We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Princess Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Island Princess Condominiums to your Saves list
Island Princess Condominiums
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   520 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32458   |  
Hotel amenities
Forney, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in Condo 102 bottom level. It was clean and very nice. I will definitely stay here again. I liked the convenience of being on first floor. NO view of the beach, but the location of condo was perfect. Beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Bottom floors have a view of the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a wonderful west side view of the gulf. This condo was very clean. It did need to have extra paper towels and dish soap. It had almost anything we needed. Definitely use the side elevator as too many turns to carry your luggage.

Room Tip: Bring extra paper goods
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed at several condos in the Oakaloosa Island area, and this is the 3rd one we've stayed at. It has a nice 2 covered parking garage, which for me is a plus. This is a 7 story condo with 3 elevators. We booked 608, right off the center elevator in the middle of the complex. An excellent view from the balcony. The room was very nice, well decorated, clean. It had a bath and a 1/2, a master bedroom, 2 bunk beds built into the wall in the hallway and the couch let out into a double bed. The kitchen was nice too, although we did have to turn down the freezer section of the 'fridge.
Yes, the elevators are slow...... especially during "peak hours" but it's not too bad. After all.... you are on vacation, right?!?
The pool area is real nice, with a hot tub off to one side. I didn't use the health club, but there is one there.
The beach pass was a nice touch, you get 2 chairs and an umbrella each day during your stay. Makes it nice to sit out and enjoy the Gulf!
There are restaurants close by on the Island, and Destin is about 8 to 10 minutes away. There is a PUBLIX close by too, so you can pick up a few groceries if you need them.
All in all, it's a nice place to stay. Nothing fancy, but it does the job.
Am I going back next year? You bet!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed a week at the Island Princess in a three bedroom three bath condo. It was a great place to stay with a family. The pool was clean. The property overall was clean and it was not overcrowded. The beach attendants were awesome. They were very attentive and helpful. The workout room is small but they do have an eliptical, two tread mills and some weights. The pool is clean but small. We didn't spend time at the pool though. If you want a view of the ocean, don't stay on the ground floor. The ground floor's view is blocked by the dunes. We had a wonderful view on the 4th floor. We stayed in 401. Keep in mind that these are condos. This is not a resort. There is beach service for chairs and umbrellas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked unit #604 via Southern Vacations for 6/23-27. 2BR/2BA unit was very comfortable, not lavish, but we were happy with the accommodations. Wonderful views: we saw dolphins in the ocean from our balcony the first day. Just know that while the kitchenware and cookware is provided, you should plan to bring all the "consumables" you might normally use, like foil, plastic wrap, trash bags, coffee filters, paper towels and toilet paper (they provide a bit of dishwasher detergent and dish liquid). And bring everything you might need that is edible, such as salt/pepper, sweetener packets, cooking spray, condiments: the kitchen was completely empty of any such things.

The beach service (umbrella and two lounge chairs) was included in our fee. At IP, they start placing the umbrellas and chairs around 7:30am, but you are required to line up to get them assigned to you, first come first served, promptly at 9am (you give the attendant your last name and unit #). I waited in line for about 15 minutes on 6/25, but was not able to get an umbrella on the first row nearest the water, where we could easily watch our children from the shade of our umbrella stand. Bummer. Many guests in line were grumbling about this set-up, which apparently is NOT how other beachfront properties along Okaloosa handle it. Perhaps this is how it works in peak summer weeks when this property is completely full.

The beaches are of course wonderful, but I was a little surprised how much "June grass" (google it if you are not familiar with it) would intermittently appear in the ocean. Evenings of 6/25 and 6/26, the goopy moss was really too thick for me or my family to enjoy the ocean. Other mornings it was not as noticeable. It may be heavier at high tide - I just don't know. That was probably our family's biggest unanticipated disappointment, although I was told by other guests that the sea grass/moss is not appreciably worse at IP than anywhere else along Okaloosa or in Destin. I'm thankful they clean it up each morning, so the washed-up grass does not accumulate on the beach.

After driving in the heavy late June traffic all along Hwy 98 in Destin, I did not regret staying in the much more peaceful area of Okaloosa along Santa Rosa Blvd.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wow! I don't see how the Island Princess can rate reviews this high. I think it is probably because those writing the reviews have stayed nowhere else on Okaloosa Island. We booked a 3/3 for the Bowlegs weekend on May 30th. I've stayed in other condos on Okaloosa but this was my first experience with the Island Princess. We were put in unit #409. Closet doors were off the hinges, the sheets were threadbare, the bed (just a full-size in the Master BR) was like a rock, the ceiling leaked from the suite above, the furniture was so old and worn it was almost unusable, not all electrical outlets worked, TV in one BR didn't work, picture on TV in LR was so dim it couldn't be viewed, there was no ice machine on the premises, the elevators were small and slow, and the entire unit was smaller than comparable properties. Other than that - our stay was wonderful. I don't know if #409 is an exception to the rest of the units in the condo but compared to other condos in the area - it was substandard. We did enjoy the weekend but I will never stay at this condo again. There are just too many better ones in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

try www.sun-sand.cc - owner is very nice to work with. room 514 island princess well kept and clean. recently painted. nicely decorated. balcony faces ocean. 5th floor excellent level to have good view of ocean well over sand dune. can see ocean through sliding glass door/wall from living/dining/kitchen area. 2nd sliding glass door from master bedroom out to balcony also. master bedroom also has nice large window facing ocean. just walk over the wooden walkway over the sand dune thru the pretty white snow and ur at the beautiful emerald green blue ocean. watched dolphins swim by from balcony many days. comes with 2 beach chairs and saw 8 smaller string rays from under the umbrella right out in front of us. located to side of pool below so no pool noise rising up. wifi. washer dryer. 2 bedroom/2 bath. large flat screen and tv in each bedroom. AC worked great. close to elevator. outdoor grill area. pool/sauna. fitness center room. nice nice nice. great price compared to others I looked into.

Room Tip: for ocean view 3rd floor or higher. 514
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach...
#10 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterscape Condominiums
Waterscape Condominiums
#7 of 18 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Princess Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Princess Condominiums

Address: 520 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32458
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Princess Condominiums 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Princess Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Rentals At Island Princess Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Princess Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.