We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not great, but it's not terrible either.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Coast Science Center

Emerald Coast Science Center
139 Brooks St, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
850 664 1261
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Emerald Coast Science Center is a hands-on museum for families located on the Fort Walton Beach Landing Park.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's not great, but it's not terrible either.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

For our family for three it cost us $15, so it's relatively inexpensive compared to a number of rainy day options.

The facility is out-of-date, but there are enough fun little contraptions to occupy the family for close to an hour or so.

The exhibits are old and mostly basic science, but if you take the time to read and explain these to your child it can be fun. Our daughter is just about seven and it was fun.

Yes it's not the most exciting place, but if you don't want to drop tons of $$ at an arcade, the movies, or bowling, you can survive part of a rainy day at this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not at all worth the money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A few of the exhibits didnt work. The place looked like it was thrown together hastily. It wasnt very inviting. One of the doors to the cages was open in the animal area. The door was to the toads cage and there was no lock. It scared me because the other cages had spiders and snakes. We barely stayed 30 minutes. I wont go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“we had fun- but it was also free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is okay and its cheap. However I would venture to say it may not even be worth the prices. We have a museum reciprocal membership that got us in for free. It is really outdated! But it was a nice way to spend a rainy hour. The park right outside is really nice and my two boys (6&4) really enjoyed that!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rainy day last resort alternative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We have 2 kids, 5 and 8. After 25 minutes they were ready to leave. Science museums are one of our most favorite things to do when we travel or close to home. All science museums are different as well as their offerings. This science center was extremely small, very limited and a bit boring. I would say great for younger kids. Best tip: bring a picnic lunch and after your visit to the museum there is a glorious park with shaded playground right next to the building. Park is on the Bay coastline so a nice crosswind was blowing. The park was the highlight of our visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A second review to discuss ASTC reciprocity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I've already written a review for the ECSC, but I wanted to add another focusing on a side-benefit to being an ECSC member. ECSC is a partner member of ASTC, the Association of Science and Technology Centers. Our family membership at ECSC ($55) gets free or discounted membership at ASTC-partner centers around the world. On a recent visit to Wisconsin, we visited three places where we got free admission via ASTC - The Building for Kids in Appleton (our cost would have been $29), the Paper Discovery Center in Appleton ($12), and Discovery World in Milwaukee ($59.80, but three of us actually visited Discovery World twice so the true savings was $102.65). So, we ended up saving over $100 via ASTC, all for a $55 ECSC membership!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Coast Science Center also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Emerald Coast Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerald Coast Science Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.