We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy With Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach
381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Happy With Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here in the middle of September 2011. Our family - a total of 9 people - stayed in one of the three bedroom condos. It's very spacious, there was plenty of room for all of us. My husband has stayed in many condos in different parts of Florida and he said this was the nicest he's ever stayed at. It was also less expensive than any he's stayed at. We had no complaints with our condo. It was so great to have a full kitchen and washer and dryer. It's very conveniently located, with lots of restaurants just a few minutes away. The balcony is so nice. I'm guessing the time of year we went had something to do with it, but we were amazed at how quiet the hotel and beach was. Maybe not for everyone, but great for us.

The beach is gorgeous, prettiest and softest sand I've ever seen - the only thing is there were tons of jellyfish! We were told that that's a pretty regular thing there. We stayed mostly out of the water because of the amount of jellyfish, but when the waves really started rolling there seemed to be fewer of them so we did finally get in without incident.

A few suggestions: if you want beach pictures, google gwynemark photography. They took pics in Destin and we absolutely LOVED them, Gwyne is wonderful to work with and was excellent with my toddler. He's super shy around strangers, will not get his picture taken in a studio and had a cold - you'd never know it from the pictures. I'm usually very frugal but it was worth every penny. We ate at Fish Lipz on our last night and I DO NOT recommend it. We had a horrible experience. Coach N Four - the restaurant itself nothing special and but the food was good. Fudpuckers - average touristy place, they encourage graffiti which is kind of cute, but there are markings on literally every surface of the restaurant which left me with the feeling that I needed to take a shower.

All in all we loved our trip, even though we only stayed for a long weekend it will be a trip we'll never forget!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    32
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
28
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed at the Breakers for 3 nights. Weather was OK in the low 70's and high 60's. Hotel was a little older and could use updating. The real issue we had was with the AC in our room. We called the front desk to complain and was told the owners of this room had locked the AC so it would not go below 72 degrees. This is OK during the day but at night with all the humidity it was hot in the rooms. This unit is a 3 bed 3 bath unit. Everyone complanined about the heat or lack of AC. The desk said there was nothing they could do about it since it was the owner of the unit that locked the system out. . So I would advise not to stay in unit 601W unless you like to sleep without any covers and still be hot. We also saw another unit 316W that had no AC issues and was much nicer unit. Would never stay here again. Would prefer to go to Destin or San Destin.

Room Tip: 316 W was a nice room. 601W has AC issues and needs updating.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INDIANA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Breakers multiple times over the years. Even had our wedding down on the beach there. Hands down the prettiest white sand I've seen anywhere in the US or Carribean. The rooms are always nice and clean. They all face the ocean and the view is awesome. The grounds and pool area are well maintained. Kids and I love the tennis courts.

The area is more laid back then Destin which is right down the road. The biggest complaint I have, and why I gave only four stars, is that years ago they took out the hottub. It can get cold up in the panhandle during winter and we like to travel down between Christmas and New Years. They do heat the pool somewhat, but it's still chilly, and the kids love jumping in and out of a hottub to break the chill. Other that that, the place is perfect. Only about a 10 hr drive from Indiana. We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illlinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent four days here around Thanksgiving. It was our first time to the area. The condo was perfect. Great view!!!!! Our one-bedroom condo was very nice, nice furnishings, clean and perfect size. The breakers staff was helpful and efficient. We paid off-season prices so it was great and had great weather. We'd definitely go back. Great places around there.... Helen Back Cafe/Bar, Howl at Moon for some fun in Fort Walton. Tightlines and AJ's in Destin Harbour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Perfect location to hit the pool and the beach. Quieter than Destin. The property is well kept and has all of the conviences of home. Do recommend a car, as there is not much to do in walking distance. About a mile / mile and a half from all grocery, gas, restaurants. Beach is beautiful! Would recommend and would visit again! Take advantage of the free golf, Dolphin boat, little nemo boat (geared for kids fishing) and chairs and umbrella on the beach. You get one free pass per paid person, per paid night. Make reservations in advance, as things book quickly. They off up to 3 free round trip people (per paid person) to and from the airport, but I found they ended up being more expensive( aprox $50) than just grabbing a taxi (approximately $38).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

This will be my only destination when returning to Ft Walton Beach. Staff was great, rooms comfortable with plenty of amenities. We had the October rates which fit perfectly. I woudn't pay summer rates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Had a 3 bedroom 2 bath overlooking the beach. The view from the balcony and the master bedroom was unbelievable! What a way to wake up in the morning. The master bedroom was huge too! The condo was decorated very nicely and the kitchen was nice and had everything you could need including a washer and dryer. There was even free wireless in the room. They had a small snack shop by the pool and a fitness center. We will definitely go back.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

Address: 381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Breakers Fort Walton Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list