We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island

Okaloosa Island
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Memphis to N.O. to Fort Walton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Okaloosa Island is not has heavily stalked by the spring break crowd and can be enjoyed most of the year by both couples and families. Even when we are in Destin we drive over to the best seafood on the beach at Old Bay Steamer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    68
    13
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice beach, not pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited the island during the weekend after Labor Day in 2013 and stayed at Best Western for the first two nights of our vacation. The beaches had white sand and were clean. Unfortunately, the area is not very pet friendly. We had to bring our 70 lb dog on this trip because he acted out during his temperament test and got rejected from boarding. Our family made the decision to bring our dog with us the week before we traveled. We found out upon arrival that pets are not allowed on the beach and there aren't too many options for pet boarding or daycare in the area. Luckily, we had relatives in the area who allowed our dog to stay in their backyard during our visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Neat Little Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my family visit the beach at Okaloosa Island because it has the cleanest and most relaxing beaches to relax. It is a good balance of commercial tourism and being at the beach. Okaloosa is not as crowded as Destin and has better beaches.The pier by Anglers are a neat place to walk to and is a place where you can go fishing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice parts and not so nice parts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Mostly we were satisfied with our stay on the island, we felt safe and all that. There were some good areas with basic shops and a few restaurants. Some areas seemed dodgy though with at least three "gentlemen's clubs" in the area that we counted. But we mostly stayed at our condo on the beach and went to the grocery store, went out for golf. There is a sort of main street with some local shops that looked sort of cute, but nothing that really peaked our interest.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A nice compromise between beach and commercialism”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I lived on Okaloosa Island in an apartment on the beach from '03-04. Lots of memories as a young 20somethung there. What I like about Okaloosa Island is that it offers more selection of restaurants than Navarre Beach but with fewer tourists and crowding than Destin. Destin is nearby so a an outing for shopping won't mean a long car ride. The beach is the same beautiful beach the emerald coast is known for with white soft sand and emerald green blue waters.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.