We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe' Italia One89

Caffe' Italia One89
189 Brooks St SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
(850) 664-0035
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Simple, fresh food served with elegant style in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We present an extensive menu of antipasto, salads, homemade pasta dishes, pizzas, fine meats and fresh seafood, all under the leadership of Chef Jason Kennedy. We also have a popular beach bar open all day from 12:00 PM on Sundays (weather permitting) and live entertainment Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from 7:00 PM to 10:00 PM.
US
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Our experience here last night was wonderful and we will definitely be back soon! The food was excellent. I had the penne vodka and added grilled chicken and it was delicious (I will go back here just to eat this dish again). My fiancé had the lobster ravioli, which was also quite tasty. Both pasta dishes come with a garlic bread stick so you can't go wrong. We also ordered a 1/2 carafe of wine to share, which was plenty for us for dinner. They had a special dessert (only offered on Friday and Saturday nights) of bananas foster that we also tried and that was very good, but what made it even better was the experience...the chef came out and cooked the bananas foster right at our table. We sat on the outside deck with waterfront views.

We ate at this restaurant a couple times under the previous owners and always enjoyed the food and experience, but I have to say, the new owners have really stepped it up a notch! The restaurant has both a laid back and upscale atmosphere (casual fine dining) that we really enjoyed. The new owners have done some remodeling and upgraded the tables and chairs, etc. and the place looks great. I can't wait to come back once the wine bar is open, which they are currently in the process of building. The service was a bit on the slower side, but that didn't really bother us because we were simply enjoying the relaxed atmosphere and didn't feel rushed. Overall, a wonderful experience and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area...this place is a hidden gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Caffe' Italia One89, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and we're glad you feel that we've maintained the previous owner's tradition of good food and stepped up the décor and atmosphere. Hopefully you've come back since November because the wine bar is now open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    5
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful upgrade for Fort Walton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Our experience was extremely enjoyable. Nicely redecorated with style and atmosphere. Menu has lots of choices and all four of us were very pleased with our choices. The fresh grouper in parchment paper was done perfectly, and the special chicken with wild mushroom ragout was to die for! One of our new favorite places to dine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Caffe' Italia One89, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Sorry it's taken so long to respond to your review and we're very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hopefully you've been back to see us many times since last October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my birthday dinner at lunch time. It was a great experience. The restaurant was not busy when we arrived and they seated at the best table in the restaurant. We could see out on the bay, which was beautiful. We had the calamari which was prepared perfectly. I had spaghetti Ragu with meat balls and my wife had Lasagna. Both dishes were very tasty and prepared perfectly. The meat sauce was some of the best I have ever tasted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Caffe' Italia One89, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope you come back and visit us many times in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Family-friendly Italian with a good atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a little hard to find, but worth it.

We--3 adults and 4 children, 8 to 13 years old--had a very good dinner at One89 last evening. We ordered 3 pizzas, chicken fingers, fries, lasagne, and a scallops appetizer and salad. All were generous servings (4 scallops as appetizer). Service was a little slow, but very friendly and helpful, especially considering kids' special orders.
The "signature lasagna" was very good, with more meat and sauce and less dough than normal, $16
12 inch cheese pizza, $12
16 inch Hawaiian pizza, $16
Bottle of Pinot Grigio, Della Venezia Zenato, $23
Tiramisu, $9

All in all, a good evening.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Caffe' Italia One89, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and we're so glad the children had a good time! Hope to see you many more times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New menu, new owner, new feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Its easy to write a review on this restaurant- It is being upgraded everyday and the new menu is amazing! And the new management/owners have done very well making this "hidden" spot worth finding. I hope you are able to find this gem, many people drive past Caffe Italia because they go over the bridge to Okaloosa island.
I read on here someone had a terrible experience and I am very shocked. The new staff have been very courteous and quick plus the food is getting better everyday. I've given my patronage here over four times in 3 months.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Caffe' Italia One89, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your support and your great review! Hope we see you many more times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe' Italia One89 also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Caffe' Italia One89? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe' Italia One89, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.