We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"An osasis for the traveler"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Martha's Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Martha's Bed & Breakfast
315 Shell Avenue, SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Seminole, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"An osasis for the traveler"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived earier than expected and were made to feel very welcome. Our room was very nice with a beautiful view of the intercostal. It was very chilly outside and so we enjoyed the sunroom while doing some reading. We also enjoyed visiting with Bill, who owns the B & B with his wife Martha, and hearing about the history of the Fort Walton area. Our room was quiet and after a good night's sleep, we were treated to a wonderful breakfast. It was more than we could eat, although we gave it a good try. Loved the poached pears, peach cobbler and french toast. I am not a grits fan but my husband enjoy the spiced grits. Aunt Martha's was a great place just to relax after a busy Thanksgiving in New Orleans. We will be back and bring friends with us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
30
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The common areas were very pretty, and the back porch with swing was a nice touch. However, remember most B&Bs don't have individual AC settings in the rooms, so you have to like whatever temp they set. Yes the breaksfast was delicious! But they are timed rather late for travelors...we are on the go to see the area, so the 10 AM Sunday breakfast was just to late to wait around for. The wrapped chocolates are a nice touch, but a glass of wine in the late afternoon would be a nice touch, as many B&Bs do this. So we brought our own and enjoyed it in the living room (with the host's OK). Other than the dirty towel that was left in our bathroom, the room was clean. They also seem to have family events on the grounds, so the kids running around were a bit of a distraction. Overall, it was a nice place, but please, get some new mattresses!! We stayed at the La Quinta down the road one night (as we couldn't get all the nights we wanted at Martha's) and I'd say the value and comfort level was better there!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor in the summer, as the heat rises, and they seemed hotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Once we walked through the front door, I knew I'd made the right decision trying to reach this lovely B & B, although it took many emails and phone calls to finally book for a night.
The common areas are beautifully done in traditional furnishings and everything faces the water. At any time of day or night guests may help themselves to bottled water and wrapped hershey chocolates (nice touch).
The guestrooms were a tad small after the grandeur of the first floor, but cozy and with gorgeous views. Bathrooms were sparkling clean and had monogrammed fluffy towels. Our mattress was super hard but others had some give (yes...I peeked in a couple of rooms).
ask when you book if that's your issue.
Now...about that breakfast! Stephen and Pam laid out such a repast! From coffee & juice to the spicy chese grits (a house specialty) everything was delicious. My favorite was the fresh strawbery cobbler.
All in all a most delightful stay.

Room Tip: All face the bay...you can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

And the reason is that Aunt Martha's is so perfect that on our next trip to the Florida panhandle, we want to be able to stay here, and there may not be any vacancies once the world knows about this B&B. The turn from the main road is a bit tricky to spot the first time because it looks like the driveway for "Staff's" restaurant at #24 Miracle Strip Pkwy, SE. There are three lovely, large sitting areas on the first floor and another on the second floor. The B&B offers hundreds of books for beach reading, and we loved that bottles of water and soft drinks are provided gratis to the guests. The veranda with its porch swing is a favorite spot for local photographers. We were stayed seven days in the Periwinkle room, and everything about the room was just as we could want, clean, quiet, comfortable. Good coffee; generous breakfasts. We shall return.

Room Tip: Each room is lovely, and since it is a purpose-built B&B, all rooms are commodious and face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My fiancee and I decided to take a mini vacation to FL to the Destin/ Fort Walton area. I stumbled across this B&B and decided to book a room - and I am very glad I did! Bill and Martha are very gracious and the breakfast was AMAZING! The house was actually built to be a B&B, so it offered a lot of privacy without taking away from the "homey" feel. It is in a very convenient location (right next to Destin!) and is right on the water in Fort Walton. The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and beautiful - Martha provides you with everything you might need for the duration of your stay. If you pay in cash, you also get 5% off your bill. Would recommend to all my friends and I definitely plan on staying here next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have a bowling tournment we go to every year in Ft Walton. We have been staying with Aunt Martha's for the past 5 years. We love it. Can't say enough about it. Clean, best breakfast ever, best people you every want to meet, and the view speaks for itself. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. A beautiful home on the intracoastal waterway in the heart of Fort Walton Beach.

The rooms are well decorated, very clean and the bed was comfortable. We loved having morning coffee on the porch overlooking the ICWW.

The two breakfasts we had were superb. I even liked the grits!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aunt Martha's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Martha's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 315 Shell Avenue, SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Walton Beach
Also Known As:
Aunt Martha`s Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Aunt Martha`s Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Martha's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aunt Martha's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list