We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sand so fine it squeaks when you walk on it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island

Okaloosa Island
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“sand so fine it squeaks when you walk on it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We've visited here 3 times and stayed on the Island twice. It is our favorite family vacation spot. You get the fabulous Destin beaches without the crowds or traffic. The Island has everything you need and the hassles of popular vacation spots are left behind in Destin. You can't go wrong!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    92
    16
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful white sand, no crowded beaches!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here because we enjoy a little bit of seclusion and this place offers more tranquility than other public areas. The sand was wonderful, white and soft and does not burn your feet like some other places. We could not do much swimming because the storms had kicked up some pretty wicked rip currents and there were danger signs up for swimming. All in all this place was great and while we are on our quest to find our ideal vacation spot this place definitely is in the top 3. If you come to Destin you definitely need to come to this portion of beach.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great beach with access to restaurants and much more! The beach is wonderful with such white sand.We went to the fishing pier and ate at the small place,they have burgers,hot dogs etc.,you can also walk out on the pier which is one of the longest in the U.S..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Island and beaches away from the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My family and I had an oceanfront condo this year and I cannot express enough the beauty of this area. Personally, it was my first time on the Emerald Coast and I would go back without hesitation. We stayed for a week and had a hard time leaving to come back home. We did have yellow and red flags most of the week due to the high tide and on/off storms but we were still able to take out floats/tubes and ride the waves pretty far out with no problems at all. Due to the high tide, the sand bars were a bit harder to get out to because of the seaweed coming in but again that didn't detour us from enjoying the water. The beaches are powdery white sand and the water is amazing. This area/stretch of beach is simply stunning and very clean. Not too many people out even in front of the big condos down Santa Rosa Blvd. and it was def. family friendly. There is a lot of active marine life as well. Great fishing off of the shore at night too. Witnessed several people bring in decent sized fish as well as very young sharks. Water was always clear and threat free during the day and never overcrowded. Early morning shell hunting was a must as well as night time walks for crab hunting. There is nothing more relaxing and peaceful than the sound of the ocean when you sit back and take it all in. Locally there are plenty of restaurants, fast food joints, small groceries, tourist shops, shopping malls, outlet stores, etc.The bridge to Destin is only about 5 minutes away and there are public beaches and bay access on both sides of the road you can stop in and visit other stretches of beach. We definitely plan on coming back here next year and many more after that.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“10 year anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here a couple weeks ago.. beautiful water.. wonderful powdery sand.. great sunsets and sunrises.. found some shells early in the morning.. even saw a sting ray in the water!! The beach was really clean too..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.