We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the ritz but great anyways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“not the ritz but great anyways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Very nice hotel in fabulous location. Clean hospitable older hotel. Great value

Room Tip: ocean frontage is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank You for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    198
    52
    22
    17
See reviews for
232
212
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

OK not the most up to date hotel , a bit retro by default!. But after the first impression our room was a decent size ,clean and reasonably equipped with a TV, fridge,microwave&coffee maker.
Good size bathroom with toiletries .Nice balcony overlooking a lovely beach.
Small but OK swimming pool , small pool bar. Free beach towels,Umbrella and two loungers on the beach. Breakfast provided was fairly basic but included free.
Shops restaurants wthin a bit of a stretch walking distance but managable.
We looked hard for a good value base along the FortWalton/Destin coast and this did tick the boxes. The beach in front of the hotel was in our view actually better than Destin.
You get what you pay for here ,good basic accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to critique your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come back to stay with us, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

First let me start by saying, I'm traveling weekly, in a different hotel each week so I believe I have 'some' experience on what to look for in a hotel...

I read online reviews several month back which 'seemed' to say this place was good. Good? When you walk in the lobby, I immediately thought, oh 'retro' like South Beach. When I got to my room, 'retro' wasn't the word....Outdated was far more accurate. This place has the original 1960's decor, including the original 50 thread count sheets! Another reviewer was correct, wear your shoes in the room because the carpet needs at least a cleaning or better yet replacing.

Obviously no one is paying attention. The bathtub faucet leaks so bad that it has worn the coating off the tub drain area. The dim lime green room paint doesn't lend to what might be a nice beachfront when the so called energy lighting is so dim that you have to turn on all the room lights to see. And forget seeing the small roaches in the room?

I don't care that the management will comment after my posting-I see that's their thing. What they should do is put some money and effort into updating the rooms.

If your choice is an upgrade from camping, I guess you'll be ok. You want your family to be comfortable while on vacation, there are plenty of other choices up and down the highway!

Room Tip: Enough said!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
We do thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It is unfortunate that your stay was not up to your expectations. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we may be able to discuss your recent visit with us in more detail. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

WOW! What a location! This beach with its white white sand and warm clean water leaves lasting imagery which keeps us coming back and staying at this hotel. The pool is welcoming and a decent size. The ultra helpful staff bent over backwards to keep us happy.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room with a beach view. Paradise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate hearing from our guests! Our white sands and emerald waters will be waiting for you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is of the typical pre-fab concrete, Soviet-era concrete structure in terms of design, but everything else is wonderful. The back side pool leads, via boardwalk, right to the beach, where Dan(the man) appoints you two chairs/umbrellas to the location of your choice.

Staff, from the housekeeping to the front desk, to Dan to the Bartender(sorry, forgot his name) seem genuinely pleased to know you and to have you as a guest. Service was wonderful, and the housekeeping staff was alway so apologetic when they could not fit you onto the elevators with them.

in fact the only complaint I have(in addition to not having more time to stay here) would be the slow elevators, but the open-air stairwells gave me the daily cardio I was looking for!

Even the non-beach view rooms gave a nice view of the city. The rooms were fine for a family of four, with a refrigerator and microwave as well. Bathroom was huge, and it never felt damp in the room, even with rainwater gathering outside the door in the breezeways. These rooms are technically outdoor accessible, but they are all within the center core of the structure in a fairly limited access area. We never felt unsafe, even on the beach at night. Substantial walk down to the pier/restaurant area, but nothing too harsh. Grocery store right back across the causeway as well.

Breakfast was good enough since it was free. However, there's not a lot of seating for everyone(especially when it's raining and you can't sit on the deck), but we always could have gone back to the room to eat.

We'd definitely come here again to stay.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your input. Undoubtedly, we are a colorful beachfront hotel! Thank you for the staff compliments. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a great hotel. This was the first time we have visited the Ft. Walton Beach area. We had a Gulf view room which overlooked the beautiful beach and the Gulf. What a view. I would recommend a Gulf view room. The "inside" rooms face the parking lot on the other side of the building. It is worth the little extra cost.

The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. The front desk personel were always there to answer questions and get whatever you needed. They made some great recommendations on places to see and eat. The pool was nice and clean. The beach was fantastic. Special kudos to the beach guy who put up the umbrellas and chairs each morning and took them down in the evening. He made a point of checking on everyone to see if they needed anything. He is a hard worker. The breakfasts were great and included both hot and cold foods and plenty of it. Another kudo to the breakfast lady. She worked very hard to keep all of the serving trays full and the coffee fresh! You will love this place! A great family resort.
Goree Waugh

Room Tip: The best rooms face the beach. I say that because the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We agree, Dan our beach person is a wonderful individual. This was your first visit and we hope not your last visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel is located in the perfect location. The hotel is directly on Fort Walton Beach on Okaloosa Island. The rates are very reasonable and include a daily hot breakfast that includes: eggs, sausage, fresh "make yourself" waffles, juices, large cereal selection, biscuits and many other breads, muffins, coffee, and tea. There is a beach attendant who can assist you in the morning when you go to the beach which is right out the back door. You are provided with two chairs and an umbrella. The water is clear and beautiful, the sand on the beach is clean and "sugary". The staff was very friendly and were able to offer suggestions and assistance. The rooms are clean and the cleaning staff is prompt and helpful. The pool outside is very clean and the property is very well maintained. Even the maintenance engineer, Adam stops to make sure you are enjoying your stay, and even asked up if the pool was okay in temperature for us. If I had to say one thing negative is that the carpet can get a little sandy, but the staff comes everyday to vacuum to help maintain cleanliness, so it only can get sandy when you return from the beach until the next morning, and the staff would have been happy to come if asked. The Tiki bar serves delicious drinks and the bartender, Don is hilarious. It make for a wonderful and relaxing vacation for me, my husband and my daughter. I will definitely be back. We even stayed in one night and ordered pizza so we could just hang out and go back to sit on the beach in the evening. When we did leave the hotel, we were able to walk to several restaurants, but Destin was just a short drive to go to the Outlet Mall and other restaurants. The hotel really does try to provide you with everything you need so you can just relax on the beach or at the pool. Again, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I would definitely request a room on an upper level. I made the request through Best Western and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank You for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate the time you put into your evaluation. Many thanks for the kudos of our team members Adam and Don. On behalf of our entire team we are thrilled that you and your family had such a super time! The white beaches, the emerald waters and the Tiki Bar will be waiting for you on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Address: 380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Best Western Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.