We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Destin West Beach and Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1320 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We really loved the place. It was nice to have a place to stay that could fit my family and in-laws. Having a place with a kitchen with all the pots, pans and other amenities was a plus. Also the close proximity of beach, pools and other attractions was a plus. The only complaint was from my in-law that the their queen bed was so hard and uncomfortable, that they opted to sleep on the floor the last night there. Otherwise we would we would recommend this room to any one and we look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of Destin West! Because the unit you stayed in wasn't identified in your review, we are unable to determine if you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page. But we happy that you enjoyed your vacation and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    48
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
135
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have stayed at the Destin West many years ago but this year was our first year since they remodeled. It is gorgeous! The condos were great, pool, lazy river, jacuzzis (cleaned out completely every day) everything was immaculate! ALL the staff were so friendly and 100% efficient. Check out VRBO.com for great condo rental prices. The boardwalk is within walking distance and when you stay on the Bay Side, you have ALL the ammentities on the other side, plus the use of the Ramada pools and kiddie area (which is awesome!).
We will return next year! Great job Destin West!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review Because the unit you stayed in wasn't identified in your review, we are unable to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page. In any event we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This was my very first time to stay at the Destin West and I must say I will never stay anywhere else but the Destin West. The location was perfect, the room was excellent, and the staff were friendly. I booked room 214. The room was so convenient to the parking garage and still had a wonderful view. We didn't even use the elevators because of the stairwell being so close to the room and just one small flight of stairs. The pools were immaculately clean and there are several big pools heated for cool days. Having access to the beach and bay side was definitely a plus! The lazy river was so beautiful and bigger than I expected. Having all of this a few steps away along with sugary sand and emerald waters just made our vacation better than we ever expected!
My family included myself, my 18 year old daughter and 4 of her friends and my 3 yr old. The older girls loved the Destin West and are ready to go back this summer! My 3 yr old was ready to move in the condo forever!
Okaloosa island is definitely the place to stay! Convenient to everything. The room had everything you needed and space was perfect. I brought toilet paper, dish detergent and paper towels but condo was stocked with plenty to get you started. Plenty of silverware, very comfortable beds and spacious kitchen. Writing this makes me miss the beach and the Destin West. I hope to stay again this summer and would love to stay in 214 again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy that you and your family and friends enjoyed your condo, the resort and our local area. We hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 and my mother just left the resort on Monday. We had an amazing trip.we stayed in a newly remodled 1bedroom with bunk room. We had plenty of space for 5 people. The room was very well decorated, clean and fully stocked. The only problem we had was with our blender being broke, but the front desk was very helpful in trying to get us a new one. But I was impatient, and just asked our neighbor. The location is perfect exspecially if you like to go back and forth from destin to fort Walton. It's also great to have all the amenities of the surrounding resorts, there's always something to do in walking distance and it don't take long to get from one place to the other. You really don't have to leave the resort, other than to stock the kitchen with food!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoy the resort and the local amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is my 4th year staying at Destin West for the Fudpuckers volleyball tournament. Aside from them being a little strict on the hot tub rules (understandable though), I have zero complaints. Rooms are always in good shape and check-in and check-out is very easy. One great addition would be an airport shuttle or at least have a relationship with a taxi company. I always seem to find the one taxi that claims to have a $28 shuttle to the airport and it ends up having "hidden fees" making it $50 instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We really enjoy having the volleyball players stay with us, and look forward to the years to come. I've passed your suggestion about a shuttle service on to the front office staff. The pool areas are patrolled by the respective HOAs, not Destin West Vacations, so we don't have control over the rules and regulations. However, we do share guest feedback with those HOAs. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for four days at the end of April. Weather was nice for two days and then the rains came. We were not able to stand the cold water in the pools. We learned our lesson on coming during this time period. The condo was nice and very accessible. Destin and Fort Walton have great restaurants.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an ocean view. Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review. It looks as though your only dissatisfaction was due to the cooler weather. We apologize for that, it's been an unseasonably cooler Spring. Unfortunately we can't control the weather as much as we'd like to.

We wish you the best!

Destin West Vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is our favorite place to vacation on the Florida panhandle. The resort amenities are excellent and it is great to enjoy both the beach and bay in one property! Many units offer beach service. Some have garages with beach chairs and such. Some even have private jacuzzis. The bottom floor units open right out to the pool areas.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach or bay view!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so very much for posting your review! We are so glad that you love it here. Because the unit you stayed in wasn't identified in your review, we are unable to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page. In any event, we are so pleased to hear from you and we hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,

Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.