We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 212” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Oats Condominiums

Save Saved
You added Sea Oats Condominiums to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Oats Condominiums
1114 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Destin, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unit 212”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Like many other condos on Okaloosa Island, Sea Oats is a bit older (1983) and each unit is owned and maintained, decorated, equipped by individuals so there can be variation is quality and amenities. No doubt that much depends on the diligence and responsiveness of the owner or designated management agency. I stayed in 212 for two months Oct-Dec 2013 and was quite happy with the cleanliness, furnishings, location and price as well as the owner support. This is not a Gulf-front unit but it's about a two minute walk around the corner of the building. There are newer, more modern condos on the island but you will also pay a good bit more for them. Honestly, I found Sea Oats to be a great vacation residence for couples and families who are looking for a good balance of price, amenities and location. I can't speak for every unit but I've seen several and, overall, I've had a positive experience.

Room Tip: Gulf-front units, especially above 4th floor have a great view but also get the most traffic and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    3
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We rented condo #605 at Sea Oats through Real Joy. Staff from Real Joy and Sea Oats were excellent and very prompt with remedying any issues that came up (there were a few) and everyone we met was very friendly. Other positives are the location and cleanliness of the condo. Negatives: Mattresses are EXTREMELY firm and have seen better days. There were two water leaks during our stay, one from our condo into the condo below us and one from the condo above us. Also, the main water line burst and water was shut off for half a day. Again, the staff handled all situations very well. Doubt we will stay in this condo again because of the mattresses.....just can't enjoy a vacation if can't get any sleep. But we will probably return to Sea Oats......just choose a different condo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Overall it is a cute, cozy condo for a decent price. With that being said, my family will never return here for several reasons. 1) the walls are so thin you can hear everything going on outside. I was awake numerous times in the middle of the night because people decided to swim/party in the pool at 2am or even 5am. 2) there is no one to enforce the 'quiet time' so I really felt like we were staying at a spring break type hotel rather than a family place. 3) the toaster is so old it doesn't work. Not a huge deal, but an inconvenience. Come on owners...splurge and buy a new toaster! 4) the refrigerator is falling apart. The first night we learned not to put any glass groceries in the side if the door...goodbye glass jar of pickles! 5) the dryer takes over 2 hours to actually dry a load. This explains why our bath towels were still damp when we first arrived.
Beautiful view and decent price for beach front, but I will NOT be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our families 20+ time to Ft. Walton/Destin but first time at Sea Oats. We booked through VRBO which has never let us down until now. The price was right so my mom booked unit 111. We knew it wasn't beach front but were ok with it. We got in sat night around 7-8. We were pulling out bed linens from the master closet and noticed they were soaked! Turns out the first bathroom shower LEAKS into the closet/walls! So that left 4 people using 1 shower! Then we discovered the air conditioner/water heater drain was blocked and leaking UNDER the ceramic tile into the first bedroom! Then we noticed water under the windows in the master bedroom as well! We contacted the owner's daughter who said she'd send out a repairman the next day. She apologized and that was the last I'd 'hear' from her. The repairman finally showed up later in the day while we were out and 'steamed cleaned' the wet areas of carpet and unclogged the drain but he said there have been problems here before. So I'm sure there is mold ALL over that condo!! I had to call again the next day because there were issues getting our 'included' beach chairs but my phone call was never returned, or the one prior to that! (turns out we just used the owners last name and we were fine). I emailed 'Hope' telling her our disappointment and she did respond. She stated that the last renters had no issues and she's never had any complaints, perhaps they were blind?!?! Her father is in charge of reimbursements but I've yet to hear back from her! It made for a stressful start to our vacation but from ALL the other guests we met that stayed there, they said Sea Oats was pleasant and they are working on remodeling. If you're looking to stay here perhaps use Sea Oats rental company or even VRBO for units 404, 308. We met nice families that stayed there and said they were very clean! Do NOT use VRBO # 132212!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Our stay at Sea Oats was fantastic. We found the condo to be large, well stocked with games, books, and kitchenware. The pool was super. Our family was thrilled with the view and found the location to be central to all the activities we wanted to do. When we plan our next vacation, we will call Beacon Resorts and request the same unit on the 7th floor. Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Once again, Beacon Resorts hosted us for a great stay at Sea Oats. We have stayed many times and are always treated like family. Once we had car trouble and the office staff helped us find help and made sure we were OK. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are always clean and comfy, and the kitchens well stocked and efficient. We usually go with the entire family - grandkids and all. We have lots of room to play around the pool. We love to stay on the first floor where we can sit out by the pool and watch the kids play, and we can easily run back and forth to the room. The location is great and the property is not cramped like many. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere and we so enjoy the stays there. Thank you Beacon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierfield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed at Sea Oats many times and have always had great experiences. The rooms are large and always clean. I am surprised and skeptical of some of the reviews here; we have never had any of these complaints and neither have our friends who have stayed here. We especially enjoy the huge pool and pool deck that is large enough for a crowd and our large family. The location is great and the staff always friendly and accommodating. The beach is beautiful there and it is never too crowded to enjoy. We regularly take our entire extended family to Sea Oats for a big family vacation and it is awesome. Sea Oats is one of our favorite places to go to relax and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Oats Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Oats Condominiums

Address: 1114 Santa Rosa Blvd., Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Oats Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Oats Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Oats Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.