We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach
Save Saved
You added The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A restful and beautiful condo resort with an excellent staff. Grounds are kept very well as far as landscaping. This part of the beach is not as jam packed as others. Evenings are quiet and everyone has been most respectful of rules and quiet times. The only reason I did not give the full five stars is the condo I was assigned when I arrived. I was unable to select condo of choice ahead of time. I can only guess that is so management can divide rental income between the nice clean condos and the one I had. Don't get me wrong, the condo was very nice and well decorated but the floors needed a good steam cleaning. So thumbs up on The Breakers! :)

Room Tip: Request third floor or higher for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
36
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette Tn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just recently stayed 5 nights at The Breakers in Fort Walton Beach the first week in october and stayed in unit C-310. and we were thrilled. We have been blessed to be able to travel a lot but have never stayed in a condo and we were at first skeptical until we saw The Breakers and this room which was totally beautiful.
The furnishings are first class and we slept with our patio doors open at night to hear the waves. It is right on the beach and the view is awesome . Close proximity to fort walton restaurants and Destin restaurants are a hop skip and a jump away. 5 stars from us. Staff is friendly and helpful
Love this place
Sharon and Steve coley
Tennessee

Room Tip: Unit c-310
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in 604W, a 1 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath condo. It had everything we needed for our stay & was very clean. We loved it & hope to return next year. The only issue (& it was a minor one) for us was that the 1/2 bath was so tiny it was almost unusable. The beach chair guy was really nice & worked really hard to put up the umbrellas & chairs for the guests each morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

4 day vacation end of Sept. Wife and I stayed in 405W. Perfect view of beach - 200 yard walk to Breakers chairs and umbrella (all free). One room keen- well decorated with all the kitchen amenities needed - toaster -coffee maker - stove - refrig - dishes -all you need. Grills outside (propane and charcoal) Flat panel TVs in large living area and bedroom. Only few miles from Destin - Eglin-Niceville. Exceptionally clean - quite (off season) - area well manicured.
Perfect place for a restful vacation (Note - keep your room key hand for access to pool and beach walkways)

Room Tip: Rooms level 3-6 have best views of beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been going to the Breakers for years and have always enjoyed it. We just keep going back! The staff is so friendly and helpful and the updates they have made over the past few years are so nice. I do have to say that all units ARE NOT the same! For our visit in August, we stayed unit Unit C406 and it was beautiful! I has been recently remodeled and the unit and furnishings are top notch. I know exactly where my family is staying for our next beach trip! :)

Room Tip: Unit C406 seems to have been recently remodeled and was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

First, the good. The staff we encountered were all fantastic.
Now, the not so good. Other than service, this place was an awful experience for us. We have stayed at other condos on Okaloosa Island before and never encountered such a run down unit. To say it's outdated is putting it mildly and cleanliness was definitely lacking. If cigarette smoke doesn't bother you, you will be fine here. It is not a non-smoking property (we certainly learned from this experience!). Our unit was supposedly non-smoking but it certainly didn't smell that way. Service was again, wonderful, and did bring us a room freshener spray instantly that we could use (although it smelled awful as well - ha!). We had no idea how many smokers there would be everywhere all the time - at the pool and at every turn on the beach. We had to move beach chair locations to stay upwind of the smoking and have never encountered anything like that before on any visit.

Room Tip: Room generally seemed quiet. Avoid room #605 in the west building as it hasn't been updated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay late August at The Breakers was fantastic. I suppose we just got lucky with our condo because they are all individually owned, you could get one that is not so nice I think. But our one bedroom condo with full kitchen was perfect. Everything neutral colors so that we fit right in and weren't distracted by decor. Balcony was amazing. Fourth floor, slightly away from the pools are definitely the way to go. The kitchen had absolutely every pan, untensil, and appliance we could need, plus was already stocked with the basics like paper towels, dish soap, dishwasher soap, towels, and plenty of T.P. and towels in the bathrooms. A nice surprise b/c I didn't know if we'd have to buy all that or not. Couch bed was not great of course but for our three year old it worked perfectly. Balcony also felt safe to have her out on. Gorgeous views, and yes we actually DID see Dolphins like so many people claimed! So exciting! The water seemed to change often, some days murkier than others and wilder or calmer depending on what time of day. But mostly, beautiful, blue-ish green, with long sand banks to walk out on, and still warm this time of year. We DID see a shark a swimmable distance out on one occasion, and a baby shark swam in calf-high water along the coast too one day. Other than that, mostly crabs to look out for, but you can see the dark spots through the clear water, and pieces of jellyfish. Disappointed we didn't get to do a turtle nest walk or see any hatching while we were there but there was a nest site right near our condo marked off.
I did get freaked out by the elevators at some points, thinking we were going to get stuck, and some smelled fresh of oil like they had just been worked on. But we had no issues thankfully.

Room Tip: Like others mentioned, ask to have a room third floor or higher if possible and away from the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

Address: 381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Breakers Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.