We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave it a second chance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mango's on the Bayou

Mango's on the Bayou
200 Eglin Parkway Northeast, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547
(850) 864-1127
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Shalimar, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gave it a second chance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Ok went back for a second chance.......still just ok. First we were not greeted when we sat down and there was only one other person at the bar. When our drink order was taken the young lady asked if wanted to order food..... Yes but we need a menu. The calamari was good as well as the crab cake appetizer ......then the cheese steak sub came out".........well the mushroom sub came out I had to search for the meat. When the bartender came over and asked if everything was ok ....um NO there isn't hardly any meat on this. His reply was we portion out the meat in ounces ......well somebody shorted that bag. Extra meat was put on the sandwich, but it was just ok.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, fair prices, substandard service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Mango's is a hopping place when a good band is playing, but that is when it seems the service begins to suffer. I am surprised that there has not been much (if any) improvement after this many ratings. Increasing the waitstaff on busy nights and coordinating better between servers may help. Hope this shortfall gets fixed soon or patrons will be driven away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good location by the water, the band was pretty good but their service slow. It might help if they beef up the wait staff just a little bit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waited for bartender to finish her meal before we got served or even recognize when we were the only patrons at the bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Came in sat at the bar watched the bartender eat for 5 minutes then when she approached us she seemed very unhappy she had customers. . Pretty much had 1 round and left. Never again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Service is so bad here I never want to return.The two visits I've had here have been horrible. The first time, my boyfriend and I sat at the bar for drinks and dinner on a Sunday afternoon/evening. The bartender acted as though we were a bother every time we had to ask for anything, be it another beer or some silverware. She did a pretty bad job of a fake smile. Tried this place with friends a second time more recently, party of 4, on a Wednesday for their all you can eat crab legs. If you're going to advertise all you can eat crab legs, at least give adequate service. No one at our table received one refill of our drinks (2 waters, 2 teas) throughout the entire meal, despite being nearly empty upon arrival of the food. Not to mention the server took away our friend's plate that still had food on it by saying "I'll just get this out your way." It still had his sides on it that he planned on eating, thus not only wasting those on the plate, but causing him to ask for more. Good job Mango's, you've just increased your food caused by your horrible work practices that you have taught to your employees. In case you go here for the AYCE crab legs, be warned that after the first refill, the server is going to vanish and you must be persistent on getting any additional crab legs. As a server myself I left a minimal 20%, but this could have been doubled had we been given good service (on both visits). Would not recommend this place to anyone. Stay away. For seafood I would recommend Stewby's or Rick's Crab Trap over this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango's on the Bayou also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Mango's on the Bayou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango's on the Bayou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.