We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beachfront location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach
Save Saved
You added The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great beachfront location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just stayed 3 nights at The Breakers and loved it! It was going into Memorial Day weekend and the beach wasn't too crowded. The condo #C214 was very nice and clean and nicely decorated. 1 1/2 baths made it nice. Updated kitchen with a washer and dryer made it feel like home. Loved having breakfast on the balcony each morning and taking in the view!! Free DVD rentals included and came in handy once the sun went down. Just a couple of disappointments that we we had, but they didn't really detract from the great time we had. First, they don't provide you beach towels. Wish I had known this going in. Second, they provide you with laundry, dish and hand soap, but they don't have shampoo and conditioner which we thought was odd. And no box of Kleenex in the room.
We enjoyed the beach set up of 2 chairs and umbrella on the beach each day, but you need to get out early to get a good spot. The June grass wasn't too bad at this time. The water temp was very nice...cool but not cold. In the mornings the gulf was very flat but picked up some by the afternoon.
We really loved the Breakers and will return again. This was our first trip to the Destin/FWB area and really enjoyed it. The water and white sand is just amazing!!

Room Tip: They have quiet time from 10 PM to 5 AM which was good. They don't seem to tolerate loud or wild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    34
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
32
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed in condo # w612 on 5 day vacation. Beautifully clean condo, very quiet. large king size bed & very comfortable sleeper sofa. Very nice clean kitchen, washer, dryer, dishwasher in unit. Nice amenities, pools very clean, free movie rental. Front desk staff, very helpful and nice to deal with. Great value. Beautiful oeanfront balcony. Nice beach service- unit included free umbrella and 2 beach chairs set up for us each day of our stay. We would recommend to our friends, and we will stay here again.

Room Tip: All units have beautiful balconies, but ask for a high floor, for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Breakers. The rooms we had were spacious and very reasonably priced. We had a gulf front room with a balcony which was real nice to sit and hear the waves. The tennis court out front was fun to use and by staying there we got a free movie from a machine near the front desk that had a lot to choose from. The only improvement I think they could make is better lighting in the parking lot. There were lights, just not enough I think. One drawback to the area is we had to go a little ways to get to restaurants we like. I would recommend this motel and if I was in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The unit was nice, and the view was beautiful. However, this was the most convoluted place I have ever stayed. For such a large facility, having only one access to the beach was very inconvenient. There was one person in our party with a disability, and not having a ramp to the beach was difficult. In order to access the beach we also had to walk through the parking lot every time we came to or from the beach. There was no way we could take the elevator close to the beach because only a few floors had walkways with access to all the rooms.

When we arrived we were given a room. After a few hours we realized the AC was not working. We were given a new unit, but no help in moving. Also, they could only release one set of key cards to us. We were told we would have to prop open one door while moving and hope for the best. The woman/young girl at the front desk was also rude and exasperated with us. We will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had such a nice stay at this place! It had everything you would need at home.Nice decor and very comfortable bed. We stayed in 209 and while we did have a great view of the beach, I would suggest staying at least on the 3rd floor to really get the best views! The beach here is so beautiful and much more secluded than any other I've stayed at. It still looks natural and pristine with beautiful sea oats and sand dunes. Great value! Also, be sure to ask about any specials/deals they have running. We got our 4th night free after checking their website and finding a cinco de mayo deal.

Room Tip: Stay on at least the 3rd level to get the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed in the west bldg in 401. Had a reservation for a 2 bedroom unit, was surprised with a 3/3 unit. Beautiful unit with tile thru out. Granite counters in kitchen and everything you could need. The view is fantastic with sugar sand beach. I'm from SW FL and had know idea the beaches in the pan handle were so pretty. No shells, but the sand is fantastic!!!! Can't wait to visit again........Will definitely stay here......

Room Tip: book above the 3rd floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here two nights in unit C-309 at the Breakers. We did not have a reservation and walked in about 9am and spoke with the ladies at the front desk. They were pleasant and professional and let us look at two different units. We liked the first unit as well and then checked on the second one and said this is it. All tile throughout the unit. The bedrooms had carpet. The master shower was huge with two shower heads and the second bathroom was in the hallway. The unit was clean and had an excellent view of the Gulf. With our stay we had two complimentary chairs and umbrella with the reservation which were just great for relaxation! The Kitchen had all accessories you might need and had a full fridge. There is a big dining room and the unit itself had a fantastic layout. I would highly recommend this unit for a family of four, although you can hit the pull out sleeper for 6 if need be. Would stay here again if I am in the area. The pools are heated as well and they have a free DVD rental box for the stay duration as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

Address: 381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Breakers Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.