We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Destin West Beach and Bay Resort to your Saves list
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1320 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were in Osprey penthouse 3. Liked how you didn't have to keep track of keys and had a code for the door. Space was good. Beds were horrible. No mattress pads on beds--sheets directly on mattresses. King mattress top was separated and had rolls in it. Master bedroom was only bedroom with a ceiling fan. No light over dining room table. It was close to the lazy river and looked over the pool and was great for grandkids. Didn't like how kids over ran the lazy river running through it and throwing balls around and diving off inner tubes. Not enough supervision from staff and parents at dark times.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    77
    30
    22
    24
See reviews for
211
28
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

THE GOOD:
corner unit, great amenities for the kids
THE BAD:
*was never told to bring all things to fully furnish a home*very poorly furnished kitchen*toaster full of crumbs*dirty dishes in dishwasher on our arrival*no kitchen supplies*cookware was: 3 sauce pans which is NOT meant to scramble eggs or fry bacon in!!*no sheets for sofa bed-only bedspread available appeared to have body fluid stains*bathmats in master looked as if they had not been washed in months*NO clothes hangers in closet*light switches don't control lamps properly in master*pitifully uncomfortable living room furniture*sofa bed tried one night-had to sleep balled up on the love seat sized sofa instead-very pitiful sleep for a 6' man

THE RESULT:
Will stay at another location in the future

Room Tip: rent from an individual and not a management company
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing Destin West Beach and Bay Resort.

We're sorry to say that the unit you stayed in is not managed by us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Trip Advisor page. It looks like you rented from another firm or perhaps a private owner. We are very sorry that you did not have a perfect experience during your stay at the Resort.
Please keep us mind for your next vacation, we are the onsite management company and strive to offer the best vacation experience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

my parents rented this condo for a week long trip for us all with my two sons. being from the gulf coast area, i was blown away by how nice this place was, as it exceeded all my expectations. this place was so nice. so many great amenities ...the pools alone will keep you busy the whole time you are there. my kids (ages 5 and 12) especially loved the lazy river. there is an arcade within walking distance, and if you buy groceries when you arrive, you could easily stay here for a few days without even having to leave the property. our unit was gulf facing (a MUST if you can reserve one of these type units...there are only a few...like 2 per floor.) we sat and watched the dolphins every morning. i literally am counting down the days till we can return. well never stay anywhere else in destin again.

Room Tip: bring your own pillows! that is my one and only complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first trip to the Fort Walton Beach area and we could not have been more pleased. We rented directly from the owner via VRBO. Personally I love this method of renting because you are provided with multiple pictures so you see exactly what the unit you are renting looks like. And the owner has a vested interest in making sure you are happy. Our unit was a penthouse unit in the Sandpiper building on the Bay side of the complex. Even though those buildings are older, the unit was spacious and well maintained. LOVED having the meticulously maintained pool area just downstairs. The pool area was cleaned every morning and the folks that work the area during the day are unobtrusive, helpful and polite. We had a beautiful view of the bay and the pool area from our balconies. We arrived rather late in the evening hungry and tired. It was great to have access to a delicious seafood dinner at the boardwalk entertainment complex just a block away. Located on Okaloosa island between Fort Walton Beach and Destin, delicious food and great entertainment are never far away. There were some excellent restaurants in FWB and right on the island too. We didn't spend a lot of time in Destin, but we did appreciate the laid back and not too crowded atmosphere of the island. Another plus was Fudpucker's Water Sports located right next to the resort. We rented waverunners and a pontoon boat and they were excellent to work with. It couldn't have been more convenient and those activities were the highlight of the trip. There is a skybridge over the main road with elevators on both sides. This makes travel between the beach and bay safe and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The resort was great, there are several pools, a lazy river, lots of kid activities. The rooms on the other hand could use some upgrades, especially for what they cost. I stayed in the Villas, on business with a couple others, and all our rooms were about the same. The rickety iron bed definitely needs replacing, I thought it would fall apart every time I rolled over. Also, there is an interesting opening or window between the bathroom and bedroom area. This definitely needs to be closed off. It does have shutters but they do open which is weird.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time ,destin has white sugar sand fishing and awesome restaurants ,u can always find live music and its extremely relaxing good time , u will love this place, loved the shrip had lots of happy hours at the hogs breath is beautiful sit out side get a breeze and appetizers half price yum ,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed in room 215 gulfside and the room was clean...but the ice maker was broke, and contacted the front office and said they would send someone to fix it. When we checked out the ice maker still was not fixed and all the lady at the front desk could say is I'm sorry.
When your at the beach you Need ice! For the price of the condo i expected the ice maker to work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We’ve had some technical issues with our Trip Advisor page, and Destin West Vacations sincerely apologizes to all of the travelers who have posted reviews and have not been responded to. Your reviews mean a lot to us, and we are working on posting a response to every single reviewer. Destin West Vacations is under new management and we look forward to the future with our Trip Advisor family and guests.

Thank you very much for sharing your concerns. We sincerely appreciate feedback like yours as it helps us identify improvement opportunities. We are very sorry about the ice maker not working during your entire stay. You are absolutely right, when you're on vacation at the beach ice is a must-have. Our goal is to ensure that issues like these don't interrupt our guest's vacations.

Thank you so much for reviewing Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, managed professionally by Destin West Vacations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
13.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Destin - Miramar Beach
0.7 mi away
Waterscape Condominiums
Waterscape Condominiums
#5 of 18 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.