We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waters Edge #605” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waters Edge Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   590 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Waters Edge #605”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We rented Waters Edge 605 from Southern Vacation Rentals. Their site is easy to use to make and pay for reservations. In addition they have a great "app" that provides information needed during your stay. This was our first trip to this area of the Panhandle and we traveled in late September. We researched the area and this complex met our needs for a low-key vacation for adults. It was low rise, has covered parking, nice pools, faces the gulf and has great beach access. This condo is toward the west end of the building on the top floor and did not overlook the pool which was a plus for us. The condo was nicely decorated with a beach theme. The kitchen was well stocked although we didn't do much cooking. The condo was clean but showing a little wear. The upholstered furniture and carpets could use some cleaning. The view from the balcony was great - we saw dolphins several times. The sunset was not viewable from the balcony this time of year - the building to the west blocks the view so we had to go down to the beach to see sunsets. We enjoyed the free beach service chairs and umbrellas.

Room Tip: Building has six floors, higher floors have better view of Gulf. Room 605 is "gulf front"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great condo , Grady gave me a price that u just couldn't turn down , and it was great , so glad I pick Wateredge , taking whole family next year . The pools were great ,the Beach was clean , the water was emerald green , location was great , short drive to anything u would wont to do,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family of 6 just returned from Unit 415 which was a great location overlooking the boardwalk and pool and the unit was well stocked and very pretty. This room was right near the elevator which made unloading the car on that level so easy as the elevator was right there. The grassy areas are well maintained and a real nice area where little children can play. The pool is plenty big and we never had a problem getting a chair. My one complaint is having to go down early each day to stake out the beach chairs, the nice young man remembers you but your name is not on the chairs so it's first-come first-serve so far as where you are sitting for the day. The one bedroom unit with bunks worked out fine for us, and having two bathrooms is awesome. The water was great, even though we had red flags, and we never had a problem with jellyfish or seaweed even tho it stormed the first night. We will always try to stay here when we go to Ft. Walton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I have stayed at this resort three times, and we will be going again in May 2013. I have researched other places to stay, and this is the best by far. We usually stay in unit 110, and have had only good experiences. The resort is on a nice stretch of beach and has two nice pools. We prefer to stay on Okaloosa Island as opposed to Destin, as it is much quieter. We typically drive to Destin every evening to eat dinner after playing in the sun all day.
We have stayed in two different condos and they have both been very nice. The maintenance people are always busy working to keep the condos looking nice. The same maintenance person has been there all the times we have stayed. It's like a home away from home when we see the same people working year after year. Unit 110, in particular, is very nice and suited for a family with children. It is on the first floor. The pool is literally right outside the patio, which makes it nice for the kids. It is very handy to throw towels and pool toys over the fence rather than carrying them from a higher unit. We have never had any problems with noise. It is a very quiet and relaxing place.
In summary, I don't have a single negative thing to say about Waters Edge. It is in a great location and a lovely place to spend a vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley City, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location was nice as well as the beach, but as for the room we were in, it could have used a bit more cleaning. It started off as a disaster. Our door code was wrong. And of course, no one would answer at any of the number provided. 2 hours later, we finally got in touch with someone who fixed the problem. But standing outside with your luggage on a cart with3 cranky children that just rode 11 hours was not fun! I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a wonderful experience on our 5 day vacation. The condo (615) was a 2 bedroom that slept 7 of us very comfortably. It was exceptionally clean and had a great view. We could see dolphins swimming from the balcony. We had breakfast on the patio every morning overlooking the ocean. The beach had seaweed on it every day, however hurricane Isaac just went through so it was hard to maintain. Be careful for the washed up jellyfish on the beach. Request rental stopped by to make sure everything was to our liking and even called us to see if we needed anything. We had great service and everyone we encountered was polite and friendly. Destin is about 15 minutes away where there are lots of restraunts and shops. We went parasailing through just Chute Me- great experience. My family had a great time and we will be back again.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and the noise from the ocean was loud when we were on the balcony, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a great week at Waters Edge!! It is in a quiet location, but only about 10 minutes from Destin, where there are many restaurants. We loved the white beaches and clear water. Seaweed comes and goes, but it's worth swimming through to get to the sandbar. We saw many fish and even a starfish. The dolphins were fantastic, even jumping out of the water, and the folks in kayaks could paddle really close to them. Also, whole schools of fish would leap out of the water at once, but this was a bit unnerving, so we got out at that point. The beach service is convenient, but plan on being outside at 8:00 to get your assigned chairs and umbrella. You can pay to get additional chairs and umbrellas and they will set up for large groups if you need it. The condo was nice, but the room with the bunk beds is tiny. The other 2 bedrooms were very nice and the view from the balcony was great. Sadly, we received the news about the 14 year-old girl who was killed by a shark not far from Destin shortly after we arrived home.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. The fourth floor was great because the parking garage had 4 levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Beach Resort

Address: 590 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Rentals At Waters Edge Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Waters Edge Condominiums

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.