We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Air Force Armament Museum

Air Force Armament Museum
100 Museum Dr, Eglin Air Force Base, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32542
850-651-1808
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The focus is on Air Force armament through a variety of historical displays, from a B-17 World War II bomber to an F-4 Phantom II jet.
Harker Heights, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great and informative visit with my husband and our 14 y/o son. The building was locked due to the furlough but other than needing the restroom, I don't know what we could have missed. The amazing planes and bombs and other equipment of massive size were all outside. The placards present along with mine and my husband's knowledge provided all of us, especially our son with a wealth of knowledge. Made a great "home" school lesson, or field trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    126
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband found this looking thru one of the entertainment things to do book in Destin so we decided to go. I thought it was worth the drive from Destin. It was free of charge and was very interesting. This is a self guided tour and was awesome that you get to be so close to all the planes. I was blown away at how fast some of those things fly. WOW. This was a great thing to do and like I said before you can't beat the price. It's free.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My kids loved this place. It is smaller than some other Air Force museums we have been to but still a great tribute to the men and women in the Armed Forces. Probably 30-40 or so planes on display inside and out. Nice gift shop and friendly staff. Thankful to all who serve.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Viewing the WWII and current Air Force planes was awesome and breathtaking - The majority of the planes are outside the building and are very impressive. There are a few planes inside where you can see inside the cockpit. There is a 1/2 hour film on the history of Eglin AF base. There are many displays of the armaments used from WWII til today. It is a self guided tour and you go at your leisure. It is a worthwhile stop if you are in the Ft Walton Beach area. It is very educational and makes you feel proud to be an American.






Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcaldwell
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lots of History in and out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a great break from the beach adventure. Great collection and interesting display to keep a 9 year old's attention. Outside visitors can see just how large these planes are. A must!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Force Armament Museum also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Air Force Armament Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Force Armament Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.