We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop your whining and enjoy the sun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms

The Palms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palms
Save
You added The Palms to your Saves list
670 Nautilus Court, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
snellville, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“stop your whining and enjoy the sun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Palms, we had a great time, our room (502) was very nice, updated and we had no complaints!!! The staff at the office was fantastic, even tho we arrived a lot earlier than expected, they let us check in early. The unit was clean and it has everything you need. Parking, well, its a little tight, ok, its a LOT tight, but thats my only complaint. You get 2 beach chairs free, and its 7 bucks more a day for each extra chair. Hunter was the chair guy and was very nice, and attentive. Every other place you stay at its 125 bucks a week for chairs just for 2. The pool is small, but when you have the gulf, who wants a pool. We didnt take advantage of the free movie rentals but iam sure it would be a great thing on a rainy day. We also wanted to use the free complimentary pass to Capt Nemo dolphin cruise, we booked and paid and were waiting on the doc when the boat came in from the previous cruise and had broke a throttle cable so our cruise was cancelled. We scurried down the boardwalk and found the Sea Quest dolphin excursion, and we were so glad we did, well worth it, the crew was fun and amazing and most of the people on the boat let loose!!!! which made it more fun. Overall we would stay at the Palms again............Oh and the elevator is slow, but we never once had to wait for it. Thanks for a great 4 days!

Room Tip: Room 502, great view, overall a nice unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here the last week of March. We were very worried about the weather being too cold but other than one day in the 60's, the weather was great. Like other reviews have said, the pool is very small and on the side of the building- no hot tub either. If you want a place where you can hang by the pool, this is NOT the place. Access to the beach was easy and the complementary beach chairs and umbrella were very nice. Great views of the beach from the balconies. The elevator in the building is extremely slow! As long as you are not in a hurry, it was fine. A few parking spots are on a pretty steep slope. If you have and physical limitations that make it difficult getting in and out of your car, these parking spots may cause some problems.
The unit (504) was not bad. If you are looking for "high end" accommodations, this is not it. Older kitchen cabinets, formica countertops, and bathrooms were a little dated. But, with that said, the unit was clean, and all appliances worked. The management company- Brooks and Shoney was easy to work with at time of booking and check in. No complaints, good value for what we paid, but next time we will look at other places with a larger pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Kentucky
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I am not sure what standard some of the previeous reviews were based on, but as for our 5 day, 4 night stay. My family and I have never had a better experience. We arrived late, but had instructions for our late check-in. We returned to Brooks and Shorey the next day to complete our paperwork and get coupons and items given to customers. That evening we arrived and parked in the designated parking spot, which was level and under the building. I found the best way to enter it was to just back in from the road, allowing you to back into the parking slot, and after a few times, it became much more easy. The only negative thing that I found was our next experience. The elevator is outside, so its hot and its slow. That said, we entered our room to find it very clean. It is a 2 bed/2 bath unit with a full kitchen and stacked washer and dryer. There is a 55" flatscreen in the living room, a 36" flatscreen in the master bedroom, and a 25" older tv in the double bedroom. All worked fine and would easily accept game consoles or other items that you may wish to connect to them. The units appliances were in good working order and found that we had everything we needed except for our food, there was even 2 boogie board and 2 folding chairs in the kitchen closet. We had a comfortable firm bed, coming from home where we sleep on a tempur pedic bed. The girls had no problems with thier beds and the bathrooms were of good size to accomodate all of us. The water pressure in the shower was great and then found that we had an Iron and ironing board. The balcony can be entered from the master or living room and is very large for our needs. But it overlooks the beach and gave us wonderful views to wake to. The next day we went to Brooks and Shorey to finsih resgistering and found out the added percs that we were not aware of: 1 round of golf per day for 2 with 1/2 off your cart rental, free beach umbrealla and 2 chair rental, and a movie card that works like "redbox" located in Fudpuckers for 2 free movies at a time, unlimited. We were right on the beach with perfect access, a shower to rinse off on the walkway in/out. There is a "Tom Thumb" convience store at the end of the street, a easy walk off the property. The pool did apprear small and is in from of the building as you enter, but we never used it to comment on it. Again, the entire stay was one that we will never forget, we went on to book the unit for the 3rd week of July 2013. Hope thats not in your plans, But certainly worth the price. Note this unit will sleep 6. 1 queen master, 2 twins in other bedroom, and a sleeper-sofa that has instructions in the tv stand on how to use! Love to hear from anyone else, but can not recommend this unit enough, based on the experience that we had!

Room Tip: Make sure that you know what is included when you book the room. The packet included for your stay h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Palms is a small condo complex which worked for us. Easy access to the beach. Unit 203 is a ok unit but the managment is very bad. Brooks and Shorey is the worst. Unit was not that clean, food left in refrig from previous renters. Called Brooks and Shorey and even spoke with the owner. Not very nice people. Stay away from Brooks and Shorey and unit 203. Unit was decorated very nice.

Room Tip: Not sure what to advise. After coming to Fort Walton Beach for 20 years I moved to a smaller comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent the week in unit 401 this June and had a great vacation. We're from Tampa but had never been up to this part of the state before so wanted to check it out. The beaches here are wide with soft white sand, and there's nice surf that you don't see in other parts of the gulf. The condo building itself is older but in good shape, and the location is perfect directly on a quiet stretch of beach but not far from the activities in Destin. The unit we stayed in was nicely furnished and clean, and the perfect size for a family of 4 (2 bedroom, 2 bath). I agree with other reviews about the swimming pool being small, but we did not use it. If a pool is important to you, that could be an issue.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the other units here, but 401 is a nice unit to rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I we're passing through Las Vegas on the way to Colorado. We received a great rate for a Monday night stay. The room was clean and very comfortable.The staff was friendly and helpful. There was no charge for parking. We ate at Guarduno's, the Hotel's Mexican Restaurant. The food was wonderful and the prices were reasonable. My wife and I had a wonderful experience at The Palms and we shall return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echo Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Have Stayed here the last 3 winters for 3 1/2 months at a time, and WON'T return next year.
The propery has a good location, and is a nice size. I am sure there are nice units here to rent, as we note many owners doing upgrades,but check them out carefully.
The unit we have been renting this year (504) is in desperate need of up-grading-thread bare couch, broken wicker chairs etc. We have told Brooks and Shorey numerous times, but all we got were shrugs and mumbles about how hard it is to get owners to do anything.
The pool is on the northwest side of the building, and is very tiny.
Prepare yourself for the severely sloped parking lot unless you have one of the assigned parking spots under the building.
I'm sure it would be fine for a short summer stay, as the balconies are large and beach can't be beat.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the condition of the unit
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms

Address: 670 Nautilus Court, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Number of rooms: 251
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.