We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Staff's Restaurant - CLOSED

Staff's Restaurant
24 Miracle Strip Pkwy, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
850 243 3482
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The best fish sandwich. Very friendly and reasonable prices. Will go back next year when passing thru.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    12
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

During visit to Staff's 3/8/13 we began with a starter of chilies which was not tasty. Our shrimp was a bit over cooked, the corn tasted like over cooked frozen food, the fried grouper had a hard crust for a batter and the fish was not good. Nothing on our plates tasted as if any seasoning was used in the prep process. The whole wheat loaf of bread was rather bland but the house salad dressings were good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Classic Seafood House, a Fort Walton Beach Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For 100 years, Staff's Restaurant has been a presence on Miracle Strip Parkway (AKA US Highway 98) in the heart of Fort Walton Beach. Generations of the same family have been at the helm here literally forever. This is the kind of classic Florida seafood house that is getting harder and harder to find. Other old contemporaries, such as Destin's Blue Room, Jewel Melvin's Seafood, The Wharf, and the like are long gone. I was born and grew up in the area and have many fond memories of restaurants like this.

Last week I visited Staff's for the first time in many years and found it virtually unchanged. Much of the growth of the Emerald Coast has bypassed Fort Walton Beach.

All your classic seafood dishes are here: I chose the gargantuan seafood platter. At around $28 it isn't cheap but it was impossible to finish. Although Staff's employs the annoying practice of charging for sides such as fries (alacarte), the entrees come with a nice salad, a tiny scoop of German potato salad, and corn and new potatoes. The seafood platter had 3 very large butterflied shrimp, several fried oysters, and a couple of what might or might not have been real scallops. Beneath this all was a nicely-sized fish fillet. Oh, I almost forgot the crab 'ball' which was bursting with real crab. While the quality of the seafood was top-notch, I thought the breading was downright bland; it fell off of almost every piece of seafood on the platter, which was disappointing.

This is a quiet, low-key place to eat. You won't wait for a table like you might at some restaurant in Destin, and that's the way locals like it. Don't expect a water view: the only view at Staff's is that of busy Highway 98, although they are almost on the Sound, aka the Intracoastal Waterway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice family owned restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great prices and a lot of family and local history. The food was very good. The property is a little dated but it has ambience. Service was exceptional, very attentive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and quiet, fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Spent the night in Ft. Walton Beach, and wanted some fresh cooked food.
Staff's was right on 98, and we stepped inside.
We were greeted with kindness by the bartender, and directed to the restaurant area.
The place is filled with memorabilia, and you are given a news flyer explaining the history of the owners. They will be celebrating their 100th anniversary next year. It is family owned, the food comes out freshly made....although the new potatoes and corn could have been warmer....but, the fish, and gumbo, and steak pattie we ordered were hot and freshly made.
Very nice place, reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staff's Restaurant also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staff's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.