We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to stay at the Destin West again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Destin West Beach and Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1320 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to stay at the Destin West again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This was my very first time to stay at the Destin West and I must say I will never stay anywhere else but the Destin West. The location was perfect, the room was excellent, and the staff were friendly. I booked room 214. The room was so convenient to the parking garage and still had a wonderful view. We didn't even use the elevators because of the stairwell being so close to the room and just one small flight of stairs. The pools were immaculately clean and there are several big pools heated for cool days. Having access to the beach and bay side was definitely a plus! The lazy river was so beautiful and bigger than I expected. Having all of this a few steps away along with sugary sand and emerald waters just made our vacation better than we ever expected!
My family included myself, my 18 year old daughter and 4 of her friends and my 3 yr old. The older girls loved the Destin West and are ready to go back this summer! My 3 yr old was ready to move in the condo forever!
Okaloosa island is definitely the place to stay! Convenient to everything. The room had everything you needed and space was perfect. I brought toilet paper, dish detergent and paper towels but condo was stocked with plenty to get you started. Plenty of silverware, very comfortable beds and spacious kitchen. Writing this makes me miss the beach and the Destin West. I hope to stay again this summer and would love to stay in 214 again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are so happy that you and your family and friends enjoyed your condo, the resort and our local area. We hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    48
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
135
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 and my mother just left the resort on Monday. We had an amazing trip.we stayed in a newly remodled 1bedroom with bunk room. We had plenty of space for 5 people. The room was very well decorated, clean and fully stocked. The only problem we had was with our blender being broke, but the front desk was very helpful in trying to get us a new one. But I was impatient, and just asked our neighbor. The location is perfect exspecially if you like to go back and forth from destin to fort Walton. It's also great to have all the amenities of the surrounding resorts, there's always something to do in walking distance and it don't take long to get from one place to the other. You really don't have to leave the resort, other than to stock the kitchen with food!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoy the resort and the local amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is my 4th year staying at Destin West for the Fudpuckers volleyball tournament. Aside from them being a little strict on the hot tub rules (understandable though), I have zero complaints. Rooms are always in good shape and check-in and check-out is very easy. One great addition would be an airport shuttle or at least have a relationship with a taxi company. I always seem to find the one taxi that claims to have a $28 shuttle to the airport and it ends up having "hidden fees" making it $50 instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We really enjoy having the volleyball players stay with us, and look forward to the years to come. I've passed your suggestion about a shuttle service on to the front office staff. The pool areas are patrolled by the respective HOAs, not Destin West Vacations, so we don't have control over the rules and regulations. However, we do share guest feedback with those HOAs. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed for four days at the end of April. Weather was nice for two days and then the rains came. We were not able to stand the cold water in the pools. We learned our lesson on coming during this time period. The condo was nice and very accessible. Destin and Fort Walton have great restaurants.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an ocean view. Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review. It looks as though your only dissatisfaction was due to the cooler weather. We apologize for that, it's been an unseasonably cooler Spring. Unfortunately we can't control the weather as much as we'd like to.

We wish you the best!

Destin West Vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is our favorite place to vacation on the Florida panhandle. The resort amenities are excellent and it is great to enjoy both the beach and bay in one property! Many units offer beach service. Some have garages with beach chairs and such. Some even have private jacuzzis. The bottom floor units open right out to the pool areas.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach or bay view!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so very much for posting your review! We are so glad that you love it here. Because the unit you stayed in wasn't identified in your review, we are unable to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page. In any event, we are so pleased to hear from you and we hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,

Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Destin West has been a destination for my, two daughters, and I for the last two trips to the beach. We have had an awesome experience each visit. It was summer 2013 the first time we visited and they lazy river and easy access to pools and the beach made it easy to keep cool. Our spring break visit in 2014 was a little cold for ocean swimming, but their were several hot tubs and heated pools to fill the void. We also spent more time at the shops just down the beach. The pier had everything you could ever need for fishing, so don't worry about bringing your gear from home, unless you are a pro. The access to dining was as good as it gets, because I was able to walk to a different dining facility each evening and get first class seafood.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on your recent stay at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort. Since the unit you stayed in isn't identified in your review, we are unable to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page. But in any event we are so glad you and your daughters enjoyed your vacation. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We arrived at the resort after dark and was very confused about where to check in. Once we found the resort office, the clerk did not give precise instructions as to get to our condo. We were lost in the resort in the dark with rain & wind! We called the clerk to help us and the phone went straight to a recording. When we did get in touch with her, she ended up giving us directions to the wrong condo. Once we finally made it to the Penthouse 1, it was little less than average compared to other condos we've stayed in. The sleeper sofa was tough to put in and out, there was no extra blankets nor pillows for the sleeper sofa, the patio furniture was broken so we could not enjoy the view from the balcony, there is a open window between the bedroom and bathroom--so no privacy while showering!
Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: the check in is not on the beachside--you have to go across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Feedback like yours is very helpful, it gives an insight on how we can improve our guest's experiences. We're very sorry about your check in experience. The physical address of our onsite office is printed on our confirmation letters, but we are large resort and it's understandable how in the dark it can be confusing. Especially since we have 2 buildings on the Gulfside with similar unit numbers.
We have addressed your concerns with the front desk staff in order to avoid these issues in the future. Again, we are so sorry that you didn't have a smooth check in process. When one of our employees came out to escort you to your unit we hope that showed that we really do care about our guests and their vacations.

I've personally visited Villa Penthouse 1 and have spoken with the housekeeping inspector and maintenance technician that inspected your unit pre-arrival. The patio furniture is in good working order, so I'm not sure what happened when you were staying the unit. We do have maintenance on staff 24/7 and can respond to any issues at any time. The hinges on the sofa bed have been greased and we hope that stops the difficulty of pulling it out.

We wish you the best in the future and thank you for your review,

Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.