We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free, wholesome, entertainment for the kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air Force Armament Museum

Air Force Armament Museum
100 Museum Dr, Eglin Air Force Base, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32542
850-651-1808
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Military Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The focus is on Air Force armament through a variety of historical displays, from a B-17 World War II bomber to an F-4 Phantom II jet.
Buford, Georgia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Free, wholesome, entertainment for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been here twice now in 4 years. My boys love it and were just as amazed as the first time we went. The planes are so cool and the interactive exhibits inside were a big hit. Go here if you need a break from all the sunshine!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    73
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hot weather and hot planes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

FREE! Except the sequester has it closed on Mondays starting very soon (July?) A great time for us and our two young boys (8 & 6). They liked seeing the planes, mostly for the guns and the top speed on the info plaque. From an SR-71 and an F-16 to a T-33 and a B-17, plus a Huey and an A-10, this place had them all! And each plane had a descriptive plaque telling you when the type was originally manufactured and when it was last used. Need some thing free, and a break from the beach? THIS IS IT.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Learning Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was another free attraction outside Destin that is worth the drive! We came with another family an brought a picnic lunch that we had near some bombs! The museum is very well done with a lot of great collection of model airplanes and old weapons. Great learning experience for teens and tweens.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So worth the visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Great place to visit. Docents were very knowledgeable. Free admission made me happy!!! We were able to spend a few hours there, and could have spent more time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“USAF Armament Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Number one: It's Free. Number two: It is right next to the resort towns of Ft Walton and Destin. Skip a rainy day on the beach and check out the museum. They have many awesome aircraft on static display outside. Inside the building are displays you may not expect find like antique weapons. This is not the Smithsonian, but it is perfect for 2, 3, or 4 hours of browsing USAF history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Force Armament Museum also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Air Force Armament Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Force Armament Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Air Force Armament Museum to your Saves list