We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacation Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island

Okaloosa Island
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Midwest
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Vacation Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We LOVE Fort Walton Beach/Okaloosa Island....No crowds like neighboring destinations, due to no tall high rises. We love staying at the El Matador, at the very end of Santa Rosa, & nothing but undeveloped beach from there....Often we are the only ones on the beach :-)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    57
    12
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Harley Owners Group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The hotel is amazing. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are very clean! The manager was the best lady. She made me feel like family and treats all her guest like that and so dose her staff. I had a great time there and will be back next year and looking forward to it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Powder white beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The beaches on Okaloosa Island are unbelieveable mile after mile of Powder white beaches.We visted in October 2013 and temperature was still in mid 80's F and beaches were not crowded,you could find your own private spot on the vast beaches easily.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Getting to the island is so easy.Peaceful but still has a lot of different attractions.Restaurants on the island are very good.But you are so close to Destin & Fort Walton Beach for more shopping and restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation for whole family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We are enjoying this awesome place right now! The beach is absolutely beautiful! We are staying at Waterscapes which had awesome pools and splash pads for kids. Our 3 year old is in heaven and so is his mama:)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Okaloosa Island to your Saves list