We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   522 Mary Esther Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel was nice and clean. It was not right on the beach, but very close by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. The beds were OK. It had a tiny swimming pool. All in all it is a good hotel to stop and stay at for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is very helpful in making our hotel the best it can be. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to the beach. I am also glad that our staff provided great customer service. I do apologize that the beds didn't meet your expectations though. I hope we get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
5
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, NM
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfast. One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. Great value. I stayed here for three weeks and couldn't be happier with this hotel. Great location near the mall and several restaurants and not too far from the beach either. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review. Our staff works hard to try and make every guest's stay as comfortable and welcoming as yours was and it is a pleasure to know that we succeeded for you. We look forward to you coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This Hotel was perfect for what we wanted to do... It's literally 5 minutes to Fort Walton beach.. Approx 15 minutes drive east to Destin beach .. And approx 15 mins west to Pensacola beach/Navarre..
So we enjoyed the different beaches during our stay... This Hotel seems new to me.. Super clean.. Good breakfast.. And affordable ... Would prefer to be right on the beach.. But who can afford that.. Lol

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comment. We are in fact new! We just opened in January of this year. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and happy that you took advantage of all the sights and activities that our location offers. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed one night with reward points. Smooth check in after a long drive. The lady at check in provided good information about the area attractions The hotel is very clean. The walls do seem thin inside the rooms. Complimentary breakfast is okay to start the day. There are a couple restaurants within walking distance. This hotel stay was for one night stay before moving on to a hotel at the beach. I would stay again. With the type of hotel category this is in, I start at a 3 and go from there. I would give the hotel a 4.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We appreciate your review. We understand that a long day of travel can be rigorous, so we try to make the check-in process as efficient and effective as possible. I am glad that our team member achieved that goal with you and that she was able to provide helpful information about the surrounding area. We will strive to continue these practices and hopefully we can get all 5 stars on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

It's nothing lavish, but it is a very nice and clean hotel. We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed it very much. The staff was super friendly and efficient. The hot breakfast was great, except for the fact that their pancake machine had broken the day before we got there (but the biscuits made up for it!) The room we stayed in was a typical 2 queen bedroom and easily accommodated 4 adults and all our luggage. The pool was smaller than expected but was hardly ever crowded during the time we were there so we were able to enjoy it the few times we went for a swim. The location of the hotel is awesome because it's on a strip with lots of restaurants (fast food and sit-down), a mall, everyday-need stores (CVS, Walmart, etc.), and we were just a quick 10-15min ride to the attractions in Destin. We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We greatly appreciate your recommendation! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you get the chance to visit us again. We pride ourselves on customer service and strive for our staff to go the extra mile for all our guests. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced when our pancake machine was out of order for the day, but I am happy to report that it is running and once again putting out delicious pancakes. You'll definitely have to stay again and taste what you missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rooms are very small ! Workings at front desk time of our stay we're not fully trained. Was told one price and charged another . Drinks overcharged and not that great. Frozen margaritas horrible !!!! Paid 388 for a two queen room !!!! Was worth about $150 ! Never Again !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your comment. I apologize that your hotel stay did not meet expectations. I was a little confused about your critique though, as we do not serve drinks or frozen margaritas. Its possible you may have us confused with another property. Feel free to give us a call at 850-226-7108.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

First, let me say that if you just need a basic room in this specific location then the hotel is probably fine. However, for the price there are plenty in a better location.
My big disappointment with this property is that I travel frequently for business and this hotel falls way short.
Additionally, I checked in on Tuesday & seemed to have at least one issue most days and it took until Sunday for anyone in management at the hotel or IHG to call me back. Some nights there was no manager or general manager on duty.
Also, I was told that some of the issues were related to the holiday weekend which seems odd since they had no problem raising room rates then.
Non-Business CONS:
Workout room only has a treadmill, eliptical, & recumbant bike
Breakfast buffet is poor compared to other comparable hotel chains
Business Related CONS:
They seemed unwilling to provide maid service after about 11AM which could be problematic if you work day starts late.
May seem like a small issue but they tend to turn off your A/C to conserve energy and the rooms can become quite uncomfortalbe during the day.
The General Manager left me a note that she was only available during the day to talk.

Overall not a place (and potentially not a Chain) that is worth repeat business particularly compared to comparably priced hotels in the Hilton chain with better amenities

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay. It seems that you had a few aspects of our hotel that you were dissatisfied with, so let me try and address each.

~ We recognize that you were upset when you checked-in because your company had not sent in their credit card authorization form. While this can be frustrating, I would like to point out that we use 3rd party credit authorization forms as a courtesy to our guests and do so only to protect sensitive credit card information. Additionally, and most alarming, was how you chose to react to this short wait. Sir, we can never accept guests throwing pens at our team members.

~ The 2nd point you raise is that our general manager was unavailable. To that I would simply respond that she is generally on premises 7 days a week from 9am - 9pm. During those hours she is more than happy to assist with any guest needs. I will concede that when you called after 11pm on Saturday, July 4th, she was unavailable, however, as you are aware, she then attempted to contact you and when that was unsuccessful, she left you a note to set up an appointment at your convenience.

~ Our workout facility is somewhat limited, but does include a treadmill, elliptical, & recumbent bike.

~ We do offer a complimentary hot breakfast with all of our rooms. The breakfast includes: eggs, bacon, sausage, sausage gravy, biscuits, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, yogurt, cereal, hot cereal, fresh fruit, juice and coffee.

~ We keep housekeepers at the hotel from 9am until all rooms have been properly serviced (generally around 3pm). We are happy to accommodate any room cleaning needs during those hours. We do apologize that you left your "Do not disturb" sign up and missed housekeeping. It is our policy to respect our guests privacy and when they identify that they do not want to be disturbed, our housekeepers forgo those rooms. However, in your instance, upon notification, our General Manager did offer to personally provide those services to you herself.

~ It is our hotel policy to not touch the A/C unit in any of our occupied rooms. This means that we will not turn off the A/C in your room, but it also means, sir, that we will not turn it on for you on a hot day. We do apologize if you forgot to leave it on and your room was uncomfortable upon your return.

In conclusion, thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are definitely listening to your concerns and we will try to become an even better hotel from this conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
3.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Walton Beach -  Eglin AFB
TownePlace Suites Fort Walton Be...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest

Address: 522 Mary Esther Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Walton Beach Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.