We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute! Cute! Everything is small!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1299 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cute! Cute! Everything is small!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked a King bed family suite, which means you get a king size bed, with bunks and a separation wall. The kids bunks have an xbox 360, so bring some games for them. It also has 2 really cute bean bag chairs. The room comes with a small "mini" fridge, and the smallest coffee maker I have ever seen. The breakfast that came complimentary with the room type is worth the extra money. Fresh fruit daily, eggs, bacon, pretty much anything you would want for breakfast. Our room was ocean front, which means we overlooked the pool, with the cutest lazy river ever. It is really small lazy river, at times we felt a bit dizzy going around it, but again, it was a blast as the ocean was full of June grass, and seaweed, everyday, you can not control that, but the pool helped. Chairs do not come with the resort, so if you like to go to the beach, be prepared to rent daily, or bring your own. The Gulfarium is a short walk down the beach. About 5 mins. We chose to drive as it was crazy hot the day we went. Worth the visit, it was a lot of fun to see the show. There is a Publix 1 mile from the resort (west) of the resort, easy access. The Pier you can walk to, there are 3 restaurants, we did not eat at them as we ventured in to Destin to shop and check out the boardwalk. If you go to destin, leave a bit early to avoid the traffic. Or just avoid the weekends.

For the money you spend to stay in Destin or Fort Walton, North America really needs to get with the all-inclusive program, more entertainment at night would have been great, meaning more activiities for teenagers. Not much happening at the resort at night, movies again geared to the younger group. It was cool that the movie was played outdoors on the big screen. The video game room, weak!

Overall, the whole resort was cute, the lazy river,fun small and cute. Will we be back, maybe, we will look for a more all inclusive resort for the money. This resort is great for "short"stays.

Enjoy this cute spot!

Room Tip: This is only a 5 floor hotel, face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    37
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
104
37
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vance, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

From the time talked to the resort on the phone to confirm my reservation until the morning we left to come home I was more than pleased with my experience. We booked to stay 7 nights, but ended up extending our stay to 8 nights because we just didn't want to leave. It was myself, my wife, and 2 kids, (6 and 3 years old). I spoke with Shay at the front desk on the phone and made a point to find her upon arrival to handle my check in just to see if she was as nice and helpful in person as on the phone. She shook my hand and treated me as if we had known each other for years. As we waited on our room to be ready (because we were 2 hours early) we were able to have full use of the resort and had dinner at Riptides Restaurant inside, which was wonderful as well. As I was unloading our luggage out front I was greeted by Keith (the manager at the resort) to check on us as we were waiting to make sure we were being well taken care of and to see if he could do anything for us. Managing all that goes on at the resort has gotta keep a man busy, but he always made time to speak and even my 6 year old talked about him being a nice man. The room was spotless upon arrival and the housekeeping did a great job on their daily cleaning. I have never been at a place of this size that it seemed no matter what time of the day there was always someone cleaning somewhere, whether it was the lobby, pool area, bathrooms, etc... This is the first pool bathroom that i would go in and out of barefooted and not think a thing about it. I had an issue with the clothes dryer at 10pm one night because it wouldn't take my quarters. I went to the front desk to let them know at 10pm remember thinking they will resolve the problem in the morning. No sooner did i talk to her she had a maintenance man standing there who went back up with me, fixed the issue immediately and paid for my clothes to be dried. Altogether took less than 10 minutes. You don't get that at most places especially at 10pm at night. We ate at the restaurant at least 5 times including breakfast and dinner, and had great food and friendly service ever time. You also if you want don't even have to leave your lounge chair at the pool. They will bring you drinks and food right to your chair and have wait staff continuously walking around checking up on you. We even had a waitress come all the way down to the beach a few times when they were a little slow at the restaurant. Didn't see that coming at all. And another bonus is my kids ate every meal free as long as me and my wife ate as well as long as you are inside the restaurant . They also have things for the kids on a daily basis, whether it was a pirate doing activities with the kids, mermaids swimming around the pool, or movies on the big inflatable screen at night next to the pool. They seem to have something about every day. I still don't feel like I have said enough because I was just really impressed with the facility and the friendliness of everyone on the staff as if they were all glad to be there and enjoyed their jobs. I read reviews before my arrival of staff not being knowledgeable and also unfriendly, but I didn't find that no matter which way I turned. I believe it probably took a little while for all the staff to get settled in at their jobs at a busy resort especially as many things as they have going on, but they seem to have their A game going on now. We stayed on the 5th floor in a King Suite and put my 2 boys on the fold out couch bed and it worked out fine for us. We could lay in the bed in the morning and see the waves coming in. All in all it was a wonderful 8 days and can't wait to do it again. Oh and by the way, the entire front desk staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. But Shay just stuck out in my mind and she is a great asset to the resort.

