you are looking for just a place to sleep, this hotel is OK. If you are looking for great Gulf views, be sure to request a high beachfront floor. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Select a high floor for great Gulf beachfront views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback. We hope you will come back and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had one extra day in our trip and decided to visit Fort Walton Beach. Based on tripadvisor reviews, we booked the Best Western. It was great! We got the non beachfront rooms...they were clean and had a nice retro beachy decor. Accessing the beach was so easy, we did not miss the view much. Not upscale but very clean with a nice breakfast. It has a cute Tiki bar near the pool. The best part... 2 beach chairs and umbrella come with the room...We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great Location. We got 2 gulf view rooms. They were amazing. They also gave us the rooms that were attached which we asked for. Staff was friendly especially the beach attendant Dan and Heather at the front counter. Rooms were very clean. The beds, sheets, and pillows were sooo comfy. Breakfast was good they had more than cereal and muffins. They had eggs ( folded like from McDonald's), biscuits, waffles, and sausage gravy. Also loved the retro decor.

Room Tip: Definetly pay the extra for gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and the kind comments regarding our team members. Glad you liked the retro decor! We hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABOT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The property appears to be fairly new or recently renovated and evereything was clean! We had some issues in our room and I would like especially thank the housekeeping stuff and the maintenance guy Alex who went out of his way to help us with everything we needed when the front desk said "they have nothing to do with it" .People expect a good service but only few are willing to give it. I travel frequently for business and usually stay in hotels that are more upscale but Best Western exceeded my expectations in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Your value your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, LA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were impressed with the impeccable cleanliness of the room, the free lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach, the free breakfast that included eggs, waffles, sausage and biscuits as well as all the
usual cold items. and the coffee was delicious!Heather was very helpful at check-in and assisted in our choices for restaurants and directions. The pool was unusually clear and clean and maintained by a
friendly hotel engineer named Adam, who graciously told us how he meticulously maintained the pool water.Mr. Bates at the front desk gave us directions to his favorite burger drive-in which was fantastic. There was even a bin of pool floats and rafts available for hotel guests. The refrigerator in the room was about three feet tall and kept our drinks ice cold. The microwave in the room was also very
useful for warming snacks and leftovers. I did not miss the kitchen I usually get in much more expensive
condos. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. They really thought of everything and CARE! And most important, the breeze and gulfview from our balcony was unbeatable!.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best gulf views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and the kind comments regarding the staff. It is our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Address: 380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Best Western Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.