We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island

Okaloosa Island
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

El matador is PERFECT, beach is clean, family and romance friendly, most relaxing week ever. Spend the money on the beach umbrelllas. It is tough to find perfect restaurant, but still perfect.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    68
    13
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“LOW CROWDS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Went to the beach with my husband over Memorial Day weekend and was extremely impressed with the beach...but most importantly we didn't have to fight a ton of people, so I was surprised! It's the best place in the area!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“"Island" Paradise of Peace and Quiet, low crowds,great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Okaloosa Island isn't a "real island" but it's close! Jutting off the strip on Hwy 98 in Ft. Walton Beach, we have been to this beach several times, and it is our ultimate favorite beach in the Destin area. The beaches are snow white, the gulf water a tourquoise blue or sea green, depending on the month you vacation in, no high rises (nothing over 6 stories) and peaceful. Funky shops in Ft. Walton, and all kinds of seafood places to dine in Ft. Walton and over to Destin and in between. Being beach bums for over 30 years, all up and down the gulf coast, Okaloosa Island is a true paradise. The best rates are after mid-August and the crowds are practially gone, and you can walk into almost any resturant and get a table asap!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, La
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Water was clear and nice, weather was beautiful, white sands and not a big crowd. Couldn't have asked for more!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senoia, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best beach in Ft. Walton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous beaches! Beautiful white sand. We've been going for several years and always in August which is hit or miss with the weather. We've been rained on 50% of the time for at least 1 day during our 4-5 day stay.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okaloosa Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.