We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Condo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach
Save Saved
You added The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful Condo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have been going to the Breakers for years and have always enjoyed it. We just keep going back! The staff is so friendly and helpful and the updates they have made over the past few years are so nice. I do have to say that all units ARE NOT the same! For our visit in August, we stayed unit Unit C406 and it was beautiful! I has been recently remodeled and the unit and furnishings are top notch. I know exactly where my family is staying for our next beach trip! :)

Room Tip: Unit C406 seems to have been recently remodeled and was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
36
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

First, the good. The staff we encountered were all fantastic.
Now, the not so good. Other than service, this place was an awful experience for us. We have stayed at other condos on Okaloosa Island before and never encountered such a run down unit. To say it's outdated is putting it mildly and cleanliness was definitely lacking. If cigarette smoke doesn't bother you, you will be fine here. It is not a non-smoking property (we certainly learned from this experience!). Our unit was supposedly non-smoking but it certainly didn't smell that way. Service was again, wonderful, and did bring us a room freshener spray instantly that we could use (although it smelled awful as well - ha!). We had no idea how many smokers there would be everywhere all the time - at the pool and at every turn on the beach. We had to move beach chair locations to stay upwind of the smoking and have never encountered anything like that before on any visit.

Room Tip: Room generally seemed quiet. Avoid room #605 in the west building as it hasn't been updated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay late August at The Breakers was fantastic. I suppose we just got lucky with our condo because they are all individually owned, you could get one that is not so nice I think. But our one bedroom condo with full kitchen was perfect. Everything neutral colors so that we fit right in and weren't distracted by decor. Balcony was amazing. Fourth floor, slightly away from the pools are definitely the way to go. The kitchen had absolutely every pan, untensil, and appliance we could need, plus was already stocked with the basics like paper towels, dish soap, dishwasher soap, towels, and plenty of T.P. and towels in the bathrooms. A nice surprise b/c I didn't know if we'd have to buy all that or not. Couch bed was not great of course but for our three year old it worked perfectly. Balcony also felt safe to have her out on. Gorgeous views, and yes we actually DID see Dolphins like so many people claimed! So exciting! The water seemed to change often, some days murkier than others and wilder or calmer depending on what time of day. But mostly, beautiful, blue-ish green, with long sand banks to walk out on, and still warm this time of year. We DID see a shark a swimmable distance out on one occasion, and a baby shark swam in calf-high water along the coast too one day. Other than that, mostly crabs to look out for, but you can see the dark spots through the clear water, and pieces of jellyfish. Disappointed we didn't get to do a turtle nest walk or see any hatching while we were there but there was a nest site right near our condo marked off.
I did get freaked out by the elevators at some points, thinking we were going to get stuck, and some smelled fresh of oil like they had just been worked on. But we had no issues thankfully.

Room Tip: Like others mentioned, ask to have a room third floor or higher if possible and away from the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for a little more than a week while attending dance nationals at the convention center. This location was perfect for same. The facility was nice. We ate in our room most of the time but our friends indicating dining was great ... except alot of the best dining was across the bridge which took some time in peak hours. We had a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I picked The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach as our vacation getaway to the FL gulf coast from reviews in Tripadvisor. Our stay was absolutely Fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our 1 bedroom condo was superb (nicely decorated, well equipped and very clean) and was on the 6th floor and close to the elevator, as I requested. The young lady taking my reservation also advised that by staying 6 nights the 7th night was free. Also because we were paying rack rate we received 2 reserved beach chairs and umbrella each day on the beach, 1 free round of golf, 1 free 3 hour snorkeling session and 1 free speed boat ride to see dolphins each day of our stay. I snorkeled once and it was a lot of fun. The dolphin tour was also fun as it went out in the evening, (we paid for 1 person so my wife and I could go together - price was reasonable). It rained almost every day (8/17 thru 8/24) but the sun also came out every day and because the accommodations were so great and there was so much to do we had a fabulous time. The Breakers is one of the best places on the beach we have ever stayed at. I highly recommend it for a couple or a family. We toured the 2 and 3 bedroom condos and they are also very nice and roomy. A nice feature of the 1 bedroom condo is that it has a bath and a 1/2. Go there - you'll like it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor or higher (building is 7 stories) give a better view of the beach and gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family of 3 adults and one 10 year old stayed from August 9 through August 13, 2013. We enjoyed everything about this condo except for the one crazy whacked out elevator and the shower head. More on the scary elevator later. Now back to the condo. Check in was a breeze, The condo was clean, roomy, very nice views of the gulf and overall we had a great stay at The Breakers. We stayed in W605 which was a one bedroom, 1.5 bath with a fold out sofa bed. Our kiddos slept on the pull out and they both said it was comfortable. Kitchen was nice and clean. Loved having the washer and dryer!! I know most people do not want to do laundry on vacation but it sure does beat washing loads and loads of laundry when you arrive back home!! Okay now to our cons...The elevator to the right as you walked into the West building was on the fritz!! I am talking the next night someone was stuck in there because we pull up and the fire trucks are pulling in behind us!! Just glad it wasn't me:) We mainly used the pool and service elevator. Needless to say the tower of terror was closed the remaining of our stay!! My only other complaint would be the shower head that needs to be updated. To quote my husband..."I can get a better shower at a campground." So to conclude...We will definitely stay at The Breakers the next time we return which hopefully be very soon!! And props to Craig (a.k.a the chair guy) he does a wonderful job and is very friendly!!

Room Tip: Our unit was W605 and it was nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! No issues whatsoever. Room was huge and has everything you need. I had a balance due of around $600 but when i was checking in they said I owed $392 because they gave me a night free!!!! I wanted to hug the lady!! What a nice surprise!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

Address: 381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Breakers Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.