Room Tip: Top floor for the view, and personally I gotta have gulf view with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

DATE: 20-25 July 2014
LOCATION: On the Beach, Close to Gulfarium and Restaurants
OVERALL: A great stay at a great place
EXTERIOR: Clean, well landscaped, plenty of lighting. Hotel is only 2 months old. A walkway to the beach featured both stairs and ramp for handicapped beach goers.
INTERIOR: The interior is very clean and well maintained. A good sized lobby/sitting area offers a great place to hang out, watch television, read or surf the Net. The Bar and restaurant are both located here also.
ROOM: The room was very clean. It had all the standard items you expect, fridge, coffee maker, table w/chairs. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the water was hot.
FITNESS: Small fitness room with treadmills, elliptical, bike, and dumbbells and a television.
POOL: They have an indoor pool and the outdoor pool. The indoor pool was nice and our 9 year old loved it. The outdoor pool offers a nice walk-in pool with a lazy river and waterfall. Plenty of inner tubes and water was great. There are plenty of chairs and umbrellas for everyone. You can even order food and drinks and the staff will bring everything to you.
BREAKFAST/EATING: The Holiday Inn does not serve a continental breakfast but they do have a full service restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The prices are about what you would expect from any of the area restaurants and the food is plentiful. Children under 12 eat free with an adult meal. For breakfast you can get the buffet or off the menu. All of the food we had tasted great. The only issue we had was waiting on omelets one morning. The cooks prepare food for the buffet, room service and short order. Other than that everything was fine.
STAFF: Staff was GREAT! Everyone was friendly and helpful. They always greeted us when we walked by. That is something we really look for when we stay somewhere.
OTHER ACTIVITIES: They publish a schedule for the next day’s kid’s activities. They have mermaids, face painting, games, and Dive In Movies. We enjoyed sitting out around the pool watching The Croods.
Special shout out to Stephen in Maintenance. We were in the indoor pool with a couple other people and a couple of boys were diving and trying to make big splashes. They were doing it deliberately and Stephen politely and tactfully asked them to stop. The boys muttered a couple of comments and left. He showed a lot of professionalism. Thank you.
Overall we enjoyed our stay there. It was one of the most relaxing beach vacations we have had in a while. I will definitely plan on staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Top floor at the end was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
627 reviews 627 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
250 helpful votes 250 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Locals told me this was the Ft Lauderdale of the North. This was "Miracle Strip",my miracle was to cover 15 customers, 300 miles from Pensacola to Tallahassee, and points between; in two nights and three days..Hotel has 152 rooms, if you get their after Sunday, you might get a Gulf view room. Efficient staff has breakfast early, because they also have business clients. But if you don't have to go to work, they have pool. It's called 'Lazy River Pool", not by the business people w/coffee rushing out the door; I assure you. They also have indoor pool, great for February when you think your in Alabama.The gym is up to date. The restaurant is very good. The rip tide grill needs new name. The Hot tub, is perfectly placed away from the bar.My room is comfortable with two double beds, you can get a king. I enjoy the facilities, I like near by Gulf Stream Aquarium. Sometimes, I go to Red Lobster, on the water, but not taking advantage of the wide water expanse view.Holiday Inn Cost $$

Room Tip: Gulf of Mexico View and kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlyland, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

First - a great location right on the beach, with exceptionally nice pool. So new the location didn't show up on GPS, so clue to find it is look for the large 'beach ball' on the roof. Food was very good, and reasonably priced in lobby restaurant. But...it was only recently opened and the staff was not ready for guest occupancy (IMHO). They get points for trying, but front desk was not helpful, when I complained the full-length mirror in my room was laying on the floor, they took it out instead of re-hanging it. Garbage cans in my room were not emptied on 2 of the 4 nights I stayed. If you are traveling for business the closets are minuscule (even for a guy). Commotion was about average for a beach hotel / family destination. Very convenient to the Emerald Coast Convention Center, literally walking distance if you can get across the highway.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 219-223, which look at the back of the front portico (not even a parking lot view!) Eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed every minute we spent here both inside and out. We had breakfast and lunch at the hotel with no complaints on the food or the service. The pool is amazing ad most of our time was spent poolside with only a brief walk on the beach. We were thrilled with the staff and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The restaurant manager did what he could to accommodate for lack of service in the restaurant. We ate 3 meals there each day (still paid for some of them). They were under staffed and not trained well at the time.The manager seems to have the skills and took our advise. The house keeping was not timely or routined (3 days we had to leave the room on purpose so they would come back and clean---late in the afternoon). (lack of consistency). Was not given a heads up on the website about the dead fish on the beach each day and the algae on the beach. Front desk also has lack of staffing/training----the employees seem to have a
lack of awareness of what the customers need---timeliness (offer
suggestions) bring out creamer/sweetner when coffee is ordered, lack of towels in the pool/beach area) Lack of appreciation for having us as guests. The roll-away bed for the fifth person was not accommodating since there was no room for the bed. There was an extra fee for the extra person.The wifi was also really slow. We spent well over $3000 dollars and drove 13 hours and was not satisfied with doing so.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Anna C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the restaurant experience and customer service provided by our staff which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach

Address: 1299 Miracle Strip Parkway, SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever you want out of your vacation, it’s right here. We’re at your service – helping you have fun and create memories. Our hotel is perfect not just for family vacations, but for romantic getaways, meetings and events, and business travel. We have the best pool in the area with a lazy river, waterfall, and hot tub as well as an an indoor pool, American Grill, pool bar, family suites, supervised children's activities, 'Dive-Inn' movies, interactive pirate and mermaid shows, private beachfront balconies, 24 hour fitness center, 24 hour business center, free WiFi, and free parking. We’re waiting for you here in Fort Walton Beach … what are you waiting for? Reserve your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.