We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be #1 hotel in the area! FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
near New Orleans, LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Should be #1 hotel in the area! FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel! The decor is unique, the breakfast is free, beach umbrella & 2 beach also free (per room), access to the beach is easy and super close and not one bar but two! The swizzle stick bar with the live entertainment was so much fun and how can you beat a tiki bar on the beach? The staff we met were professional and courteous even when we checked in at midnight. The room also had a microwave and fridge which held enough goodies for our weekend stay. It was nice to have such a wide selection for a free breakfast. The favorite was the make your own waffles but both days there were egg and sausage biscuits as well as a host of cereals and breads to choose from. The flavored coffee creamers were a pleasant surprise. For the price we paid it was a steal!!

I read some of the reviews that mention smells and carpet issues but we had none of that. The room appeared to be newly updated and we had no complaints. Someone also mentioned that the pool wasn't heated, I have to disagree with that. I know what a non heated pool feels like in March, this pool heater was working :)

The location was perfect for us...just a short walk to Fudpuckers and souvenir shops right around the corner. We are looking to book another vacation there soon and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when in Fort Walton / Okaloosa area. Highly recommend

Room Tip: We loved being on the second floor so we could take the stairs & be sure to ask for a room facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank You very much for your detailed review. We really appreciate the time and thought you put in your critique of our hotel. Most importantly, we are thrilled that you had a wonderful time. Please come see us again, we'll be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    234
    61
    28
    19
See reviews for
273
265
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I love this hotel! The 1950's retro look is adorable! My family goes here every year! Great staff, clean rooms, good price, beautiful beach! You can't beat it.

Room Tip: Get a beach side room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for your review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and great view of the ocean. The rooms were however a bit small.. Heated pool, great continental breakfast, convient to beach area. I would recomment this hotel to families and couples. I would stay here again

Room Tip: We were in room 207 and we had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We went there with our friends, so had 3 rooms total ; our was on 2 floor and was overlooking the ocean. Hotel has total of 5 floors, so not really big and we had pool almost to ourselves. Clean room, bathroom, looks like it was just renovated, comfy beds and pillows, we had our balcony open and slept very well with no crazy noises from the outside. First of all check in was quick and we got room 2 hour prior to normal check in time. Lobby was clean and pleasant, staff friendly. Heated pool located right next to the entrance to the beach, really nice, clean, with some pool toys available for use; comfortable chairs around and tiki-bar with drinks and food priced very reasonably; also free 2 beach chairs with umbrella for use on the beach. In the evening they had a life music and drinks inside the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was great, fruit, waffle, sausage and biscuits, beagles act; coffee creamers with different flavors-that I like a lot. Bunch of restaurants within 5 min. drive. Overall it was a very nice experience, will recommend this hotel to my family and friends.
Thank you,
Wioleta @ Global Gate Travel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you for your in-depth review of our hotel. We're happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to having you come stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I like the location, but could not get over a few things:
1. The tile grout is BLACK with dirt in the rooms. And it was clearly not supposed to be.
2. The room smelled really musty. Get new carpet.
3. Need also new cribs. They smell and are stained.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. We take your input very seriously and again appreciate your comments. Please feel free to contact us at (850) 243-9444, ext 104; we would be happy to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

My family recently stayed here while visiting family in Ft. Walton Beach. We had an issue in the room we had reserved and the staff there went above and beyond to make our trip a success by moving us to another room even though none were left in the room level we reserved. I travel the world for business and stay in many hotels. I don't expect there never to be an issue, things happen. What I do expect is that the staff will deal with the issue in a professional and friendly manner. That is exactly what happened here. Heather was great and checked with us several times during our stay to make sure we were happy. The pool was great and to be able to walk onto the beach directly from their property was wonderful. I would recommend getting a Gulf View room as the balcony is a great place to view the gulf and it is nice to be able to open the door and enjoy the gulf breeze. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Gulf View is a better view and having a door to the balcony allows air flow into the room if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank You for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy that we were able to resolve your issue and the time you spent here was enjoyable. We do appreciate your comments on our team performance, specifically Heather. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I'll start with the pro's-- beach was clean and quiet during spring break, pool was heated, bed was comfortable, and everything recently painted. Cons were---door lock broke and I was locked out of room a 6am and had to wait till maintenace came in at 7am to fix, roomed smelled of mildew, and I was woke up 4am by people screaming in pool that supposedly closed at 10pm. It was not a terrible hotel experience, but not my best. Probally will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We apologize for the unfortunate situations you had at our hotel. Please know that we do everything we can to make our guests' stay a positive, pleasurable experience. If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact us at 850-243-9444, ext 104.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Address: 380 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Best Western Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.