We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great beach location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel from July 21 -July 24, 2012. The staff was very friendly and the staff was quickly willing to assist upon request. I booked this hotel with the request of a high floor. That request was made and we had excellent views of the Gulf. Below are a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
-Great beach location
-Friendly staff
-Complimentary beach chairs (2)/umbrella (1)
-Beaches not crowded
-Clean pool

Cons:
-Hotel needs updating
-Rooms not very clean
-Breakfast
-Must leave immediate area for good dining

The reviews on TA overall show very good; however, I rate this hotel average. If you are looking for just a place to sleep, this hotel is OK. If you are looking for great Gulf views, be sure to request a high beachfront floor. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Select a high floor for great Gulf beachfront views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback. We hope you will come back and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    270
    73
    34
    21
See reviews for
336
308
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had one extra day in our trip and decided to visit Fort Walton Beach. Based on tripadvisor reviews, we booked the Best Western. It was great! We got the non beachfront rooms...they were clean and had a nice retro beachy decor. Accessing the beach was so easy, we did not miss the view much. Not upscale but very clean with a nice breakfast. It has a cute Tiki bar near the pool. The best part... 2 beach chairs and umbrella come with the room...We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great Location. We got 2 gulf view rooms. They were amazing. They also gave us the rooms that were attached which we asked for. Staff was friendly especially the beach attendant Dan and Heather at the front counter. Rooms were very clean. The beds, sheets, and pillows were sooo comfy. Breakfast was good they had more than cereal and muffins. They had eggs ( folded like from McDonald's), biscuits, waffles, and sausage gravy. Also loved the retro decor.

Room Tip: Definetly pay the extra for gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and the kind comments regarding our team members. Glad you liked the retro decor! We hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CABOT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The property appears to be fairly new or recently renovated and evereything was clean! We had some issues in our room and I would like especially thank the housekeeping stuff and the maintenance guy Alex who went out of his way to help us with everything we needed when the front desk said "they have nothing to do with it" .People expect a good service but only few are willing to give it. I travel frequently for business and usually stay in hotels that are more upscale but Best Western exceeded my expectations in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. Your value your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were impressed with the impeccable cleanliness of the room, the free lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach, the free breakfast that included eggs, waffles, sausage and biscuits as well as all the
usual cold items. and the coffee was delicious!Heather was very helpful at check-in and assisted in our choices for restaurants and directions. The pool was unusually clear and clean and maintained by a
friendly hotel engineer named Adam, who graciously told us how he meticulously maintained the pool water.Mr. Bates at the front desk gave us directions to his favorite burger drive-in which was fantastic. There was even a bin of pool floats and rafts available for hotel guests. The refrigerator in the room was about three feet tall and kept our drinks ice cold. The microwave in the room was also very
useful for warming snacks and leftovers. I did not miss the kitchen I usually get in much more expensive
condos. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. They really thought of everything and CARE! And most important, the breeze and gulfview from our balcony was unbeatable!.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best gulf views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and the kind comments regarding the staff. It is our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

First, my boyfriend and I love FWB. It's an "old-school" beach town that actually does still have hotels on the beach; great local seafood and dive bars; and down-home hospitality. This hotel actually exceeded our expectations for a Best Western. The location is perfect--convenient to lots of places to eat, etc. We only left the island once to go to Publix to get a few groceries, and it was a very short drive. We were on the 6th floor--perfect view at the top with balcony. The rooms, may be a little dated, but we loved the bright/lively decor with comfy beds and plenty of pillows. Check-in and out was easy. It was also very quiet and easy to get some rest each night. Everyone at the hotel was so nice. We loved the Cabana Bar by the pool. The bartender was great, and most of the people at the bar were locals! They also have a small lounge (Swizzle Stick) that allowed for a place to get a drink and hear some live music without leaving the hotel at night. The beach was BEAUTIFUL! Umbrella and chairs FREE with your stay. Both of the guys who set up the chairs and rented the paddle boards, canoes, etc were really nice. They also clean up the beach on that particular property each day, so no seaweed or trash when we went out each morning. There was also a "cabana girl" who would come out the beach and take drink orders and bring them to you! You could charge to the room, or settle up at the bar on your way back into the hotel. There were just lots of little things that made this place really unique for this day and age. The only negatives were that the pool is quite small (but we didn't care--the ocean is so beautiful it looks just like a pool, so we never used the it!), the rooms are a little small, but perfect for a couple (stocked with fridg, microwave, and coffeemaker)--I would not want try to to fit a family of 4 in a room. And it would be nice if the bars served some light appetizers. We always got hungry! They had a breakfast buffet as well, but we slept through it since it ended at 9:30. All in all, a great trip! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room near the middle for a better view and no elevator traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for the in-depth review of our hotel on your recent stay. We appreciate all the kind and warm feedback regarding your stay. We welcome the suggestion on how we can improve and we can't wait to have you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This resort is older and the rooms could definitely use a remodel. But everything else is so great that it completely makes up for it. This place sits on the beach. Has a so many wonderful pools and kids water play area. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank You for your review on our hotel. We appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you on your next trip to the Emerald Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#12 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Address: 380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Best Western Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.