We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a few inconveniences.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Edge Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Edge Beach Resort to your Saves list
Waters Edge Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   590 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Whitley City, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More than a few inconveniences.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location was nice as well as the beach, but as for the room we were in, it could have used a bit more cleaning. It started off as a disaster. Our door code was wrong. And of course, no one would answer at any of the number provided. 2 hours later, we finally got in touch with someone who fixed the problem. But standing outside with your luggage on a cart with3 cranky children that just rode 11 hours was not fun! I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isanti, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a wonderful experience on our 5 day vacation. The condo (615) was a 2 bedroom that slept 7 of us very comfortably. It was exceptionally clean and had a great view. We could see dolphins swimming from the balcony. We had breakfast on the patio every morning overlooking the ocean. The beach had seaweed on it every day, however hurricane Isaac just went through so it was hard to maintain. Be careful for the washed up jellyfish on the beach. Request rental stopped by to make sure everything was to our liking and even called us to see if we needed anything. We had great service and everyone we encountered was polite and friendly. Destin is about 15 minutes away where there are lots of restraunts and shops. We went parasailing through just Chute Me- great experience. My family had a great time and we will be back again.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and the noise from the ocean was loud when we were on the balcony, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a great week at Waters Edge!! It is in a quiet location, but only about 10 minutes from Destin, where there are many restaurants. We loved the white beaches and clear water. Seaweed comes and goes, but it's worth swimming through to get to the sandbar. We saw many fish and even a starfish. The dolphins were fantastic, even jumping out of the water, and the folks in kayaks could paddle really close to them. Also, whole schools of fish would leap out of the water at once, but this was a bit unnerving, so we got out at that point. The beach service is convenient, but plan on being outside at 8:00 to get your assigned chairs and umbrella. You can pay to get additional chairs and umbrellas and they will set up for large groups if you need it. The condo was nice, but the room with the bunk beds is tiny. The other 2 bedrooms were very nice and the view from the balcony was great. Sadly, we received the news about the 14 year-old girl who was killed by a shark not far from Destin shortly after we arrived home.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. The fourth floor was great because the parking garage had 4 levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Currently staying in a 3 bedroom condo-ground floor. Arrived to find a well used condo in a great location-not very clean in our unit-fruit flies, Mosquitos, some water damage, sandy and humidity issues, not to mention a broken screen door that was never fixed after our initial request. The rooms are nice sizes although some genious decided to put bunk beds underneath a ceiling fan! What? And the pool, although large, seems open to anyone and everyone on the island-I even saw a man spitting his tobacco in the pool as he floated around spilling his beer everywhere! So nasty! thank god for the beautiful beach and some Clorox wipes-just be prepared to tip the umbrella boy that rules the beachfront if you don't want to walk far to your daily "free" beach chair and umbrella. He's a pushover for large parties with multiple families that like to camp out in groups and will front him 20+ bucks extra a day to set up their encampments. So far most guests here have been super friendly but there's always going to be the occasional drunk and numb nuts that requires a nasty look to get a clue. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again-loved the beach-kids loved the jetted tub and fishing pier down the road-boogie boarding is a blast-
Most everything was in working order-

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Loved, loved, loved our stay in unit 116 at Waters Edge. We stayed the last week of June, right when T. S. Debby was trying to figure things out. The first couple of days were double red flags, & gray skies, but by Monday-gorgeous! So glad we stuck it out (some families left). The unit itself was very nice. New flat screens in all rooms, new bed in master, new (huge) dining table, new(er) couches in LR, new carpet in some rooms (pics on website aren't up to date for this). Very tall ceilings, ceiling fans in all rooms, plenty of cookware & dishes, nice sized pantry, big bathrooms. The bunk room was just that-big enough for bunk beds, no closet. But it was fine for the kids to play xbox & sleep in. Master was very big. King bed, plus enough room on the floor for air mattress (instead of pull out sofa in LR). The unit does need a little spiffing up-painting, dusting of the ceilings & fans, replacing some baseboards, but nothing to keep me from recommending it to others. But the best part, for me, was the location of the unit. First floor, next to the boardwalk that leads to the beach & to the pool entrance made everything so convenient. Great, somewhat protected grassy area for kids to play right in front of our patio. 116 is 3rd from the end of the complex so it was private. No one went by our unit except the family in the end unit. The "public" access point for the rest of the complex/elevator access was actually down past another unit so there was no reason for extra people to walk by. We could see the pool from our patio (which let our oldest head out if we weren't ready yet) & our youngest used the gazebo area to play while we drank our coffee on the patio. So much better letting them have a little freedom instead of being in an upper unit where I wouldn't be comfortable letting them leave w/o an adult. We rented through Southern Vacation Rentals. No problems at all. Everyone I spoke with before vacation was very helpful. I really hope to return for another vacation here, & wouldn't hesitate to rent the same unit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

My family and myself stayed here the first week of June and had a wonderful stay! Watersedge is in the perfect location with all rooms having a Ocean view. The beach is gorgeous and swimming pools were nice. The only issues I had with our condo was neither one of the DVD players seemed to work and the screen on the doors really needed replacing but those were minor issues because we rarely were there with all the things to do in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

It really depends on what rental company you use. We were disappointed in Resort Quest. We have stayed with them on and off since they were Abbott Resorts. They no longer supply shampoo, conditioner or lotion. For a unit that sleeps 8, there was only 2 rolls of toilet paper and nothing additional. No paper towels and one packet of dishwasher soap - but they want you to run it for them when you leave. The TV's are all old, no a flat screen in the unit. With airline restrictions it would be nice not to have to worry about shampoo etc.

We had a great time but for the $$ it should have had more!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Edge Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Beach Resort

Address: 590 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waters Edge Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Rentals At Waters Edge Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Waters Edge Condominiums

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Edge Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.