We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black mold...stay away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Coast Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Emerald Coast Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1214 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Black mold...stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by cheaper prices or booking last minute! This is an older with reported black mold issues. Our room was clean with a weird smell in the room which I think is hiding the black mold smell. Towels have rust stains and strange black spots. Beds are clean with other customers hairs tucked under covers. Their #1 house rule says each unit has been inspected prior to arrival and to turn in any damages to unit within 1 hour of arriving. Office staff does nothing but say they've noted the issues which were too many for them to remember. We talked to other hotel guests that reported similar issues. There was a huge crack in the wall with other small holes all over the room. My husband called it a jail when we drove up.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
46
49
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I picked the hotel based on the review that I read from Tripadvisor. So disappointed! People who graded the hotel good were probably never been in a well maintain before.
The room was so dirty. Dust was collected on the hair dryer cord like it was never been clean before. The hotel room is so old and dirty. The breakfast buffet is so poor. I would never come back to this hotel again. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone! Still don't understand why Tripadvisor would nominate this hotel as their favorite hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. We apologize that your stay with us was not up to your standards. We take guest concerns very seriously and notified all of the staff of your review. Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay so we can continue to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We book this hotel late, and was more or less dependent on the photographs shown. When we arrived, and checked in, we immediately knew we would not be happy with the rooms. We checked in and was assigned to a room on the 6th floor. we went up to the room and as suspected, we were turned off by what we saw. No carpet down the hall, the smell of alcohol as you entered the elevator. Very small rooms, antiquated furniture. The rooms appeared to be clean, but were below the standards we were used to. We then left the hotel to get something to eat. We ended up at another hotel because we were not happy with the accommodations provided. We attempted to cancel the reservations through Hotel.com, but the clerk said we were in the room when in fact we we not. We had to pay one nights penalty, and never used the room. We never returned to the Hotel, and we never intend to book a hotel like this again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Front Office Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. I am sorry your experience was not as we hoped it would have been. We are sorry you felt deceived by the photos online as this is not our intention. If there is anything we can do to make a guests experience a little better we are more than happy to accommodate. We require a forty eight hour cancellation for our hotel. If the reservation is not cancelled forty eight hours before check in there will be a penalty of the first night charge but the remainder of the stay is refunded. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked this inn on last notice for memorial day weekend. The price was right so we booked it. ALthough it was a two night minimum which we did not want but everywhere was full. So they sent us to the fifth floor and as soon as we walked in you could smell mildew. I started looking around and on the ceiling in the room and in the bathroom was black mold. You could feel the dampness in the air. When I paid closer attention I could see black mold inside the air vent.I was not going to stay there! The receptionists was really friendly and checked us in another room down the hall. So we went to this room and I think this room was an out of order room because the soap dishes were off the wall in the shower and the drywall ceiling in the bathroom was falling apart. But there was freshly painted walls and ceiling in the room so I didnt see any mold but smelt mildew a little. Well we had such a good time out of the room at the beach and all --we wanted to stay another night in Ft.Walton. so we booked another night , but they sent us to a different room because that room was booked ( hard to believe) this time we were going to the sixth floor. That room there was fine. Memo--NEVER book at the last minute. I wanted to post this because I know some people are extremely allergic to black mold. And this may help them. Im not sure what is going on at this hotel but They do have a mold/mildew problem they need to address instead of booking people in the rooms. I think the mold is in their air duct system for sure! It would help this hotel to invest in some dehumidifiers and air filters for each room. and stop trying to cover up the problem with paint.

Room Tip: Dont book at the last minute and ask questions about the building and maintenance if its not a comme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Front Office Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. It assists us greatly with improving guest experience. I am sorry there was mold in your room and happy the staff was able to move you to another room promptly. This is a problem we take very seriously and this is not the experience we want our guests to have. We appreciate you bring this to our attention and we will be on high alert. Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

VERY friendly and accommodating staff. Everyone was polite, smiled, helpful. From check in to check out, not one problem. Rooms and entire facility was VERY clean. Staff constantly working around the hotel to keep it nice and comfortable. Big breakfast, hot and cold w/ much to choose from. Close to the beach and other entertainment. Comfortable beds, pillows, and linens. Really clean bathrooms. I will stay there again. Booked through Tripshock which was great to work with and easy to use. This hotel is worth the price and more. Surprised how nice the place was. Can't say enough good things about it. Will most likely return on a yearly basis with my family.

Room Tip: view is great from the third floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed everything during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We look forward to your yearly visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I both agree that the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Even though this is an older hotel, the rooms were clean and maintained. You do need to walk about .2 of a mile to cross the road to the beach, because this is a very busy 4-lane highway. The breakfast was good with gravy, biscuits, and waffles that you make. We stayed on the 6th floor where we had the best view. There is new construction of a condo on the beach that will be partially blocking the view of the Gulf. So, the picture of the view across the street will need to be updated.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. The new hotel across the street will block a little bit of our view but will not affect the view from guest rooms. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were skeptical while booking because the hotel is not on the beach. Prices on the beach are just way more than we wanted to spend. The price at this hotel was very reasonable.The check in desk employees were pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and had all the amenities you need. The beds were comfortable. The A/C worked great and was very quiet. The free breakfast included sausage with biscuits and gravy. Room service came everyday. One thing about room service that impressed me was they didn't make up one of the beds because I left my laptop on it. It seems they do not invade your personal items. I found that to be respectful and appreciated it. Even though the hotel is not on the beach, it is right cross the street with easy access to the beach. It is close to everything you could want to do. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was helpful. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback on your stay. We hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Emerald Coast Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Coast Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Emerald Coast Inn And Suites
Emerald Coast Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Emerald Coast Hotel
Address: 1214 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Coast Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Emerald Coast Inn & Suites is located in beautiful Northwest Florida, on Okaloosa Island between Destin and Fort Walton Beach, Florida. Whether traveling for beach vacationing pleasure, business or military, Emerald Coast Inn & Suites is newly-remodeled in 2008 and offers comfortable and spacious rooms (6 floors, 59 rooms). Our rooms feature 1 king or 2 queen beds, direct dial phones, refrigerator & microwave, TV with remote control & HBO (we offer smoking or non-smoking rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Emerald Coast Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.